Bear Claw Events "turnover rate" Reviews | Glassdoor

Bear Claw Events Employee Reviews about "turnover rate"

Updated Sep 26, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
62%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Bear Claw Events President Matt Lassiter (no image)
Matt Lassiter
48 Ratings
Pros
  • "The information I have received from Bear Claw will be applied throughout my life and on my next journey(in 9 reviews)

  • "The fast paced training took some getting used to, but once I really dove in all my hard work paid off(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Entry level, you will work between 40-50 hours per week between the stores and office, making just above minimum wage(in 7 reviews)

  • "Ridiculous turnover rate, performance based, micro managed & very fast paced(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "turnover rate"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (30)

    "Worst Job I've Ever Had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bear Claw Events full-time

    Pros

    The only positive, and I mean ONLY, is working with some great people who have to endure the same, miserable job as you. I've never felt as liberated as I did when I quit this job after 3 months.

    Cons

    First off, the job description is a complete hoax. You do not type press releases or perform anything related to PR. You do not do anything related to Marketing. This is strictly a 100% commission sales job where you sell lame products at various Costco's and Sam's Clubs. Pay is awful when you break it down per hour. The manager simply makes money off each employee as they sell these pathetic products. They exploit fresh college graduates with their claims of making good money in a short amount of time. It's all a scam and I took the bait. Hopefully this review can prevent others from making the same mistake I did. Oh, and these glowing reviews you see are forced by the manager. They asked us frequently to post great reviews. Have to combat the high turnover rate somehow, right?

    Continue reading
    Bear Claw Events2017-09-27

    Bear Claw Events Response

    October 2, 2017President

    Thank you for your feedback about your experience at Bear Claw Events, Inc. We pride ourselves in creating opportunities for our clients and team members through interactive training and mentorship opportunities. We offer a variety of positions and compensation plans that are discussed with each applicant during their interview process. Please feel free to contact us at hr@bearclawevents.com with any additional comments or concerns.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (36)

    "This company is a sham....DON'T DO IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bear Claw Events full-time

    Pros

    I would like to start out with the fact that I met a lot of great people through working at Bear Claw, as well as created some lasting friendships; however, DON’T DO IT.

    Cons

    The following is what I experienced in a year working at Bear Claw: the day-to-day responsibilities, hours, pay (or lack thereof), company structure, and overall manipulative management styles. Starting out, THIS IS A SALES JOB. You will be selling subpar merchandise to individuals in big box retailers for 8 hours a day. It is a glorified door to door job, but inside “beautiful, 72 degree weather stores” all year round. Entry level, you will work between 40-50 hours per week between the stores and office, making just above minimum wage. Once “promoted” into leadership, you can double those hours. Between the office meetings, leadership meetings, selling the merchandise in stores, conference calls, daily breakdown calls, and required “networking” calls, you will be expected to work between 70-90 hours a week. On days with morning meetings, I was working from 7:30 A.M.-11:30 P.M. (16 hours total, getting paid for less than 12 of those hours). You will work 12 days straight with one day off (if you’re lucky), and extra over holidays. Pay structure is either $8/hour or a percentage of commission on crappy products. Breaking that down from the amount of hours worked (stated above), you will be making about $4.50 an hour, considering you aren’t paid for all of the time you actually put in. You will have mandatory unpaid conference calls, unpaid breakdown calls, unpaid and mandatory networking calls, mandatory unpaid “team nights,” and mandatory unpaid one-on-ones: all of which, if you don’t do, you will be reprimanded for. If you don’t hit their standards for sales, you are expected to stay even longer in the retail stores, but not get paid for that time because that is you proving you are an “entrepreneur.” You are specifically asked by management not to document all of the hours worked to prove your “entrepreneurial mindset.” The company is built on the idea that you believe you are an entrepreneur, and you need to constantly prove yourself and your “student mentality,” “attitude,” and “work ethic” to management. From entry level to leadership to assistant management and eventually ownership, it is advertised to take 6-9 months, when realistically it will never happen or it will take 1 ½ to 2 years. The turnover rate, from day 1 to the end, I literally cannot even put into numbers. People typically lasted no more than 2 months in the company. They were either fired, quit, died of exhaustion, or were forced out of the company by management. I personally know and have known “owners” in the business. I’ve seen offices shut down left and right. I know current and past owners in the business who are making less money now than they were at entry level! That’s right, an owner of a business who “proved their entrepreneurial mindset” for over a year, is now profiting themselves less than $4/hour. The revenue that is promised by Bear Claw’s “owner” is grossly exaggerated. I cannot count the amount of times he repeated that new owners make a minimum of $75,000 in their first year of ownership. Yet, I know for a fact they are making even less than entry-level employees. Any number he promises you, subtract $100,000, and you’ll be closer to the actual amount you will make. Don’t be fooled by the job title, description, or “opportunity” they advertise at Bear Claw. Management is a utopia that does not exist.

    Continue reading
    Bear Claw Events2017-03-01

    Bear Claw Events Response

    March 6, 2017President

    Bear Claw Events strives to provide a positive work environment with different career opportunities for all that join our team. Bear Claw Events is a reputable company that operates legally, ethically and with professional partnerships that serve the interest of our clients and our team members. We discuss all compensation plans during an applicant’s interview since we offer a variety of different levels that are available. Bear Claw Events is a privately held company that operates in accordance with North Carolina state labor laws and strives to conduct business practices with integrity and excellence.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (16)

    "Great Skills Learned.....but"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Salesman in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bear Claw Events full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Learn important skills that translate well to building towards a career in any industry. Instills a good work ethic and gets you on a good networking path that will help you succeed later in life with a given career choice. If you have the time to put in and the drive to work through tough times, to get to tougher times, to get to the promise land, go for it.

    Cons

    Lots of hours/weekends, expected to stay longer than scheduled/paid shift to prove you have what it takes, the job calls for you to put in extra hours after and before your shift setting up calls with other leaders/managers just to have them tell you the same thing over and over again. Meetings held over and over again about the same thing, money money money and how much you can make and how much someone else makes while in the mean time you get paid 8 dollars an hour striving to keep your head above water. Ridiculous turnover rate, performance based, micro managed & very fast paced. If your not a thick skinned individual don't even give it a shot. There is indeed room for growth and potential to move up quickly, but you can see for yourself.

    Continue reading
    Bear Claw Events2017-02-09

    Bear Claw Events Response

    February 14, 2017President

    Thank you for your feedback about Bear Claw Events. We are sorry to hear that our career opportunities did not align with your professional goals. We always strive to provide the best company atmosphere for all who interact with our team. We appreciate your insight and we will be taking your feedback into consideration.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (20)

    "VEEEEERY Misleading - Part-Time pay, Full-Time Expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bridal Stylist in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bear Claw Events full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I worked here for 3 months and besides learning Marketing skills/strategies I/you can take with me/you anywhere and everyone being very "friendly" there were no pros, unfortunately (well there is DEFINITELY opportunity to travel) :-(

    Cons

    Seems very "it's not what you know it's who you know." They give you a set of requirements that if you socialize/suck up to the right ppl/amount of ppl you don't have to achieve. There can only be 1 Assistant Manager really at a time so that "you can be a business owner in 6-8 months" really depends on how long you can wait out your turn. Your leaders are in the field themselves so don't really have time to build a team and still make their own goals. You are required to attend phone and in office meetings for no pay to min wage and expected to go beyond your shift on your own time and dime to try and make their sale goals (you only get 20% of the profit made but you do ALL the wrk). You're selling products in Sams/Costco that noone has heard of (even though they have been client's for years which to me doesn't make you an EFFICIENT marketing firm). They say it's not a sales job, but you only get paid hourly (min wage) OR commission. During the interview I was told I would spend half time in office and half time in the field, but when you start you're only in the office for the morning meeting (2hrs) then you're off the WHOLE day so don't qui your job until you get hours. You will not be working full-time unless they really need you (not enough employees to cover all campaigns. Turnover rate is RIDICULOUS - you can literally go out of town and come back to a whole new office of employees. YOU WILL NOT MAKE ENOUGH TO PAY YOUR BILLS (if you're grown and can't live at parents homes or on couches - there were ppl loosing apartments due to inadequate income and they were "top sellers." ONLY CARE ABOUT THE BOTTOM LINE. NO job security (you can be let go in the middle of your rotation without warning. They get you with promise of financial grandure, long as you don't starve to death first. Mileage reimbursement is NOT daily as stated in interview and you only get reimbursed on your check if you go from office to field, so if you live 30-45 mins away and go to morning meetings (required) you are not reimbursed for mileage unless you're going straight to the store. Also, if you're the only one driving (out of town events) then you're not reimbursed for taking your coworker to work for their shift. Havoc on your car as it's advertised in Charlotte, but you have to drive to your campaigns location which can be in Hickory, Huntersville, Rock Hill, Mint Hill/Matthews, Charleston, Atlanta, etc. They pay for your hotel, but don't tell you were you're going until the day of or the day before - please call to confirm reservation and location/reviews of hotel as their agent is not very competent and you may not even have a room when you get there. It is a GREAT opportunity for those who wish to follow not lead, as you must follow there way (direct marketing NO other way outside the box so you are actually not doing your clients justice bc it is definitely not a one-stop-shop) and Bartenders/Waitresses seem to do well in this business. At the end of the day you only learn the business that is not outsourced and the business owner promise is to open a branch doing EXACTLY what you are doing here, so it is not a business of your dreams (unless you did not have a dream besides to make money doing anything).

    Continue reading
    Bear Claw Events2016-01-14

    Bear Claw Events Response

    March 24, 2016President

    Bear Claw Events is a direct marketing company operating in Charlotte, North Carolina, where we always operate legally and ethically in state labor laws. We strive to offer a variety of positions that are based on several factors determined during the initial hiring process and understand that our career opportunities are not designed for everyone. Thank you for your feedback! Please feel free to contact us at hr@bearclawevents.com with any additional comments or concerns.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (14)

    "Not for me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Employee in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bear Claw Events full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Will hire recent grads Good skill set Friendly environment

    Cons

    Not many benefits in the beginning and the pay is not great unless you are a rockstar at sales. The titles of the jobs they recruit for are misleading. Look up this company on other career sites and they post different listings, but you ultimately end up in the same place, which is promoting products at Sam's and Costco. The schedule is constantly changing because of the high-turnover rate, and weekends are the busiest time for this job. You are also assigned to a leader within the company and required to talk to them every day after work and update them on how your day went. For some that may be helpful, but I started feeling manipulated and trapped the longer I stayed there.

    Bear Claw Events2014-12-02
  6. Helpful (19)

    "Don't do it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Bear Claw Events full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly work environment There are very few pros to this company, Long hours and weekends are required

    Cons

    High turnover rate You are a sample person at Costco Lack of consistent pay/schedule Requires to take work home with you on a regular basis

    Bear Claw Events2014-06-21

    Bear Claw Events Response

    August 22, 2014President

    Thank you for your feedback about your experience with Bear Claw Events. We strive to always act in the best interest of both our clients and our team members. It is our main objective to provide competitive career opportunities to all team members to help them grow in their individual careers. We appreciate your feedback and will take this into consideration when making improvements to our company.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 6 reviews