Bear Transportation Reviews | Glassdoor

Bear Transportation Reviews

Updated Oct 26, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
36%
Recommend to a Friend
35%
Approve of CEO
Andy Pierce, CTB
6 Ratings
  1. "Expediter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Plano, TX

    I worked at Bear Transportation

    Pros

    Friendly Fast paced environment. Felt like family, felt like I was a major part of a much larger picture.

    Cons

    Training department fell short and benefits could have been better.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Bear Transportation2016-08-06
  2. "Toxic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bear Transportation full-time

    Pros

    Met some nice people. That's about it

    Cons

    Degrading, Toxic environment. CEO barks orders like a Drill Sargent while bragging about his expensive car. Low pay given the amount of revenue they generate and low overhead and operating cost.

    Advice to Management

    I don't even know. Find a new CEO?

    Bear Transportation2017-10-26
  3. "hard work - decent pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Logistics Account Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bear Transportation

    Pros

    ok culture, great system, silo

    Cons

    competitive industry, long hours, no work life balance

    Bear Transportation2016-06-03
  4. "Learned alot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Expediter in Plano, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bear Transportation

    Pros

    You are given the opportunity to learn about freight. You are always busy. The one olace that you can truely earn money with every call.

    Cons

    They should pay this position alot more than what they do.

    Bear Transportation2016-04-09
  5. "Carrier Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Carrier Sales Executive in Plano, TX

    I worked at Bear Transportation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    All Brokerage, no overhead due to no assets. Family oriented.

    Cons

    Not up to par on Intermodal. Would be nice to have some assets.

    Bear Transportation2016-03-23
  6. "sales call representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Plano, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bear Transportation

    Pros

    Good hours and decent benefits

    Cons

    Lacked team work and professionalism

    Advice to Management

    Give more incentives for employees to work there

    Bear Transportation2016-02-25
  7. "Great Learning Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Plano, TX

    I worked at Bear Transportation

    Pros

    Technology, Domain knowledge, brand equity with carriers

    Cons

    Inept leadership. The culture is full of capable excellent people who keep themselves torn apart by greed.

    Advice to Management

    sell the company

    Bear Transportation2016-01-18
  8. "Expediter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bear Transportation

    Pros

    It's a good job if you are wanting to get started in sales.

    Cons

    Sr. Mangement is horrible. They give their brokers horrible compensation and give the expediters nothing for compensation. The pay for the expediters comes out of the sales the broker makes. It's hard to move anywhere within the company. I loved the people I worked with, wasn't a huge fan of the Sr. Management though. The benefits were also lacking.

    Bear Transportation2015-07-11
  9. "Expediter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Expediter in Plano, TX
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bear Transportation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They seem to really work with your schedule and will try and place you with a broker that will best suite you as well as the broker. Not just the broker. Commission was a plus and so were the hours that the company was open.

    Cons

    expediters only take 2% off of their sales. This seems extremely low seeing as how the expediters are the ones who normally cover the freight as well as follow it from pick up to drop off. For how much the company pulls in from the brokers alone (they only get 20-25% of their freight plus they have to pay their expediters commission out of theirs) it wouldn't hurt them to put a little more into their employees 401K.

    Bear Transportation2015-06-03
  10. "My experience with Bear Transportation, although it was tough, is invaluable."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Farmers Branch, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bear Transportation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My teammates were some of the greatest to work with. If work got behind, there was always someone that could help you get caught up.

    Cons

    While my teammates were a joy to work with, management was a different issue. They were only concerned with the bottom line, not losing customers, and the consumption of alcohol.

    Advice to Management

    Communication with your employees and contractors is paramount to good business. Customers, current and potential, can hear happy workers on the phone.

    Bear Transportation2013-11-08
Found 18 reviews