KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Beatport

Is this your company?

Beatport

Add a Review

Beatport Reviews

Updated Oct 15, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 of over 28 reviews

4.0
79%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Beatport CEO Robb McDaniels
Robb McDaniels
9 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Company Culture

    Feb 17, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Beatport has great company culture, where everyone feels included, management is interested in promoting staff and you get great benefits. All in all, a happy work environment!

    Cons

    I don't have any negative thoughts to share.

    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Current Employee

    -

    Oct 13, 2021 - Social Media Manager in Orlando, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Inclusive Global team Encourages autonomy and ownership of work Encourages work life balance

    Cons

    On the lower end of the average wage for this role

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Exciting, global workplace that feels like family!

    Feb 16, 2021 - Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Beatport has consistently provided me the space to be creative and fine-tune my role(s) as I progress in my career. I absolutely adore my colleagues and the culture that is engrained in Beatport's very core. I've learned invaluable and tangible skills in my few years here and have had the opportunity to hone in on my natural abilities for greater professional effectiveness. We have four locations over the EU, UK, and the US - even with the miles between us, our collective teams work together seamlessly. The benefits are top-notch, especially health and dental! I can confidently say working at Beatport has been the most rewarding and fulfilling experience in my professional career. I'm very much looking forward to the future with Beatport!

    Cons

    They provide access to a 401k plan but do not match (might be a US issue only). Pay could be better, but the excellent benefits package makes up for that.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    We are in the golden age of Beatport!

    Nov 25, 2020 - Finance Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    • The company is growing so there are opportunities for internal advancement often. o My role has grown immensely during my tenure at Beatport. During that time, I have taken on additional roles and fostered a lasting career path. o My colleagues have done a great job supporting my growth in the company. They helped expand my knowledge and increased my duties so that I have a better picture of the overall performance of the company and its operations. • The people that work at Beatport is the best reason to work here - we are a fun, passionate group of music professionals and technologists that have a love for the brand. The common goal to drive innovation and inspiration unites us all. We are family. • The company provides regular communication, listens to and considers new ideas, and continually encourages growth, both personally and professionally. • The company understands work-life balance. • This is a place you can call home. We have a laid back, open and dog friendly office space with good beats playing throughout the day. We also have fun happy hours, parties and access to a lot of shows

    Cons

    No company is perfect. While we grow, there are things that are evolving that come along with any growing company. It’s important to not get hung up on what’s wrong, but to focus on what is happening that is right and the vision for the future. With this growth is an opportunity to define the future and the role you play in it. This mindset is rewarded at Beatport. I have seen other reviews on here, and from my perspective, the negative ones were during the SFX days (2013 – 2016). When SFX acquired Beatport it was a difficult transition because the leadership did not know us or share the type of core values I mentioned above. Those days are long behind us though, and we now have strong leadership that understands what the mission is and cares about their employees. This is truly the golden age of Beatport!

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Opportunities for Professional Growth

    Nov 18, 2020 - Product Owner in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    As someone who began their career at Beatport several years ago, I've seen my role within the company evolve in ways I could have never imagined. I have been able to take advantage of several growth opportunities that have shaped my career path and led me to a place I had never expected. In my experience, hard work and dedication is rewarded at Beatport and if you are willing to step outside of your comfort zone a little, there is a strong support system of co-workers and leadership to help grow your career. I am consistently challenged and learning new skills and new technology, while working alongside some of the most talented, dedicated, and passionate people I have the privilege to call colleagues.

    Cons

    At times, the always-ambitious roadmap can feel a little overwhelming and there have been some growing pains that come along with re-focusing the company into a true product organization.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Heading in the Right Direction!

    Sep 21, 2020 - Software QA Tester in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The biggest pros are my colleagues. People that share the same passion as I have for the last 20 years. I find joy in being around, laughing with, and learning from them. There isn't a single person that works for Beatport that I would not call family. I simply cannot over-emphasize enough how great every single person that works in the organization is! 2020 has been a hell of a year, and Beatport has undergone quite a transformation from the top down. There is an inclusive culture that is starting to emerge within the company. Before the recent past, tough issues were sort of taboo to talk about, as a company, as it wanted to remain neutral. That seems to be changing for the better as courageous conversations are being brought to the forefront instead of getting swept under the rug. A people and culture committee has been formed to help make sure this culture is perpetuated. Beatport has also struggled with strong leadership in the past. A lot of the other reviews point out exactly how bad it was. I have been with the company for 11 years, and those other reviews are not wrong. I believe the wrong people were in the wrong positions because SFX did not understand the space it was invading. A lot of those people hired their friends to do sub-par work and it showed. Flash forward to today. Beatport has strong leadership that knows what Beatport is, why it exists, and where it's going. I am proud to be a part of the team that is literally defining what it means to be a DJ for the foreseeable future.

    Cons

    All of the changes to stronger leadership are not without their "growing pains". Even though Beatport is 16 years old, the company is entering into a pseudo-startup phase. The product roadmap is ambitious, to say the least. Deadlines for product development are usually very tight and, at worst, unrealistic. This is getting better as the Technology Team works closely with the Product Team to manage expectations but it still happens. There is a bare-bones dev team that has a lot of pressure to work on and maintain a full-stack, regardless of what specialty they were hired for. Staffing is supposed to be coming, though. It is hard to find capable people who also gel with the company culture, as there have been positions open for months. Lots of, in my opinion unnecessary, process has been introduced as if Beatport were an enterprise. I could see these processes being important if we ran 6 different dev teams with 20 devs on each team, but we don't and we aren't. Perhaps it will all make sense to me, one day when all the kinks get worked out. With any job, you have to take the good with the bad. And even with all of the bad throughout the years, my worst day at Beatport is probably better than my best day working at someplace I don't care about, spewing out mindless drivel.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Okay company with great people

    Nov 20, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Coworkers Health Benefits Dogs in the office Had a nice Manager

    Cons

    Former CEO Salary was low Limited growth opportunities

    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Run

    Aug 18, 2016 - Software Engineer in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You get to work on legacy platforms from 10 years ago if you are interested in vintage frameworks and old hat thinking. You get to work with poorly trained individuals from top to bottom with management put in place merely by coincidence rather than proven expertise. The only talent seems to be in infrastructure as they are the ones that had to keep that mess up on a regular basis while fighting constant fires. The HR was good and the health insurance was also good.

    Cons

    Working on heaps of old technologies that you prefer to avoid telling people you worked on rather than be proud to put on your resume. The overall experience was good to start but, then company in general has lost itself. It's been on a trend downwards for a while now. There are so many companies in Denver that have so much more opportunity I would recommend saving yourself the time and disappointment.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    The beat stopped

    Jul 25, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working with a lot of people who care about music. Insight into the music industry from an e-commerce perspective. Free coffee.

    Cons

    Management is very self centered and didn't take simple advice to make improvements to the product. Product manger was more worried about how cool he looked to DJ's and labels instead of listening to staff on how solve simple problems and developing a good product. No vision. No goals No incentives

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    POS business

    Jan 15, 2016 -  in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    really nice perks at the office

    Cons

    horrible management no direction a bunch of bullies

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 23 Reviews

Beatport Reviews FAQs

79% of Beatport employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Beatport 4.1 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.1 for culture and values and 3.6 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Beatport to be benefits, culture, career development and the cons to be management, compensation, senior leadership.

Popular Careers with Beatport Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Beatport? Share Your Experiences

Beatport logo
or