Beaufort Memorial Hospital Reviews | Glassdoor

Beaufort Memorial Hospital Reviews

Updated Mar 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
57%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Beaufort Memorial Hospital President and CEO Richard K. Toomey (no image)
Richard K. Toomey
24 Ratings
Pros
  • "The employees are super friendly & everyone knows everyone else on a first name basis(in 3 reviews)

  • "Small-town feel (everyone knows you after a month working there)(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "There are a lot of politics within the small town system and many departments are locked with their employees and family members(in 3 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Patient Access Representative in Beaufort, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Beaufort Memorial Hospital full-time

    Pros

    Amazing coworkers, always busy doing something

    Cons

    Code Purple, getting food if you worked the graveyard shift

    Beaufort Memorial Hospital2020-03-15
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN Staff Nurse in Beaufort, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Beaufort Memorial Hospital full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work. Fellow workmates are professionals, caring, providing great care to the patients, always willing to assist others, friendly

    Cons

    I found no cons while there

    Beaufort Memorial Hospital2020-02-08
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Overworked/Under paid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant CNA in Beaufort, SC

    I worked at Beaufort Memorial Hospital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great support from team mates.

    Cons

    Under paid for the amount of work done.

    Beaufort Memorial Hospital2019-04-12
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Beaufort Memorial Hospital full-time

    Pros

    Make a difference in the lives of those you work with

    Cons

    Lack of advancement opportunities in organization

    Beaufort Memorial Hospital2019-03-21
  6. "Friendly Hospital"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Echocardiographer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Beaufort Memorial Hospital part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    BMH is a friendly community-oriented hospital.

    Cons

    I enjoy working as part of this great team.

    Beaufort Memorial Hospital2019-01-27
  7. "Lots of co-workers doing very little"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Beaufort Memorial Hospital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Insurance and benefits are good.

    Cons

    Pay is not great, little time off. Tons of extra work that others are supposed to be doing get put off on you. Lots of co-workers slacking off

    Beaufort Memorial Hospital2019-01-17
  8. "Great first job as an RT(R)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Radiographer in Beaufort, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Beaufort Memorial Hospital for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Hands down my best clinic site as a student. Great employees in all fields. Friendly staff everywhere makes you feel home and welcome. Small. Clean.

    Cons

    Night shift was hit or miss as there is only 1 tech for the entire hospital, ER, OR, inpatients. Has slow moments but can get busy quickly. Hard to be everywhere at the same time.

    Beaufort Memorial Hospital2018-07-19
  9. "the only hospital between Charleston and Savannah"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Beaufort, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Beaufort Memorial Hospital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Though this may be dependent on department, there was always a team oriented staff and opportunity for earning CEU.

    Cons

    Small size and turnover of administration has lead the organization through years of growing and learning pains. There is little room for moving up in the organizatino due to size of the hospital and low turnover of managerial roles. Patient to staff ratios have increased gradually over the last few years straining morale.

    Beaufort Memorial Hospital2018-07-06
  10. Helpful (1)

    "CNA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Beaufort Memorial Hospital

    Pros

    The staff nurses and CNA's I worked with were amazing, friendly, hard working and felt like family members. The location to my home is also nice.

    Cons

    The management has lost focus on why this hospital functions. Your nurses and CNA'S are why you succeed. Intentionally understaffing, them, especially your CNA's, with complete disregard to the acuity of the patients you are taking in these days is irresponsible. This over the last year has also lead to a significant shortage of nurses and CNA's because many have searched for band found better paying jobs at other area hospitals. It isn't uncommon anymore for nurses to be assigned 7 patients on nights while only having 1 CNA for the entire floor. The remaining staff members are burning out from having to pick up extra shifts or finding out that their schedules were changed without notice to accommodate the shortages created by the staffing practices used over the last year since the fried was changed to match other hospitals that were better staffed or funded.

    Continue reading
    Beaufort Memorial Hospital2018-05-01
  11. "Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coordinator in Beaufort, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Beaufort Memorial Hospital part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Location, employees, company growth, departmental growth

    Cons

    Pay, benefits, hours, compensation, moral

    Beaufort Memorial Hospital2018-04-23
Found 47 reviews