KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Beautycon

Is this your company?

Beautycon

Add a Review

Beautycon Reviews

Updated Dec 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 48 of over 56 reviews

1.6
15%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
  • "As volunteers were able to do a lot at the BeautyCon conference which was nice(in 10 reviews)

  • "All divisions work hard to produce the best festivals for fans(in 10 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "It’s difficult to describe the magnitude of toxicity that I and countless others felt on a daily basis while working at Beautycon(in 12 reviews)

  • "Production detail is insane as any festival would be(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Working For the CEO Has Been Nothing Short of Amazing

      Aug 16, 2019 - Marketing Coordinator in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pushes you to work hard, turns you into a hustler, teaches you sooooo much about owning your own business and encourages it!

      Cons

      not enough food! too many meetings, not enough down time,

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Beautycon Response

      Head of People Operations

      Could not possibly agree more! Empowerment is the message we are all given from the moment we walk through the doors at Beautycon and it starts with a mandate from leadership to always be teaching and learning. Sometimes “hustler” has the wrong context; however, hustle, work ethic, and focus are skills everyone at Beautycon will turn into success if they truly want it and commit to the process. Thank you for sharing your experience!

    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Awful

      Dec 20, 2021 - Marketing 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great concept for the beauty industry

      Cons

      No direction or clearly defined roadmap

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Be aware / have clear goals

      Jun 29, 2021 - Brand Partnerships Coordinator in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working with amazing people who are smart, innovative, drive.

      Cons

      Non realistic goals / team time management

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      For the love of God, do not work here

      Apr 24, 2021 - Graphic Designer in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None. Literally none. This job was a living hell. I'd give zero or negative stars if I could.

      Cons

      Abusive CEO, Moj Mahdara, would call us into meetings to berate us whether or not we were doing our jobs properly. She would regularly choose a new person to fawn over, but would always end up turning on them and bringing on a new protege within due time, usually either firing the previous one or bullying them into quitting. Insanely fast revolving door of amazing talent who could no longer put up with Moj's abuse. Long hours without proper compensation. Paychecks were often late, and some people had their paychecks withheld after quitting and had to threaten legal intervention. Enormous stress for no payout. There is almost no way that this company is ever putting on an event again in the current capacity -- they are hiding behind covid to avoid paying out refunds for events that they failed to cancel in 2020. If you're reading this and you paid for a ticket to a future event -- it's almost certainly not going to happen.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Ugh

      Mar 26, 2021 - Team Member 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nothing at all. It is quite sad.

      Cons

      Poor management. Hierarchy. Gossip. Verbal abuse. Micro aggression.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Company does not respect employees

      Jan 26, 2021 - Creative in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company pretends to respect employees to others

      Cons

      Company does not respect employees

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee

      I Still Suffer Mental and Emotional Trauma To This Day

      Jul 2, 2020 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people I met there have become some of my closest friends. We all know we endured an insane amount of adversity together so there is this unspoken mutual understanding and camaraderie between past and present Beautycon employees - we have each other’s backs.

      Cons

      It’s difficult to describe the magnitude of toxicity that I and countless others felt on a daily basis while working at Beautycon. I’ve decided to list a series of occurrences I witnessed in order to better paint the picture and attempt to explain what it was really like. No one can really understand unless you’ve worked there so I hope that anyone who endured time at Beautycon is in a much better, happier place now. * Employees regularly stayed at the office to work until 9 or 10pm everyday and continued to work at home afterward until late into the night * We were expected to come into the office to work on the weekends with no notice and no meals were provided * We were expected to answer emails and be on-call and available on any given day at any given hour, even on vacation and weekends * We’d sit in company meetings where Moj would put people on the spot to embarrass them and then yell at them until they started crying * Every team would mentally prepare to be berated for hours during their weekly meetings. I witnessed my bosses and colleagues reduced to tears routinely * Screaming, slamming doors, storming out, and crying were all normalized behaviors in the office * Many fellow colleagues suffered from panic attacks, one had a stroke, and several went on medical leave for health conditions related to stress. I guarantee anyone who worked there is still traumatized today * When employees tried to leave, we were coerced into staying at the company with the promise of salary raises or promotions that never came * Additonally, there was retaliation against multiple employees who attempted to leave the company which resulted in a code of secrecy where no one felt safe enough to reveal where their new job was * 1. After putting in their 2-week notice at BC, Moj called this employee's new boss and bullied them into rescinding the BC employee's new job offer * 2. Moj called the new bosses of former BC employees and told them how horrible the employee was in order to jeopardize their new jobs * The turnover was atrocious - we got emails and slacks weekly about people who were suddenly laid off or who had quit * After a while, they stopped notifying us of layoffs and left us to figure it out on our own when we noticed a person stopped coming in * After each festival we all knew there would be mass layoffs resulting in at least 1/3 of the team being let go of. Though the end of a festival should be a time for celebrating our accomplishment, the waves of layoffs always happened the following week and were effective immediately. Our team would all cry together and walk our friends to their cars on those days * We used our personal laptops for work unless you were a department head or had a boss who pushed to get you one * Beautycon continuously promised stock options to employees at company meetings for years and never followed through * Even after people get their PTO approved by the company, Beautycon asked them to cancel or shorten their vacations. The company threatened they would revoke the unlimited PTO policy in order to make the pre-approved vacation time null and void * Senior employees played favorites and allowed themselves and people they liked to work from home. This was a double standard because those same bosses would not approve work from home requests from others because there was "no company-wide WFH policy" * Beautycon often paid entry-level male employees low hourly wages instead of salaries. Perhaps because they thought men would be less likely to stay at the company for long * Moj held a company meeting to present a narcissistic deck talking about her values, hobbies, likes and dislikes so that employees could understand how to work with her better * We had an organizational psychologist come in to improve company culture. After work one night she held a mandatory team-building workshop. Moj took the personality activity and used it to verbally abuse employees who identified themselves as more introverted and quiet * Several months after the psychologist was no longer employed by BC, Moj hired her friend (Usher’s ex-wife) to help with company culture. This person didn’t do one thing to improve the company and was paid god knows how much to help Moj berate employees and fly back and forth from LA to her home in NY * HR people were disposable if they didn’t adhere to Moj’s desires and demands, making it impossible for any employee to voice complaints without retaliation * There were many months where we didn’t have an HR person because they were laid off * Beautycon forced employees to write positive Glassdoor reviews for the company and Moj would guilt-trip us by saying “I wonder how much great talent passed on opportunities here because of Glassdoor" * Beautycon paid Glassdoor $3-4K every month to feature a positive review at the top of the page instead of more recent negative ones * We sent celebrities and influencers extravagant gifts. Kim Kardashian received a flower arrangement after a festival that cost upwards of $10K. On the other hand, Beautycon did not help subsidize healthcare for employees so many were recipients of Obamacare or Medi-cal * My coworker received retro-pay because Beautycon realized her salary was less than the minimum salary companies were required by law to pay in LA. She was making ~$40K per year and because of the new law taking effect, they changed her salary to the new minimum of $43K * Beautycon often withheld paychecks from employees in retaliation for non-compliance If you’ve made it this far, thank you for reading. I’m sure there are countless more disheartening stories and experiences people have had while working at Beautycon, but these are the ones I saw first-hand. I think that many employees stayed because not only did they hope things would get better eventually, but because they also loved what Beautycon stands for: inclusivity, diversity, challenging the impossible standards of beauty, and bringing people together. This inspiring mission is no excuse for the pain and suffering inflicted at the hands of Moj Mahdara, Beautycon executives, and the toxic environment they created. I hope they are held accountable so they can no longer abuse young employees who join the company with optimistic dreams of making a difference.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Worst company I’ve ever worked for

      Jun 24, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some cool people to work with

      Cons

      Worst management skills by a company I have ever come across. NOBODY knew what they were doing. It seems like the only way they survive is by firing people and hiring new young dumb kids out of school who don’t know any better. This also was the most verbal abuse I’ve ever encounter in a workplace. The CEO talks down to everyone, no matter what position you hold. I really thought this place could have been something great, but there is no way it will succeed with the horrible management skills. I would take a job cleaning toilets over ever working for this company. It’s all a big front run by a dictator who can’t stand to be wrong. It’s a real shame, so much potential but full of lies and zero cash flow.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      CEO is the worst

      Jun 16, 2020 - Marketing 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are none. The place was a joke.

      Cons

      Constantly getting yelled at by ceo, who doesn’t know how to manage staff.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Great mission, Poor leadership

      Apr 24, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company's mission is unmatched. You truly feel like you're doing something important there (at least for being in the beauty space).

      Cons

      The leadership is terrible and it will be the demise of this company.

      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 48 Reviews

    Beautycon Reviews FAQs

    15% of Beautycon employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Beautycon 1.3 out of 5 for work life balance, 1.5 for culture and values and 1.8 for career opportunities.

    According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Beautycon to be diversity and inclusion and the cons to be benefits, career development, senior leadership.

    Popular Careers with Beautycon Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Beautycon? Share Your Experiences

    Beautycon logo
    or