Beazer Homes Reviews

Updated Apr 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
46%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Beazer Homes President and CEO Allan P. Merrill (no image)
Allan P. Merrill
106 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "We are strong-armed by an unqualified finance department and upper management (in my opinion)(in 13 reviews)

  • "Some of the bureaucracy that comes along with working for a top ten national home builder(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great So Far!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Title Examiner/Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Beazer Homes full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Place to work and an excellent staff of people to work with

    Cons

    I have Nothing bad to say

    Continue reading
    Beazer Homes2020-04-06
  2. "Toxic environment"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Beazer Homes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    6 weeks vacation provided, osha certification & 401k

    Cons

    Fear motivation & threats from HR, lack of training for new managers & strategy

    Continue reading
    Beazer Homes2020-02-28
  3. "The company is a lie"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Beazer Homes full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The PTO was pretty on point (six weeks) even though you could lose PTO pretty easily by not using it and you cant use it fast enough trust me. There are some pretty friendly people.

    Cons

    I got let go, but it was literally the day I planned on putting in my notice for another job I found so it didn't really matter at all to me. They will say anything to get you in the door and working for them but trust me the only selling point for Beazer is their time off amount. The people I worked with were way way too over involved in their jobs and if you happen to be the type of person who enjoyed a weekend and wasn't totally and completely obsessed with only work they didn't like you. The training was lackluster and at a lot of points not existent at all. Many times I would be told to do something and given a lame tutorial and then be berated for being wrong. When they did decide to fire me they had to make it look legit so they went ahead and made it seem like it was coaching in their office but really it was just a paper trail to get rid of someone. It was more of a vanity contest than it being about the work. I was lied to about what the job was from the start truth be told so I was entirely unhappy and was ecstatic to get the chance to switch jobs. the timing just happened that they also wanted to get rid of me for personal reason which worked out as I got to start sooner. Their entire process at Beazer makes no sense. In order to change something you have to do the entire thing in Excel, submit it to their central purchasing team, usually get kick back and questions from that team and then finally after fighting them you might get what you wanted done and if you are lucky it will be done right. other companies I talked to had much easier ways of doing things. The pay is just sad, it is on the low end not only for their job titles and a multi billion dollar corporation but also for the amount fo work you do overall. My advice would be to shop around a little more most people can do better than this company. half the employees brag about how often they switch jobs and how they cant wait to switch out of Beazer at some point too. if you go into an office and their average work time there is about a year or less then you should reconsider. Everyone tries so hard to prove themselves that they just end up looking like a jerk on the backend. Lastly, management are all friends. there is a lot of people who know each other from these home builders and they build their teams on people they know. Managers hang out together and even drink and crash at each others places. I am absolutely NOT against co worker friends but what I am saying is if you aren't in this inner circle you are going to be nothing to them. they will 100% talk about you behind your back and you will be treated way worse. I wish I had better things to say but taking the job was a wild mistake for me personally.

    Continue reading
    Beazer Homes2020-02-23
  4. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Care Professionals in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Beazer Homes full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for great people

    Cons

    No cons about working here it's a great company

    Beazer Homes2020-01-13
  5. "Terrible management"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Beazer Homes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    6 weeks vacation is great

    Cons

    Senior management. Out of touch, narrow minded. They treat everyone as if they are stupid. They hire smart people but don’t let us do anything.

    Continue reading
    Beazer Homes2020-01-25
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Vice President"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President Operations 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Beazer Homes full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They have six weeks per year of PTO

    Cons

    The company isn't as transparent as they advertise to future and current employees.

    Continue reading
    Beazer Homes2019-12-06
  7. "Moving in the right direction"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Beazer Homes full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have worked at Beazer for over 5 years and have seen a lot of changes. I have been able to grow and learn in my career and the culture of the company has really changed. I can see that the C-suite is really invested in the culture and making this a company that people are proud to work for.

    Cons

    There are some divisions and departments who have not embraced the direction we are moving so I think everyone's experience is different.

    Continue reading
    Beazer Homes2019-11-22
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Management Doesn’t Care About You"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - New Home Counselors in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Beazer Homes full-time

    Pros

    Good Income and a Good Product

    Cons

    The company shows a lack of respect to its employees. Management makes split second decisions and moves employees from one community to the next without caring or thinking about how it is affecting them. The moving is not for sales reasons but due to Extreme favoritism. A lack of good judgement is apparent.

    Continue reading
    Beazer Homes2019-12-03
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Micromanagement. Hostile Motivators. Clumsy."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Beazer Homes full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Builds a quality home. Sales people in 1/3 of communities can make good money.

    Cons

    Hostility treatment used to motivate. Promises not kept. Micromanagement is incredible. When sales managemnt does not know what to do to move sales: they micromanage MORE. Sales people spend way to much time reporting what are doing so mnangement can pretend they themselves are doing an incredible amount to make things happen: boggong down the sales people. I make a lot of money, but I am in the 1/3 of the communities that were set up properly. Management moves sales people around Constantly: one person was moved 8 times in one year. Its like whem mangement does not lnow what to do for low sales: the flip the game board ul in the air and start over. The stress level with sales professionals is extremely high. Managers will sell you a greay story when in the interview: but remember, PROMISES MADE, PROMISES NOT KEPT.

    Continue reading
    Beazer Homes2019-10-30
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Drained.,Micromangement, Clumsy management, Manipulative Mangement."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - New Home Sales Consultant in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Beazer Homes full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Builds a good home with spray foam. Can good money if you can ignore all if that, in 1/3 of their communities.

    Cons

    Sales people are moved around constantly because management does not know what else to do. And they will notify the sales peron the day before because theirvstyke is manipulative and they dont trust sales people. They are so good at hiring they can replace us instantly. (Should that have beennin the PROS?). Instead of them.looking at the system daily reports l, they have sales people sending ANOTHER daily report, and I mean daily. You will be bombarded with constant emails from the VP about what everyone is doing wrong. Anytime someone gets a sale EVERYONE has to REPLY ALL a congratulations, killing the productivity of your email. Same for birthday, having a baby, found a penny etc. If you tell them you have a personal goal of 5 for the month, hit it or be told you broke your promise. Dont ever tell them your goal: keep that motivation to yourself. The promise a lot of things during interviews that they are not doing. Tonthem.its just marketing so the can prove tonthe other sales people thatbthey can be replaced in a qick moment. 6 people to a community is acceptable to them: exceptbwhen sales are slow, then 8 is appropriate. If you can handle managemen relieving their stress on you you can make money hear: if you are lucky enough to get into the 2 or three communities that are selling enough to provide for the sales people working there. Whem you finally leave, managent will tell us how terrible you were.

    Continue reading
    Beazer Homes2019-10-30
Found 166 reviews