Beazer Homes "good people" Reviews | Glassdoor

Beazer Homes Employee Reviews about "good people"

Updated Sep 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
45%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Beazer Homes President and CEO Allan P. Merrill (no image)
Allan P. Merrill
107 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "We are strong-armed by an unqualified finance department and upper management (in my opinion)(in 13 reviews)

  • "Some of the bureaucracy that comes along with working for a top ten national home builder(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "good people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good Company/Good People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Builder in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Beazer Homes full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good salaries. Good people throughout the company. Good leadership.

    Cons

    Need to buy more land.

    Continue reading
    Beazer Homes2019-04-15
  2. Helpful (9)

    "Megalomaniac CEO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Beazer Homes full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good people, opportunity to advance due to high turnover, good vacation policy

    Cons

    Poor work/life balance, micromanagement from C-suite, culture of fear, high turnover rate of employees, lower than industry pay.

    Continue reading
    Beazer Homes2019-09-14
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Hostile work environment Avoid this employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Beazer Homes full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Most of the regular employees are very good people being abused in the same way.

    Cons

    Lots of micro management, condescending remarks, non-constructive criticism, and threatening behavior from management. This may be due to money problems at the division level.

    Continue reading
    Beazer Homes2018-11-30
  4. Helpful (7)

    "The Beazer family would be heartbroken"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - New Home Sales Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Beazer Homes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some very good people who believe they can make a difference. That is about all I can say at this point.

    Cons

    The biggest problem is the CEO. He manages and micromanages through intimidation and bullying. He screams and belittles and I have never heard one good thing about him. It's offensive to have to fill out and sign an ethics agreement knowing upper level management does not live by these rules. The turnover in division offices is crippling and it is because of the toxic environment created by the CEO. Upper management throws middle management under the bus to save their jobs. Micromanaging, smoke and mirrors and deception are present on every level. Good people turn bad or leave. The stress is a constant presence that leaves you exhausted and dreading the next morning when you have to go back to work. The CEO pays himself ridiculous amounts of money and bonuses and sells off land to show a profit (more smoke and mirrors) it is by far the worst culture I have been a part of. It's sad because I know there are good people that stay believing they can make a difference, but no one can until the king sitting at the top of the pile has his throne taken away. George Beazer was a hard working stone mason and built Beazer on the foundation of a value builder. He wanted everyday people to be able to afford a new home. Today's CEO wants to line his pockets and has no respect for anyone that works for Beazer. The people take on the personality of their leader. Need I say more?

    Continue reading
    Beazer Homes2017-04-27
  5. "Good for starting out in the new homes industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Beazer Homes

    Pros

    Good training, good people, very nice product.

    Cons

    The organizational structure on a local level is haphazard.

    Beazer Homes2016-04-11
  6. Helpful (4)

    "New Home Sales Counseler"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Beazer Homes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The few good people that are still employed there.

    Cons

    Everything: constantly changing management. Under compensation, etc.

    Beazer Homes2015-11-26
  7. Helpful (11)

    "Company is taking my soul"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Beazer Homes

    Pros

    Good people scattered throughout but they are hanging on until another opportunity comes along - actually, people have left for further commutes and less pay...ummm...what does that say about the employees willingness to stick around

    Cons

    Work overload, cash is low, spending is high, people throw each other under the bus every chance they get to avoid the yelling from the CEO and CFO. New people come in as the next best thing and then they get the "stink" after about a year. No one is as smart as the executive team so there is no reason to work hard because eventually you will be let go because you can't multiply 7 times 8

    Continue reading
    Beazer Homes2015-10-07

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 7 reviews