KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Bechtel Plant Machinery

Engaged Employer

Bechtel Plant Machinery

Add a Review

Bechtel Plant Machinery Reviews

Updated Jul 9, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 105 of over 114 reviews

3.4
54%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Bechtel Plant Machinery President and General Manager Barbara Staniscia (no image)
Barbara Staniscia
8 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years
    Featured Review

    Stable company

    Mar 19, 2022 - Mechanical Engineer in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very stable, good job security Good work life balance You will learn to read and write very well Good for aspiring PMs

    Cons

    Lack of technical engineering challenges Lots of competition for promotions to management

    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great place to work!

    Jun 30, 2022 - Logistics Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place to work, would recommend to anyone!

    Cons

    No cons that I can currently think of.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Bechtel Plant Machinery Response

    Communications Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience. We're so glad you're happy, and we certainly appreciate employee recommendations!

  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Extremely disappointing

    Apr 25, 2022 - Fleet Analyst in Monroeville, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible working hours, cafeteria, events and treats for employees, some of the people are truly wonderful, mission of the organization, good benefits and 401k match. I’m neutral on the CEO - don’t know much about her.

    Cons

    Depending on where you work, it’s a toxic environment. Gender discrimination, disability discrimination, harassment, bullying behavior - it all exists. Upon adding my review, I was shocked to read the cons of several other reviews that also mention gender discrimination against females, a “Boys Club” environment, and toxic environment. I can attest that it’s all true because I experienced all of it myself. You can speak up and report the behaviors as many times as you want, but sadly those who contribute to these behaviors are not held accountable. Management and HR say they support you, but they don’t do anything even when you tell them that so many others are also aware of the toxic behaviors. Unrealistic work expectations.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Bechtel Plant Machinery Response

    Communications Specialist

    We appreciate your perspective and wanted to take a moment to address your concerns. BPMI strives to foster a safe and inclusive work environment. Our employees are expected to follow our codes of conduct, which expressly identify these behaviors as serious misconduct with actionable consequences. Any employee who experiences or is aware of harassment or discrimination is encouraged to report it to management or Human Resources. HR takes all reports seriously and thoroughly investigates each situation. A second resource for employees is our Ethics & Compliance Office. Employees can contact any member of the team directly or call our anonymous help line. (More information about BPMI as an EEO employer can be found at BPMIonline.com) BPMI’s DEI initiatives formally began in 2018, and we’re pleased with our most recent accomplishment: chartering the Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Culture Change Council. To read more about what we’ve done and where we’re heading, please visit our Glassdoor company profile and reference (scroll to) the “Diversity & Inclusion at Bechtel Plant Machinery” section: https://www.glassdoor.com/Overview/Working-at-Bechtel-Plant-Machinery-EI_IE153714.11,34.htm

  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Do not recommend

    Apr 2, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The 9/80 schedule, good government-type benefits, and made some friends.

    Cons

    Don't trust the portrayal of diversity on their corporate website. The people in the photos literally do not work there and assuredly are NOT representative of the actual workforce at BPMI. If you're an engineer, you may like it. If you're a white engineer (especially a male), you'll probably love it. If you're a minority or in a non-engineering role, you'll likely feel a second class citizen. Proof of this is they have an engineer's week and no equivalent for any other job function. BPMI is teeming with inept managers who lack vision, leadership skills, and basic emotional intelligence. BPMI tries to brainwash everyone into retiring there, despite its shortcomings, by making the external corporate landscape seem terrifyingly unstable. Don't be fooled. They claim to be innovative and receptive to diverse ideas but only if your "diverse thought" aligns with what the executives already want to do. They may accept your good idea if they can make it appear as their own. They won't hesitate to give you job responsibilities multiple levels above your pay grade, but they won't willingly compensate you accordingly and you'll have to fight for every dollar. On top of this, senior management is of the mentality that salaried employees should work a great deal of overtime. You must understand that if you protect your own schedule, it can block your advancement.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful

    Bechtel Plant Machinery Response

    Communications Specialist

    We appreciate the perspective and are sorry that your experience at BPMI was not positive. We’re very proud of the photos and several videos on our website that feature BPMI employees, both past and present. BPMI has a culture of continuous improvement; we always look for ways to do better. Our Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Culture (DEIC) Change Council is one example. Chartered in 2021, the DEIC is a group of employees who are champions for change that want to help us do better in the areas of diversity, equity, and inclusion, so that BPMI is a place where everyone feels safe, trusted, and valued in their role. We are at a time of great change, and it is truly exciting to see BPMI become an even better place to work.

  5. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great environment

    Jul 9, 2022 - Contract Professional 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work place environment and great people

    Cons

    A lot of trainings and a lot of learning which isn’t a bad thing but can be very overwhelming when receiving work assignments at the same time

    1 person found this review helpful

    Bechtel Plant Machinery Response

    Communications Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We're passing along your comments to our training department as constructive criticism. As an employee, you already know that BPMI has a very active process improvement culture; we take all feedback into account when considering changes, and we certainly appreciate yours. Again, thanks!

  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Great Start in Supply Chain, but Outdated

    Mar 16, 2022 - Advanced Contracts Professional in Monroeville, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits, PTO, Reason for doing the work is fulfilling, 9/80 schedule

    Cons

    It’s a political game, internally and externally. If you’re a white male, you will succeed. If you’re a female or minority, good luck. If you’re female, just don’t have kids and you’ll be fine; otherwise some people who have a very outdated and unchanging view of the workplace will think your worthless as soon as you have a baby. There is very little ability to work from home. Technology is next to non-existent. Compensation is great freshly out of school, but can quickly be beaten once you gain some experience. Management “understands” you’re overworked, but will leave it that way and let those who slack continue to do so. There is no equal pie pieces at BPMI.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    BPMI a great place to work

    Jun 8, 2022 - Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Culture, Pay, Benefits, and Opportunity for promotion

    Cons

    Technology is lacking in certain areas

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Stable Place to Work

    May 9, 2022 - Mechanical Engineer in Monroeville, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I get a decent amount of independence and have opportunities to apply technical skills for new projects or components.

    Cons

    Management is a mixed bag. I enjoy my superiors but have heard not-so good things about managers in other areas of the company.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Bechtel Plant Machinery Response

    Communications Specialist

    Thank you for your review and your advice. Our formal telework policy, born of necessity (due to COVID) and since embraced by our leaders, is a great first step towards giving us the ability to provide more flexible work scheduling. We're excited by the potential!

  9. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good Company, Lots of Writing

    Nov 3, 2021 - Associate Mechanical Engineer in Monroeville, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - BPMI is a good company that cares about its employees - Benefits and pay are competitive - Generous vacation and sick time - Clubs/intramurals, a gym, a cafeteria, and occasional free food - Experienced employees are generally willing to help and mentor newer employees - The opportunity to work with cool technology and gain unique experience - Emphasis on work-life balance

    Cons

    - While the work is technical in nature, it is mostly writing, reviewing specifications, and signing off on various things. There is very little hands-on work or design work for most employees. The company does not advertise the work to be hands-on or design-heavy, but I mention this because a lot of engineers want that in their day-to-day. - There can be lots of red tape that causes projects to move slowly. There are many efforts in place to improve upon this, but it remains an issue. - The skills you gain as an engineer are not directly transferrable to other industries. You will become a good communicator, but a lot of technical skills will not apply elsewhere.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Bechtel Plant Machinery Response

    Human Resources Professional

    Thank you for your review!

  10. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Above average company, worth a look.

    Mar 9, 2022 - Advanced Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent benefits, stable job. 40 hours/week consistently. 4 weeks vacation after 3 years. 4% 401k, 3% 401a, good fund selection in 401k. 401k allows both Roth and traditional. Decent health care plan with HSA access with some investment options. Great job for entry-level engineer. Some options for continued education.

    Cons

    Compensation generally a bit below average. Annual raises generally no more than 2-3% unless promoted.

    1 person found this review helpful

    Bechtel Plant Machinery Response

    Human Resources Manager

    Thank you for your review.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 105 Reviews

Bechtel Plant Machinery Reviews FAQs

Bechtel Plant Machinery has an overall rating of 3.4 out of 5, based on over 114 reviews left anonymously by employees. 54% of employees would recommend working at Bechtel Plant Machinery to a friend and 48% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -7% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Bechtel Plant Machinery employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.5 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Bechtel Plant Machinery. This rating has decreased by -4% over the last 12 months.

54% of Bechtel Plant Machinery employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Bechtel Plant Machinery 3.8 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.2 for culture and values and 2.7 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Bechtel Plant Machinery to be compensation, coworkers, benefits and the cons to be culture, management, career development.

Popular Careers with Bechtel Plant Machinery Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Bechtel Plant Machinery? Share Your Experiences

Bechtel Plant Machinery logo
or

Bechtel Plant Machinery Careers

Cover image for Bechtel Plant Machinery

Bechtel Plant Machinery, Inc. (BPMI) is a prime contractor for the United States Naval Nuclear Propulsion Program (NNPP). Initially...More

  • Vision & Values
  • Community & Culture
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Bechtel Plant Machinery

8 days ago

The award for cutest BPMI visitor goes to Louise, a Virginia opossum and one of Humane Animal Rescue's animal ambassadors.Thanks to our Community Affairs Committee for hosting an educational lunchtime talk from Humane Animal Rescue of Pittsburgh’s Wildlife Rehabilitation Center.
Shared image
Logo

Bechtel Plant Machinery

18 days ago

"...for all those of you who lost someone, 21 years is both a lifetime and no time at all." These were the words of President Biden at today's 9/11 Memorial Ceremony at the Pentagon. Today, we remember those who died, those who served, and those who carry on.
Shared image
See all

Bechtel Plant Machinery Photos

+ Add Photo
Bechtel Plant Machinery photo of: BPMI Heaquarters (near Pittsburgh)
Bechtel Plant Machinery photo of: BPMI Schenectady Office
Bechtel Plant Machinery photo of: Fitness Center
Bechtel Plant Machinery photo of: Fitness Center
Bechtel Plant Machinery photo of: The Loft - Innovation Meeting Space
Bechtel Plant Machinery photo of: Heritage Room at Headquarters
Bechtel Plant Machinery photo of: Outdoor Cafeteria Seating
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Bechtel Plant Machinery Job Seekers Also Viewed

Bechtel Logo
Bechtel

3.8

2,111 Reviews
Compare