Bed Bath N' Table Reviews | Glassdoor

Bed Bath N' Table Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 25 reviews

1.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
9%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Sales Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Bed Bath N' Table full-time

    Pros

    Creative Environment Organized Structured Scope to hone Operations skills

    Cons

    Rigid, Lack of Teamwork, non-flexible

    Advice to Management

    Focus on 1. Team building 2. Sales trainings 3. Customer care, Customer experience, Customer delight 4. Value for Talent

    Bed Bath N' Table2019-05-04
  2. "Doesn't care about staff, only about lining the pockets of the Dempsey family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Bed Bath N' Table full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team in store. Staff are honestly so lovely at Store level.

    Cons

    Back breaking conditions, most of the ergonomic requirements for a modern workplace are not met. Hours are terrible. No support from upper management, no modern computer systems. Everything, and I mean EVERYTHING is done in paper.

    Advice to Management

    Move into the modern age and look after staff better and you'll actually keep people around fo longer instead of just casuals.

    Bed Bath N' Table2019-05-09
  3. "Ok but not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Bed Bath N' Table part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    - great team environment - got to learn how to make a bed

    Cons

    - competitive and unrealistic budgets lead to staff members unscrupulously fighting over sales - management communication is really bad: my boss was basically a bully. You either did everything her way or get out, no room for own individuality in styling and selling

    Advice to Management

    Back off, let your staff members do their job.

    Bed Bath N' Table2019-03-14
  4. "Part Time Casual on Full Time Hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Consultant in Menai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Bed Bath N' Table part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    The Customers were wonderful and made coming to work so very worth it. And my Manager at the Time, Susanna Whybro.

    Cons

    The Toxic Upper Management and the Occasional Sociopathic Co-Worker.

    Advice to Management

    Toxicity affects Profit and Efficiency.

    Bed Bath N' Table2019-02-12
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Treat Staff As Numbers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Bed Bath N' Table full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff discount is nice at 30% and the people you meet make coming to work worth it.

    Cons

    Being thrown in postions with little training and having to teach yourself. Having daily budgets that are almost impossible to reach. Regional Managers are snarley and rude.

    Advice to Management

    Provide correct training to give employees the best opportunity at success.

    Bed Bath N' Table2018-10-23
  6. Helpful (2)

    "I wish I could go back!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Bed Bath N' Table full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great hours, great pay, amazing co-workers, ongoing training and support, no set uniform, opportunities for promotion.

    Cons

    Talking on the phone and requesting stock from other stores was often unpleasant.

    Advice to Management

    This was the best job I have ever had, I’m so upset to see so many negative reviews!

    Bed Bath N' Table2018-07-20
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Treat you like a number without a brain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Bed Bath N' Table full-time

    Pros

    Store staff were encouraging and fun

    Cons

    Lack of vision for staff no support they belittle you and treat u like a number to just churn out sales

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the staff on the ground , value the talents and experience of the people you employ.

    Bed Bath N' Table2018-06-21
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Casual sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Bed Bath N' Table part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Worked with some lovely people. -That I left.

    Cons

    - Unhealthy kpi system which lead to staff fighting for sales to the point where staff would race to the counter for customers holding $$ items. Staff who linger around the POS system while achieving not much else will generally be able to meet their targets by literally letting the sales come to them. The budgets aren’t considerate of staff being assigned other jobs ie doing stock versus being on the floor. If you’re...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees and treat them like humans. There is something quite wrong with managements current strategy. KPIs are important and it is reasonable for a company to relieve under perfmorning staff for the better of their business, but when it is happening to a large portion of your staff, then that would be a sign of poor management. A review into management and HR seems necessary.

    Bed Bath N' Table2018-04-22
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Sales team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Casual Sales Assistant in Melbourne

    I worked at Bed Bath N' Table part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lovely products , great customers and nice team members

    Cons

    Really physical work , which I don't mind but feels like we work in a warehouse almost daily vm changes and no thanks for any hard work , management only see what we haven't done for the day . On top of trying to reach our kpi s for the week and making budget I find this company very stress ful and a very thankless job . We are told by head office that on the weekend we must be customer focused ( which is great ) but...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your staff better !!

    Bed Bath N' Table2018-04-22
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Horrible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Casual Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Bed Bath N' Table part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Talking to customers and being able to style displays is fun

    Cons

    Terrible management with unrealistic KPI's. They expect you to work until exhaustion for no reward or incentive. Your shifts are completely based on your performance, so you will be competing with other staff members which made the job horrible and hostile. The way management treats staff is terrible, and they seem to think that dictator style managing is the way to go. So glad I left, wouldn't recommend to anyone.

    Advice to Management

    Remove individual KPI's, this doesn't affect store performance it only creates a horrible working environment. Upper management needs to learn how to respect hard working staff and give them incentives / actual facilities. The POS system is from the 90s, for such a multi million dollar company, you'd think they would update it to make it easier for staff and reducing paper wastage.

    Bed Bath N' Table2018-04-08
Found 25 reviews