Beiersdorf "german" Reviews | Glassdoor

Beiersdorf Employee Reviews about "german"

Updated Mar 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
85%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Beiersdorf CEO Stefan De Loecker (no image)
Stefan De Loecker
32 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "German, family-owned company with deeply rooted emphasis on hierarchical authority(in 11 reviews)

  • "Unclear career development path(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "german"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Hamburg
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Beiersdorf for less than a year

    Pros

    German, family-owned company with attractive opportunities and growth potential.

    Cons

    German, family-owned company with deeply rooted emphasis on hierarchical authority.

    Continue reading
    Beiersdorf2020-03-05
  2. "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Digital Marketing Intern in Hamburg
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Beiersdorf

    Pros

    Working for a FMCG company if you like the industry.

    Cons

    Even though it is an international company, German is still needed on a daily basis. Too many politics and not a clear direction and company mission. Interns are discarded as soon as they finish their internships. Great employer branding right here!

    Continue reading
    Beiersdorf2019-11-13
  3. "brand manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Beiersdorf full-time

    Pros

    supportive, established, no backstabbing attitude

    Cons

    no career path set, traditional, german-driven

    Continue reading
    Beiersdorf2019-10-28
  4. "Ones of the best companies to experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Beiersdorf full-time

    Pros

    Open office policy, lots of learning opportunities great workers council great benefits never less challenge and new topics to keep you busy amazing work culture in day to day activities best food canteen ever (they serve warm meal on table) Nivea and other goodies that you constantly get every month with special promotional launch products

    Cons

    Slow or negligible growth opportunities Less interest in becoming a diverse international company Less standardization among global affiliates Slow approach towards adopting newer technologies and agile ways of working Less transparency and plans from top to bottom hierarchy for individual career goals and growth. Filled with older crowd, less dynamic and ambitious individuals Not so welcoming towards international crowd (non-german speakers)

    Beiersdorf2019-02-13
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Left due to mobbing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern in Hamburg
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Beiersdorf for less than a year

    Pros

    It is a top company in Germany. High pay for interns compared to other European counties.

    Cons

    I had a traumatic experience during my time at Beiersdorf. Before joining the team, I was told I was being placed on an international team. However, the first day I arrived they told me I had to work for the German market. I do not know any German. The hiring manager really wanted me to join the team and neglected to tell me that German was crucial for this role. However, after few weeks I was given menial tasks due to my lack of German knowledge and was being isolated by my co-workers. The worst came right before Christmas when I was scolded off by my manager saying that I was not good enough and making me feel worthless by comparing me to more experience co-workers. However, as a pro-active intern I was there to learn and even though I was constantly being isolated by my German co-workers, I tried to make most out of the situation and did not let affect my work. After making me feel very uncomfortable and not knowing what to do, I talked about it to HR who were assuring me that they would take care of the situation. Little did I know, that instead of resolving the conflict, they were planning to send me home which they eventually did.

    Continue reading
    Beiersdorf2019-03-02
  6. "Great global community with great opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Beiersdorf full-time

    Pros

    Wants to recruit from within, so once's you're in, there is a lot of opportunitites to grow. Advanced salary review process. Great global culture.

    Cons

    German company, beuraucratic and set in its ways.

    Beiersdorf2018-05-20
  7. Helpful (11)

    "How is life in HQ at Beiersdorf after 2 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Global Category Manager in Hamburg
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Beiersdorf full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Beiersdorf is a very solid and healthy company. Hence, you can trust is a right place for a long term career. Is a very well structure company, and almost all the processes are defined in way that make easy to develop your job. The colleagues are very respectful with each other, in general the working atmosphere is very formal and professional. It is a great company to learn the FCMG industry

    Cons

    Working in Beiersdorf HQ in Hamburg will differ a lot depending in which department you land. Anyhow you should be aware that there is some areas like e. g. Marketing where is more frequent to see carrier development than in e.g. Supply Chain or Procurement which are more statics and development or promotions are not that frequently seen. In general one could say that the salaries are below the industry. Quiet often other FCMG offer higher salary packages, which lead to certain employees to leave (especially those who are flexible to be reallocated). As a feeling, I would say the headquarters are 85% German employees and 15% other nationalities. You don’t really feel an international atmosphere (Is more a German or Hanseatic atmosphere, I would say). This is a downside only if you are an expats. As Expat do not expect a very warm international community. Beiersdorf HQ is filled with people from Germany and mostly from Hamburg. People from Hamburg are not very open, they have their own inner circle of friends which is not easy to join. Is a cultural thing. In another words don’t expect to be frequently invited to go for a bier after work. Most of the people go - work - and leave. There is not that much socializing between colleagues outside of the office. Development normally come, but you will have to invest minimum 5+ year (best cases) in order to receive a promotion. Of course there are exceptions of some employees who has been promoted earlier, but due to a random factor (the team leader leave and he/she got the position). I mean is not a very dynamic company in terms of development. The mentality is rather conservative, and traditional. This could be good for some people and bad for another. I would say the average age of the employees is more like 35+ 45+ . So don't expect a young environment.

    Beiersdorf2017-02-08
  8. "German classics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Beiersdorf for less than a year

    Pros

    People oriented, technology use, strong hr

    Cons

    Very strict to Rules and not a global company but branches of a German cmopany

    Continue reading
    Beiersdorf2016-10-15
  9. Helpful (4)

    "A growing company with many changes every year."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technology Manager in Hamburg
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Beiersdorf full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good balance of work and life. Flexible working hours. Many young employees/trainees.

    Cons

    Not an international company, very few non-German employees. Some employees with permanent contract are not motivated after certain time, because he/she will never get fired.

    Continue reading
    Beiersdorf2015-09-15
  10. "Awesome experience with a great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Working Student in Hamburg
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Beiersdorf for less than a year

    Pros

    The work-life balance is great. Definitely fair pay! Great push to get employees aware of new products (always giving out samples with fun twists). Also - great / free lunch!

    Cons

    The company has changed its official language to "English" but - working there - you would never know it. Get to learn some German.

    Continue reading
    Beiersdorf2014-07-15
Found 11 reviews