Belcan Engineer II Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Belcan Engineer II Reviews

Updated Dec 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
92%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Belcan CEO Lance H. Kwasniewski
Lance H. Kwasniewski
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Working for Belcan is great. The company is very laid back and professional at the same time."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer II in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Belcan full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible work schedule. Basically work when you want.

    Cons

    Not much vacation time available, max 3 weeks no matter how long you work there. Not much holidays off. Just the standard 6 days. No overtime pay (time and a half), just straight time.

    Advice to Management

    Consider more holidays off. Also, the opportunity for more vacation time.

    Belcan2015-03-26
  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer II in Peoria, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Belcan full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very helpful in getting a step in the right direction.

    Cons

    Need a little more direction in where to go.

    Belcan2019-12-19
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good Early Career Company, High Turnover Rate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Engineer II 

    I have been working at Belcan full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company for early in your career to gain experience.

    Cons

    High turnover rate, sometimes makes it difficult to determine who the correct point of contact is for different things.

    Belcan2019-01-25
  4. Helpful (7)

    "A Good Place to Start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer-II in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Belcan full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The Belcan business model provides some degree of job security in a temporary contract-based industries. Projects start and end. If you go contract-based (by that I mean not working at Belcan) you'll likely get paid more. If you work for Belcan, you can be easily moved to projects based on need. This means that if you establish yourself as a good worker who can deliver, they'll be sure to keep you around which means you're not always looking for the next contract. You also get the typical 401k, etc. Your experience will depend heavily on your project, your manager, etc so it's hard to make blanket statements. For me, it was a good opportunity to get some experience after my undergrad and take a breather after being utterly burnt out from school. I worked hard, asked good questions, and made a contribution. My experience there was a springboard into grad school.

    Show More

    Cons

    It may not be the best long-term career path, but again, that will likely depend on the project you are on. The benefits when I was there were pretty standard, nothing to write home about, but enough to be grateful for. The 401k matching was below what you would expect, but I don't recall the details.

    Belcan2017-10-14
  5. "No growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer II in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Belcan full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Organized induction process and paperwork. Health benefits fine.

    Cons

    Other than annual appraisals and emails, no contact with the employer. No one seems to care. No growth. No raises. Low 401K.

    Belcan2017-10-19
  6. "Decent place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Engineer II in Cincinnati, OH

    I have been working at Belcan full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great place to work at

    Cons

    no grown potential due to company structure

    Advice to Management

    recognize employees for accomplishemnts

    Belcan2017-08-24
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Flexible schedule but poor pay and work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer II in Palm Beach Gardens, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Belcan full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The hours at Belcan are the best part. Benefits could be better, but aren't abysmal. Coworkers are generally nice and there is a team oriented atmosphere.

    Cons

    The pay is well below other companies. You turn off your brain to come to work. The company leadership is out of touch. You don't learn new or relevant skills to broaden your career prospects.

    Advice to Management

    Negotiate to raise rates so employees can actually be paid what they are worth. Commit to your decisions, as the constant waffling breeds anything but confidence in the company's future.

    Belcan2016-11-03
  8. "Great Stepping Stone Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Engineer II in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Belcan for more than a year

    Pros

    Flex time. Relaxed atmosphere. Friendly co-workers. Quick projects with plenty of options to switch groups and roles at any time. You can get experience in a lot of different areas if you play your cards right.

    Cons

    The work is hit or miss. A lot of the work is stuff other companies don't want to do, so they outsource to Belcan. No upward mobility. Not competitive pay. Bad benefits.

    Advice to Management

    Create a structured career path for employees.

    Belcan2015-08-11
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Decent starting place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer II in Mossville, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Belcan full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People, hours, flexibility, vacation. Nice home office. Paid overtime is always nice. Good benefits

    Cons

    Low compensation, slow progress if any, management pretty out of touch. Poor quality of coworkers.

    Belcan2015-06-22
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Low pay, good people, variety of project exposure."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer II 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Belcan full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great group of younger engineers. Fun, laid back work environment where people are still serious about getting their work done well. Somewhat flexible work schedule depending on what project you're on (can work four 10-hour days sometimes, long lunch, etc). Get to see many different projects so nothing gets too boring.

    Cons

    Low pay for Engineers, only 2 weeks of vacation per year for your first 6 years, only 6 holidays, OT is only straight time, Stuck in the EDP(Engineering Development Program) program for wayyyyy too long after being promised we'd be in it for ~3 months. Contract Engineering has it's ups and downs and Belcan is very dependent on Caterpillar. They don't put in much effort to keep their 1-4 year experienced engineers that have actual 4 year degrees.

    Show More
    Belcan2015-03-30
Found 11 reviews