Belcan Reviews

Updated May 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
58%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Belcan CEO Lance H. Kwasniewski
Lance H. Kwasniewski
111 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay, always micromanaged, no flexibility in schedule(in 18 reviews)

  • "No room to live up not training for employees(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great People"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Project Manager in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Belcan full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful Coworkers & Office Environment Ideas & Contribution are Highly Respected and Valued

    Cons

    Many job tasks did not match up with the description of the job opening. Very hard to advance within, as many of the requirements for upper level positions cannot be fulfilled while working within the company (i.e. experience in production facilities, purchasing, etc.). On call nearly 7 days a week.

    Belcan2020-05-05
  2. "Good company with nice people"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Windsor, CT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Belcan full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Management is very communicative and great to work with. They are committed to supporting/enabling their employees to be successful. Work/life balance could not be better.

    Cons

    Desk/computer ergonomics and office environment is are less than ideal and outdated.

    Continue reading
    Belcan2020-05-21
  3. "Great to gain experience and move to bigger and better options"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Engineer in West Palm Beach, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Belcan full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Belcan has a great atmosphere for helping you learn what you need to to support the customers it has for each job. Sometimes you’ll get thrown into a role - which will determine whether you’re a go getter or someone who needs to be handheld. There was a lot of flexibility in the hours you worked and how much you could work (if approved by your manager and the project could afford it). It was nice building a community of fellow employees there.

    Cons

    The projects start become pretty redundant often times doing the same tasks for different customers. Your knowledge starts to top off and there’s not much more that can be learned. I often felt that the direction they wanted to move towards as a project engineering discipline was not that of a technical project manager but more of a non technical project manager and that discouraged me from continuing at the company. Also the lack of growth or upward mobility.

    Continue reading
    Belcan2020-05-11
  4. "company review of the former employee"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Windsor, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Belcan full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    they allow to work flexible time, part time or full time

    Cons

    salary range is very low compare to other companies in the same industry. Benefits are bad.

    Continue reading
    Belcan2020-05-14
  5. "contract driven"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Computer Engineer in Shelton, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Belcan full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    a flexible schedule could work longer or shorter days depending on needs

    Cons

    not a good place to stay for the long term, entry-level engineers are not supported well to bring up to date on projects.

    Belcan2020-05-11
  6. "Great beginner job with flexible hours, but low long term growth outside of management."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Controls Engineer in West Palm Beach, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Belcan full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work right out of college with big name customers. It gives you the opportunity to become familiar with a few industry standard software tools. Your hours are also extremely flexible, which few employers could match, making it a great place to work while you pursue grad school.

    Cons

    As a software engineer, you may feel there is not much to learn as soon as you become familiar with the tools of your customer. You may also find that you are doing more documentation than actual coding, but documentation is a useful skill to develop anyway, so it's not the worst task to perform for your first engineering job.

    Belcan2020-04-11
  7. "Great business to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Belcan full-time

    Pros

    Warm family/team environment, people first culture, training opportunities, very competitive compensation and benefits for the industry. This business cares about their employees and me and all my team like working here.

    Cons

    Very dependent on customers for work... but what business isn't?

    Belcan2020-04-09
  8. "Supportive Manger"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Recruiter 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Belcan full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I spent two years with Belcan, the HR and Corporate Recruiting team were great to work with, we supported each other across locations, everyone I generally came in contact with were personable and trying to get things done. My direct manager was fair and once you proved yourself allowed you to get on with the job, but always available if you needed something. I enjoyed my time with the company

    Cons

    PTO could be improved, and the 401k

    Belcan2020-03-27
  9. "ehh"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Belcan full-time

    Pros

    got to choose your hours pretty flexibly but thats about it

    Cons

    training, environment, workload, technicality. always changing, no room for growth - subcontractors

    Belcan2020-04-08
  10. "Good company average benefits and pay"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manufacturing Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Belcan full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working hours Some on the job autonomy

    Cons

    Working as a contract employee

    Belcan2020-03-11
Found 440 reviews