Belcan Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Software Engineer

Create your profile to get personalized information

Belcan Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Jan 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
42%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
Belcan CEO Lance H. Kwasniewski
Lance H. Kwasniewski
4 Ratings
  1. "Relaxed Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Belcan full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Hours Great coworkers Relaxed local management

    Cons

    Upper management (satellite offices) Deadtime Work can be pretty boring

    Belcan2019-08-03
  2. "Easy In, Easy Out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Wilmington, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Belcan full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Very easy and quick to get hired - Generally the people there are very kind and helpful

    Cons

    - Lots of turnover and job churn - The above makes it easy to suddenly lose your point of contact, forcing you to figure it out - They typically only offer contract jobs, with a pay cut due to recruitment fees

    Advice to Management

    Make sure that you notify your employees before they lose their point of contact, and investigate why so many of your employees are leaving.

    Belcan2020-01-15
  3. "Relaxed but nothing special"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Riviera Beach, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Belcan full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The flexible work hours m

    Cons

    Non competitive pay, mediocre benefits

    Belcan2019-11-01
  4. "First step into a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Control Engineer in West Palm Beach, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Belcan full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours and improve Simulink skills.

    Cons

    You will not learn much. Just to fill your resume with relevant experience

    Advice to Management

    You need to invest in training your employees and not treat them like hamsters on wheels. Even employees that had been there for over 5 years don't know how to perform the tasks 100 percent.

    Belcan2019-11-05
  5. "Solid company Good Job Security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in West Palm Beach, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Belcan full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    * Flexible hours and great coworkers * WPB office is new and above average work environment * Generally lower stress work with occasional technical challenges *decent benefits *good company spirit *great first job

    Cons

    *lower than average salaries * little upward advancement opportunities *lower than average opportunities for skill development

    Advice to Management

    *find a way to improve retention of highly skilled workers * initiate profit sharing with high performers

    Belcan2019-05-30
  6. "A Laid Back , Average Start to Someone's Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Verification Engineer in Windsor, CT
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Belcan full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -laid back environment -easy work -friendly co workers -work life balance is insanely good

    Cons

    -work environment can be a little too laid back -pay (fair for the type of work you do but for someone looking for hire pay and extensive amount of work, this might not be the place) -career progression

    Advice to Management

    make sure to treat the people that work hard well.

    Belcan2019-01-24
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Greedy corporate culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Rockford, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Belcan full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Only real advantage of working for belcan is that you don't actually work for belcan. They'll set you up on benefits and do some initial training that isn't job-specific. After that you basically work for the customer they assign you to.

    Cons

    100% markup on what you make. Once I found out that corporate was charging twice my hourly rate to the customer I decided to look elsewhere for employment. Corporate sends out these initiatives claiming that they are people first but when you are essentially charging double what I make for my time you are obviously not putting your people first. Corporate is also really pushing for everybody to work at the new belcan facility which is off site from their main customer in Rockford. This is so they can charge more for the time each employee bills to the customer. The facility that they are attempting to get everybody to move into is very subpar. There are major AC and heating issues. I myself have never worked at the belcan location but from what I've heard HR and the site lead have been made aware of the facility issue several times. Another major issue I had with belcan was the lack of Employee Engagement. Their idea of Employee Engagement is sending out emails about ridiculous days like yo-yo day and such. But there was never any initiative to bring us together as a team. I would avoid Rockford belcan at all costs. Aside from their ridiculous and greedy 100% markup on their employees they are not growing and are losing contracts left and right to other Contracting firms that are more willing to provide higher wages and better working conditions. They will attempt to entice new grads to work for them by saying it's a good a good way to learn new skills but when your place with the customer you will essentially be doing the work of an intern with no hope of advancing your career in any way.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire a site lead with actual technical expertise or someone who is actually build to the customer in the past.

    Belcan2018-07-09
  8. "I like the laid back flexible environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Software Engineer in Rockford, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Belcan full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible environment that offers full benefits and increased job security, moving you to another contract when work slows down if possible.

    Cons

    Not challenging. Most, if not all, of the people that work here could do their jobs with their eyes closed.

    Advice to Management

    Push to get more challenging contests and diversify your clients

    Belcan2018-01-22
  9. Helpful (7)

    "A Good Place to Start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer-II in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Belcan full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The Belcan business model provides some degree of job security in a temporary contract-based industries. Projects start and end. If you go contract-based (by that I mean not working at Belcan) you'll likely get paid more. If you work for Belcan, you can be easily moved to projects based on need. This means that if you establish yourself as a good worker who can deliver, they'll be sure to keep you around which means you're not always looking for the next contract. You also get the typical 401k, etc. Your experience will depend heavily on your project, your manager, etc so it's hard to make blanket statements. For me, it was a good opportunity to get some experience after my undergrad and take a breather after being utterly burnt out from school. I worked hard, asked good questions, and made a contribution. My experience there was a springboard into grad school.

    Show More

    Cons

    It may not be the best long-term career path, but again, that will likely depend on the project you are on. The benefits when I was there were pretty standard, nothing to write home about, but enough to be grateful for. The 401k matching was below what you would expect, but I don't recall the details.

    Belcan2017-10-14
  10. "Good Place if you need money quick"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Belcan

    Pros

    HR was very on the ball with helping me through every question I had. Very nice people to interact with

    Cons

    401k match is very low Not alot of paid holidays When your contract is up/gets cut, they throw you to the ground.

    Belcan2017-06-20
Found 17 reviews