Belcan "low pay" Reviews | Glassdoor

Belcan Reviews

Updated Jan 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
57%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Belcan CEO Lance H. Kwasniewski
Lance H. Kwasniewski
116 Ratings
  1. "Belcan Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Belcan

    Pros

    Interesting work, nice work environment, close knit of workers, holidays are paid for.

    Cons

    Starting off at low pay.

    Belcan2015-11-10
  2. "Ok for first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Belcan

    Pros

    Flexible hours, low stress job, constant work

    Cons

    low pay, no way to move up without time

    Belcan2015-10-02
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great training ground.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Belcan

    Pros

    Great people, good benefits, reasonable hours

    Cons

    Low pay, stays LOW.. even after proving you are worth much more..

    Belcan2015-06-16
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Low pay, good people, variety of project exposure."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer II 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Belcan full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great group of younger engineers. Fun, laid back work environment where people are still serious about getting their work done well. Somewhat flexible work schedule depending on what project you're on (can work four 10-hour days sometimes, long lunch, etc). Get to see many different projects so nothing gets too boring.

    Cons

    Low pay for Engineers, only 2 weeks of vacation per year for your first 6 years, only 6 holidays, OT is only straight time, Stuck in the EDP(Engineering Development Program) program for wayyyyy too long after being promised we'd be in it for ~3 months. Contract Engineering has it's ups and downs and Belcan is very dependent on Caterpillar. They don't put in much effort to keep their 1-4 year experienced engineers that have actual 4 year degrees.

    Show More
    Belcan2015-03-30
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Typical job shop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Support in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Belcan full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company structure, benefits sometimes available, good people. If they have a contract where you fit in, you could be placed.

    Cons

    Little support from management, low pay, Hours worked with profit taken off top of your rate vs theirs. Little emphasis convincing customer to improve processes.

    Advice to Management

    Develop experts at helping the customer improve their broken processes

    Belcan2014-11-03
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Never had any good experience with this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Belcan

    Pros

    None that I can think of

    Cons

    For some reason this agency attracts companies that treat their employees like crap. Low pay, short contracts.

    Advice to Management

    Respect your workers more and work with companies that respect their workers. Paying your workers less that what they made 15 years ago and asking them to work 3 times harder...not a good company strategy.

    Belcan2013-09-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Under paid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Belcan

    Pros

    The co-workers were great. Benefits were pretty good.

    Cons

    Low pay. Upper management needs to care more about their employees.

    Belcan2013-03-06
  8. "ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Belcan

    Pros

    only way to get foot into door of well established employers

    Cons

    temporary agency with low pay

    Belcan2011-06-24
Found 18 reviews