Belk Reviews

Updated May 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
46%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Belk CEO Lisa Harper
Lisa Harper
459 Ratings
Pros
  • "The employee discount is generous(in 219 reviews)

  • "Great coworkers, associate double discount days were nice(in 78 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The worst part is the desperate pushing to get credit card applications(in 95 reviews)

  • "Long hours during holidays and store can be overwhelming with stock coming in(in 83 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Belk and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Cool

      Apr 12, 2021 - Sales Associate/Cashier 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Belk is a Laid back store

      Cons

      Bad management, scheduling, and conflicting demands

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Company

      May 6, 2021 - Store Manager in Waco, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company values people and performance

      Cons

      Their isn’t any cons that are specific to the company

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      College Work

      Apr 6, 2021 - Order Fullfilment Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I loved the people I worked, and t he actual job itself was really good for me.

      Cons

      I did not like the required holiday hours or the pressure from the management to meet our goals. I am well aware that meeting goals is necessary, but we were threatened with unemployment if we did not stay much later than we could if we did not meet our goals

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Decent pay, but poorly managed from a corporate level

      Apr 12, 2021 - Sales Team Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent pay if you're management or fulltime, benefits including 401k, plenty of opportunities for advancement, inclusive work environment

      Cons

      Never enough payroll so never enough hands on deck, maxed out inventory that's difficult to merchandise, online order fulfillment a nightmare to keep up with, if you're a salaried manager you'll make good money but it's based on 40 hour work weeks and good luck working less than 50 to 60

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Awesome place to work

      May 3, 2021 - Retail Merchandiser in Hueytown, AL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great learning experience to prepare me for the next level

      Cons

      Extra work time leading up to holidays

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Not too good.

      May 1, 2021 - Housekeeper in Cookeville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Workmates and managers are nice and easy to work with.

      Cons

      Customers and Corporate are unreasonable in their demands.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Was good while it lasted

      Apr 13, 2021 - Assistant Buyer in Charlotte, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Corporate was fun, when it was good, it was awesome. The updates to the buildings were nice. When you were part of a good team, work life balance was decent.

      Cons

      Pulling a lot of reports that upper management appreciates minimally. Everyone did what upper management asks even though they don’t agree with it. Lots of unnecessary tasks that didn’t drive the business enough. Advancement if you put the work in but really if the right manager likes you enough. Salary does not align with tenure, doesn’t matter how long you been there. Raises were a joke.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Was good back in the day

      May 7, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Charlotte, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      discount, sample sales, charity work

      Cons

      Was good until the Belk boys left. After this totally unstable with no one knowing what they are doing. Unfortunately with Covid they let go of people they shouldn't have and kept those that should have been let go.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Trypical retail job

      Apr 29, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Charlotte, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It was good for the discount and I loved my clients. Most of them became like family.

      Cons

      No real growth. Stayed with them for about 8 years with no hope of promotion.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Coworkers and commission make this a great job

      May 1, 2021 - Shoe Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Commission for shoe sales, friendly coworkers

      Cons

      Inconsistent hours and managers play favorites

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 2,449 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with Belk Job Seekers

    Sales Team Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Belk? Share Your Experiences

    or