Belk Reviews | Glassdoor

Belk Reviews

Updated Jun 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1834 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
34%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
Belk CEO Lisa Harper
Lisa Harper
267 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Only cares about credit card applications(in 80 reviews)

  • "Long hours, pressure to sell their credit card(in 71 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Financial analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Charlotte, NC

      I have been working at Belk

      Pros

      Very good company great place

      Cons

      Words words words words fifthword

      Belk2018-09-11
    • "Assistant Buyer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Assistant Buyer in Charlotte, NC

      I worked at Belk full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Sufficient pay and benefits, team atmosphere, range of responsibilities

      Cons

      Lack of training and support

      Belk2019-06-17
    • "People are great but management could be better at listening to the employees suggestions."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Associate in Ball Ground, GA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Belk part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Good pay, great people usually and double discount days.

      Cons

      Customers can often be difficult, schedules often aren’t the most efficient and having to close or take over departments you weren’t trained in.

      Advice to Management

      Listen to employees and figure out why so many people are leaving. Give your employees what they need so they can efficiently do what you need them to.

      Belk2019-06-12
    • "Allocation Analyst"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Allocation Analyst in Charlotte, NC
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Belk full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I actually liked the culture, but the career progression was unclear/slow and I did not feel rewarded for my hard work in terms of promotions. The role was not what I was expecting (in a bad way) BUT my overall experience was still positive and I miss my coworkers. It was a bittersweet decision when I decided to move on to a different company.

      Cons

      Very shady bonus structure/did not feel I was fairly compensated for work

      Advice to Management

      Fix your bonus structure! Promote people who go above and beyond!

      Belk2019-06-13
    • Helpful (1)

      "Not a bad job."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Clinique Consultant 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Belk full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Gratis, commission,easily built PTO time.

      Cons

      Full time minimum hours 30 hours a week

      Belk2019-06-09
    • "I like what I do but..."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Merchandise Coordinator 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Belk full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Friendly co workers. Fun atmosphere.

      Cons

      employee morale very low. high turnover rate

      Advice to Management

      dont pick favorites and treat everyone the same. actually confront a problem and fix it instead of sweeping it under the rug

      Belk2019-06-10
    • "Belk"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Clinique Counter Manager 

      I have been working at Belk full-time

      Pros

      Good company. Great coworkers.

      Cons

      No consistency in scheduling. Full time employees forced to work 6 hour shifts with no break.

      Belk2019-05-31
    • "No work life balance"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Store Manager 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Belk full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      great pay and benefit time

      Cons

      no work life balance at all

      Advice to Management

      care about your people

      Belk2019-05-25
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great company. Very low hours"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Cosmetics Sales Associate in Pineville, NC
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Belk part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Upper management is kind and easy to get along with

      Cons

      Low amount of hours. It was unclear in the interview that my hours would sometimes be 15 per week and sometimes 4. During the interview I explained I needed at least an average of 15-20

      Advice to Management

      Understand employees have bills to pay and need you to fight for hours. It is understandable to cut some hours but cutting down to 4 -7 hours per week is not ideal in the slightest. My rent went on a credit card.

      Belk2019-05-19
    • "Nice people, but"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Operations Team Member in Brunswick, GA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook

        I worked at Belk full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Everyone really nice to work with, great discounts

        Cons

        Way too low pay scale for the massive amount of work given. Never know when department cut will happen, or shift change without notice

        Advice to Management

        Pay scale way to low for the amount of work, look at pay scale of Target and Walmart

        Belk2019-06-03
      Found 1834 reviews