Belkin Reviews

Updated Apr 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
54%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Belkin President & CEO Chet Pipkin
Chet Pipkin
134 Ratings
Pros
  • "The work environment is modern and there's plenty of workspace for their employees(in 17 reviews)

  • "Great location, great people, lunch(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "Plenty of work and long hours, but no recognition or advancement(in 13 reviews)

  • "Upper management with little experience(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Challenging but allows you to chart your own career path"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Belkin full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Entrepreneurial, fast paced, collegial, global opportunities, constantly changing, great for self-starters

    Cons

    Constantly changing, can be hard to get things done because of lack of formal processes, high expectations of business and individual performance may not be a good fit for a lot of people

    Belkin2019-07-08
  2. Helpful (2)

    "It's a living"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Belkin full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Really nice people in a beautiful setting. Good cafeteria.

    Cons

    If cables and chargers etc. are your passion, then I'm sure there will some level of fulfillment here and you may even thrive and be happy. Or, if you've only been here a short while (many of the positive reviews seem be written by short-timers). If you come from product manufacturing or Sales-run companies then you'll likely be fine with the culture. However if you come from tech companies or god forbid Fortune 500 companies or even worse, have a strong academic background, you may feel like a fish out of water. Despite many wonderful, bright employees with the best of intentions, this is the most highly dysfunctional work environment I've ever experienced. The drama, gossip, egos, hubris, politics, and lack of stability makes for a totally thankless place to work.

    Belkin2020-04-07
  3. "Chaotic at times but Stellar place to work otherwise"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Playa Vista, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Belkin full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great Staff, very friendly and helpful - Good Hours, Promotes good Work/Life Balance - Good Location and Office Space - On site cafe

    Cons

    - Teams seem a bit separated for Communication purposes

    Continue reading
    Belkin2019-11-25
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible management"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Global Sourcing Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Belkin full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Discount on products. Nice cafe

    Cons

    Upper management with little experience . too political

    Belkin2019-12-10
  5. "Large company ownership, small company management style"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Engineering Manager in Playa Vista, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Belkin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule, great coworkers, nice park across the street

    Cons

    benefits are a little light compared to other companies

    Belkin2019-08-29
  6. "Good company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Manager in Playa Vista, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Belkin full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people there are great to work with.

    Cons

    Cannot think of any thing

    Belkin2019-08-21
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Uncertain Future"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brand Ambassador Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Belkin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love the people that I work with and report to. Very casual corporate culture.

    Cons

    With new foreign ownership the direction of the company is uncertain. Communication between teams is minimal and not well structured. Currently still experiencing some transition pains from acquisition.

    Belkin2019-08-04
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Run away"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Playa Vista, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Belkin full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I'm a lot smarter after working in trenches. I also have a stronger BS detector.

    Cons

    The disorganization and lack of leadership forces you to learn and try to make decisions with your best ability. Even though you seek guidance from upper management and they offer very little, don’t be surprised if someone higher up reprimands you for it at the 11th hour. Honestly, this place gave me paranoia and PTSD. My manager had no guts to make decisions - probably because he/she was reprimanded too often. Belkin is filled with people who shouldn’t be managers. My manager always reassured me that I was doing good and in my end of year review did my boss bring up issues that happened a few months ago which I find rude because we could’ve resolved the issue months sooner if he/she spoke up. My manager insulted me, compared me to others and called me immature (when I asked simple questions or asked a simple “why” when I was curious about the thought process around decisions). As a manager, he/she is supposed to lead and provide guidance. Even after 3+ years working 60+ hours a week whenever needed, she only gave me recognition once. It’s funny how much my manager changed once global teams started giving me kudos with multiple public launches. Low salary. This brings me back to my offer letter. I signed it despite the fact that the salary was very low. The recruiter promised this is the best they could do and I could bring it up at my review and negotiate a raise. This was a lie so don’t buy it. I never got a raise with over 3+ years of service. They give you a few cents every year for high living cost but never gave me anything else despite meeting all my goals as there’s always an excuse. My manager found it worthwhile to say the end of my review, “At least you get a bonus this year though. I’m proud to announce that you will receive $357 dollars as a yearly bonus. Chet would like to thank you for all your good work.” My jaw dropped because I know of other departments bonusing out $10K on average. I knew of one guy that got bonused out at $50k too. Being at Belkin made me a snake and I was asked to do deceitful, dishonest and rude things to others. I would leave the meeting room and already knew people were talking behind my back since my manager would come to talk to me right away and criticize my meetings. I trusted no one, especially not my manager or HR. To this day, I have issues in my current workplace with speaking openly and honestly which they welcome whole-heartedly. Now that I’m in a healthy team that isn’t vindictive and toxic, I’ve come to appreciate all the good things in my life now and I’m so much happier.

    Continue reading
    Belkin2019-08-28
  9. "Sales Leader"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director Sales in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Belkin full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Southern Cal beach Head Quarters

    Cons

    Product is commoditized, and now there is new ownership

    Continue reading
    Belkin2019-05-20
  10. "Great company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Belkin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Equitable compensation Good benefits Great people Fun work environment Nice offices, kitchens, etc.

    Cons

    Some managers are better than others.

    Belkin2019-05-17
Found 226 reviews