Bellevue College Reviews | Glassdoor

Bellevue College Reviews

Updated Oct 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Bellevue College CEO Jerry Weber
Jerry Weber
7 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low Compensations & Benefit, especially for a part-time(in 8 reviews)

  • "Hours changed quarter to quarter, low pay, because of state funding, not a secure career path(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place to work and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk Coordinator 

    I worked at Bellevue College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great management and facility. As a part-time, you could learn many things from different aspects. Diversity and friendly environment.

    Cons

    Low Compensations & Benefit, especially for a part-time

    Bellevue College2019-09-26
  2. "Good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Adjunct Professor in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bellevue College part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very good place to work at. Colleagues are very helpful and friendly. Students are responsible

    Cons

    The pay! Longer contract hours for a better pay may not always be available to adjuncts.

    Bellevue College2019-10-19
  3. "Good job, Low mobility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bookstore Cashier 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bellevue College part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great while you are in school

    Cons

    not alot of mobility to move up

    Bellevue College2019-10-14
  4. "Great place to work while in school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advising Assistant in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bellevue College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Would strongly recommend as a part time if you're still in school

    Cons

    Nothing that comes to mind

    Bellevue College2019-09-17
  5. "Good part-time opportunities for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Academic Tutor 

    I worked at Bellevue College part-time

    Pros

    - ASC always has tutoring positions openings. - help review the stuffs you have learned before - flexible schedule

    Cons

    could not think of any at this moment

    Bellevue College2019-09-16
  6. "Pros & Cons of a scribe"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scribe in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bellevue College part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Rewarding work with disabled students, schedule can be flexible, educational

    Cons

    No-show students, low pay, limited opportunities

    Bellevue College2019-08-11
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Yep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Campus Safety in Bellevue, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bellevue College full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some good people to work with others not so ok.

    Cons

    Ok not so ok good old boy network at its finest..

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees.

    Bellevue College2019-05-20
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great people, horrible leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Access Coordinator in Bellevue, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bellevue College full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Benefits package, access to fitness gym and personal trainer.

    Cons

    Staff salaries are not competitive and many need to get assistance to male ends meet , many departments are running understaffed long term thus staff .

    Advice to Management

    Keep clearing the department silos; salaries need to be competitive so staff can make a living wage; HR is problematic, there is no onboarding for new hires, no exit interviews for employees that are leaving.

    Bellevue College2019-03-29
  9. "Education"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bellevue College full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Have a lot of science classes

    Cons

    Some classes doesn't have good instructors.

    Advice to Management

    For computer science classes, it needs to have more projects during class

    Bellevue College2019-02-21
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Rent-a-Cop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Public Safety Officer in Bellevue, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bellevue College part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It paid. The people there were great.

    Cons

    I just did not enjoy the job. Going in I expected campus security that walked the campus and checked doors and such. I guess I was surprised by the wanna be law enforcement outfits. Head supervisors wear badges on their belts like they are detectives for actual Police (minus a firearm). You are given uniform, with a utility belt, radio holder, belt keepers, pants, hat, badge, you could even wear an ear piece and I... was offered a bulletproof vest (i chuckled). The whole time im thinking wow this is a little too far. I then worked a full shift which was doing fire checks every like half hour, walking around the campus pulling on doors, and trying to make my presence "known". I guess I also do not understand security if you can not go hands on. Basically you're to just stand by if something real nasty happens and radio into "dispatch" to call the real police. I guess I did not stay around long enough to find out.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Lose the rent-a-cop, tactical get up. You're not real Law Enforcement like University of Washington police. So toss the badges away, I feel like a position like this should be black t shirts with the word security on the back, maybe a flash light (when doing lock door checks in dark buildings), and carrying a small radio. It feels awkward to just walk around and point people in the direction of things, and tell... people where they can and can not smoke but from a distance you look like an actual Police Officer. If you want the look, then hire people with LE certification. I figured some 50 year old vet would love to step down from patrol work and just cover Bellevue College for a full time easy job.

    Show More
    Bellevue College2019-03-21
Found 118 reviews