Belmont University Reviews | Glassdoor

Belmont University Reviews

Updated Aug 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 52 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
93%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Belmont University CEO Robert C. Fisher
Robert C. Fisher
10 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "I came here partially because of the Christian environment(in 3 reviews)

  • "Minimum Wage, Not much schedule flexibility(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Such a great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Belmont University full-time

    Pros

    I cant really say enough good things about Belmont and its faculty, staff and administration!

    Cons

    There used to be some, but most problems have been fixed. I would urge administration to continue its efforts to hire a more diverse faculty.

    Advice to Management

    Stagger class times as faculty are moving further and further away because of inability to afford any housing within a decent distance from campus.

    Belmont University2019-08-23
  2. "Great Place to Work - Need More Talent, Though"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Adjunct Lecturer in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Belmont University part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great environment, friendly students, caring people. They really try hard to give you the resources you need to teach.

    Cons

    The University needs more talented Professors. Adjuncts are still not treated with respect, although they are working on it.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to stress to departments that adjuncts need to be treated better, or monitor their hiring of professors, to make sure they get the best talent.

    Belmont University2019-08-21
  3. "VP of Admin & Counsel; Pretty cool"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Student Worker 

    I worked at Belmont University part-time

    Pros

    Very nice people

    Cons

    N/A.

    Belmont University2019-05-11
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Wonderful place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Belmont University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People, people people! Some of the best folks I've ever worked with. Great benefits, time off, flexibility. Meaningful work.

    Cons

    Belmont is a lean organization, so you'll be doing the work of at least two or three people. But they make up for it by hiring solid, dedicated workers. I came here partially because of the Christian environment. The school has drifted pretty far from its conservative Baptist roots. Still a great environment with lots of diversity, but not what it used to be.

    Belmont University2019-03-18
  5. "Very good to me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Adjunct Professor in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Belmont University part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A great institution with very talented faculty.

    Cons

    It’s tough to get from adjunct to full time.

    Belmont University2019-01-02
  6. "Library Assistany"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Belmont University

    Pros

    Flexible hours and great bosses.

    Cons

    I can’t think of any drawbacks

    Belmont University2018-10-25
  7. "Few people should be Resident Assistants"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Resident Assistant in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Belmont University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is a great way to get your housing paid for while also learning a great deal about yourself and others. You get out what you put into the job.

    Cons

    It would be nice to have board paid for, but beggars cant be choosers here.

    Belmont University2018-10-16
  8. "Fitness assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Belmont University part-time

    Pros

    Good people to work with, easy to balance with classes

    Cons

    Probably just consider paying more

    Advice to Management

    Stop giving so much power to GA’s, they are underqualified and make working pretty unpleasant because of that. The power gets to their heads more often then not.

    Belmont University2018-06-05
  9. "None"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Belmont University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Just great people to be around

    Cons

    none really. I've really enjoyed my time there

    Advice to Management

    None

    Belmont University2018-04-03
  10. "Great atmosphere, very family oriented"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Belmont University full-time

    Pros

    The faculty and staff are a dream to work with.

    Cons

    I can't think of any

    Belmont University2018-01-30
Found 52 reviews