Belmont University Reviews | Glassdoor

Belmont University Reviews

Updated May 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 50 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
91%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Belmont University CEO Robert C. Fisher
Robert C. Fisher
8 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Belmont University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very, very slow times. I could have worked another full time job along with mine. Pay was an increase from my previous jobs Nice coworkers and managers, directors, etc. Highly organized and efficient office Beautiful campus Good benefits and 403b matching

    Cons

    Can be very, wry slow at times and no ability to do anything to pass time. I could have performed two peoples jobs.

    Advice to Management

    Equally assign tasks and job titles. You have maybe 1-2 doing a high volume of work and 10+ people doing less than.

    Belmont University2017-10-23
  2. "Nice environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Computer Lab Assistant in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Belmont University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Professional people, atmosphere, and good team work. Pay was average, but it greatly depends on the position you occupy.

    Cons

    No cons from my perspective , my managers and coworkers were very supportive.

    Advice to Management

    I advise management to take into accout new ideas and opinions proposed and given.

    Belmont University2017-10-20
  3. "Professor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tennessee in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Belmont University full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great place to work and beautiful grounds

    Cons

    Not a big research institution

    Belmont University2017-09-14
  4. Helpful (1)

    "tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Belmont University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Generous time off benefits paid education good area flexible schedule

    Cons

    toxic work environment low pay poor senior managment

    Belmont University2017-08-29
  5. "NA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Belmont University

    Pros

    Helping students and families.

    Cons

    Wearing many hats to achieve the goals.

    Belmont University2017-05-31
  6. "Student Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Belmont University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great friendly staff that really cares for student body.

    Cons

    The pay could have been better.

    Belmont University2017-05-03
  7. "Meh."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Belmont University

    Pros

    I love the faculty and students. They are all wonderful and engaged.

    Cons

    They didn't pay me for 3 months because they made a mistake. BU administration was as unhelpful as they could have been. They did not care at all that I was paying rent and utilities from a credit card. I found them utterly disrespectful.

    Advice to Management

    Don't punish employees for your own mistakes and don't be so stingy and rude.

    Belmont University2017-04-18
  8. "Staff Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Engineer in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Belmont University for more than a year

    Pros

    Ability to get into studios during off hours and stay later

    Cons

    Long hours and majority of pay is under 10

    Belmont University2017-02-12
  9. "Great Work Study Position for Part time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Belmont University part-time

    Pros

    Great Work Study Position for Part time

    Cons

    None to mention at the moment

    Belmont University2017-01-04
  10. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Belmont University full-time

    Pros

    Residence Life department is phenomenal. Family feel, professional development opportunities, a lot of flexibility. Tons of support from coworkers and supervisors.

    Cons

    On-call is very intense, busy. Senior management of university is disconnected from reality.

    Advice to Management

    Be more aware of the work-life challenges of Residence Directors. Pay them what they are worth for their time.

    Belmont University2016-12-19
Found 50 reviews