Benaroya Research Institute At Virginia Mason Reviews | Glassdoor

Benaroya Research Institute At Virginia Mason Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 24 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
Margaret McCormick
0 Ratings
  1. "I love my job here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Tech III in Seattle, WA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Benaroya Research Institute At Virginia Mason part-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    I get to collaborate with some of the friendliest, smartest, most talented people in the world of science!

    Cons

    I will miss working here terribly... I retire in a few days.

    Benaroya Research Institute At Virginia Mason2019-04-24
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benaroya Research Institute At Virginia Mason full-time

    Pros

    People are nice and it really feels like a team.

    Cons

    Low salary comparing to other places but great benefits.

    Benaroya Research Institute At Virginia Mason2019-01-15
  3. "Great benefits and clinical research"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benaroya Research Institute At Virginia Mason full-time

    Pros

    Employee benefits and clinical research opportunities. Strong research staff of immunologists.

    Cons

    Nothing glaring. A bit small and insulated in some ways, though collaborations possible with many Seattle institutes/universities.

    Benaroya Research Institute At Virginia Mason2018-10-23
  4. "postdoctoral researcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Benaroya Research Institute At Virginia Mason full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    decent benefits, work load highly dependent on lab

    Cons

    poor maternity leave and older building

    Benaroya Research Institute At Virginia Mason2017-09-29
  5. "staff scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Benaroya Research Institute At Virginia Mason full-time

    Pros

    good health care plan and free public transit

    Cons

    career opportunities are very rare

    Benaroya Research Institute At Virginia Mason2017-09-19
  6. "Great environment for working."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Research Coordinator in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Benaroya Research Institute At Virginia Mason full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Friendly, supportive work environment that is working towards an important cause.

    Cons

    Non-profit meaning the pay is not stellar.

    Benaroya Research Institute At Virginia Mason2017-05-26
  7. "BRI at VM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Benaroya Research Institute At Virginia Mason full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great, medium-size organization. Top-notch immunology research, including many auto-immune diseases.

    Cons

    Only gripe is that Benaroya employees (who are affiliates of Virginia Mason Hospital) don't get a 15% discount at the Virginia Mason cafeteria.

    Benaroya Research Institute At Virginia Mason2017-03-28
  8. "Great projects, meaningful interactions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Benaroya Research Institute At Virginia Mason full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great co-workers and meaningful mission

    Cons

    most employees eat lunch at desks

    Benaroya Research Institute At Virginia Mason2016-10-02
  9. "Great start for IT!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at Benaroya Research Institute At Virginia Mason full-time

    Pros

    They really support you! They pay for schooling and they make sure you aren't overwhelmed.

    Cons

    Helpdesk can get caught between users and IT sometimes.

    Benaroya Research Institute At Virginia Mason2016-07-12
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Fellow 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Benaroya Research Institute At Virginia Mason full-time

    Pros

    Friendly, collaborative environment where scientists genuinely care about making progress toward helping people with immune-mediated disease. Collaborations internally between labs and externally between other institutes, universities, and biotechs. Excellent funding environment.

    Cons

    Too many exciting projects to work on. Not very many good lunch restaurants nearby. Near downtown, so commute traffic is bad, but easy access to public transport.

    Advice to Management

    Would love to see more research on the microbiome and a bigger systems immunology department. Seminar series, journal clubs, and invited speakers are great- keep up the good work.

    Benaroya Research Institute At Virginia Mason2016-06-14
Found 24 reviews