Benchmade Knife Company Reviews | Glassdoor

Benchmade Knife Company Reviews

Updated Feb 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Metal Finisher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Benchmade Knife Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lost of potential and great benefits

    Cons

    Some overtime and long work days

    Benchmade Knife Company2019-02-08
  2. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Benchmade Knife Company full-time

    Pros

    They make a great product with a great warranty. They are growing and know how to keep growing

    Cons

    A lot of lower management positions are filled by outside, young, inexperienced hires.

    Benchmade Knife Company2018-06-28
  3. "Standard manufacturer with cool product"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Benchmade Knife Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Innovation is embraced, family owned, growth ensures job stability

    Cons

    Mandatory overtime, basic benefits, innovation not applied to how employees are seen or talent applied,

    Continue reading
    Benchmade Knife Company2018-06-21
  4. "They don't care about employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Benchmade Knife Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They have good free coffee

    Cons

    They are known for firing a bunch of people in October so they don't have to pay profit sharing. They continually work people on overtime with no plan to resolve the issues. If you complain about anything you are fired. New employees are not made to feel welcomed. Temps are treated horribly. Management doesn't care and does not want to hear if workers are being sexually harassed. They also lie about benefits. They only reimburse for schooling if they want you to take a class and you have to get permission from a manager.

    Continue reading
    Benchmade Knife Company2018-05-15
  5. "Best of the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Benchmade Knife Company full-time

    Pros

    High quality, competent, and passionate people. Excellent management.

    Cons

    None at this time. Great company.

    Benchmade Knife Company2018-02-07
  6. "Great Family Owned Business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Benchmade Knife Company full-time

    Pros

    Benchmade is very adamant about how important the company culture is and prides itself on feeling like a family. However, the turnover rate and longevity in a few of the key positions does not support this. They offer great benefits, that are commonly only seen with family owned businesses, and are constantly striving for improvement.

    Cons

    There is a hierarchy throughout the company that does not allow for an open door policy. While they are striving to improve processes and encourage growth of it's employee often times I found my ideas to be placed on the back burner as there were always more important goals to be accomplished throughout the company. A change in process could take years depending on the backing from key people within the company. They appreciate fresh ideas but rarely take them and often take offense to those who "go against the gran".

    Benchmade Knife Company2018-02-08
  7. "Open, honest and integrity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oregon City, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Benchmade Knife Company full-time

    Pros

    I haven't been with Benchmade for very long but I have to applaud the Leadership team and management for their honest and openness about where the company is headed and some of the challenges that we are facing. It's refreshing to be treated as a competent adult rather than a child from a company that you work for.

    Cons

    Sometimes pretty significant changes are made and that information is shared in a timely manner with the entire company.

    Continue reading
    Benchmade Knife Company2018-01-18
  8. "The company is not as it seems."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Benchmade Knife Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There were passionate people who really care. Benefits, perks.

    Cons

    Company has been struggling year after year with meeting deadlines, on time delivery and quality is visibly suffering. Leadership team has become arrogant and does not lead by example. HR team is openly communicating confidential health, personal and salary info about other employees.

    Continue reading
    Benchmade Knife Company2018-02-20
  9. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Associate in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Benchmade Knife Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management was nice and pay was good

    Cons

    None, they were very good to work for

    Continue reading
    Benchmade Knife Company2017-09-06
  10. "Great product, but with that said it is difficult to move up in the company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oregon City, OR
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Benchmade Knife Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits..... Which include product discounts and 401K

    Cons

    Lower management is very short sighted.

    Benchmade Knife Company2017-09-11
Found 18 reviews