Benchmark Education Reviews | Glassdoor

Benchmark Education Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 88 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Tom Reycraft
52 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free lunch once a month but you can't just go get it you are called by sections as if you were in middle school with ugly trays(in 11 reviews)

  • "Truly a leader in educational publishing from ownership, down to sales(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper Management is always screaming and belittling their hardworking employees(in 9 reviews)

  • "But they have so much turnover even in human resources so maybe that is part of the reason(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Career building experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Accounting/Sales 
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Benchmark Education full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      I worked at Benchmark for almost 8 years. I started as an intern, worked in the accounting department for 2 years, and worked in sales analysis for 4 years after that. The effort you put into your job at this company will likely correlate with your relationship with management. The harder you work, the better off you’ll be here. As almost any company operates, there will be different managers depending on which department...

      Show More

      Cons

      It’s a fast-growing company, a lot of change happening, but on a positive trajectory. This may impact who you’re working with on short notice.

      Benchmark Education2019-05-10
    • Helpful (5)

      "Great People, Awful Leadership"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Editorial Assistant in New Rochelle, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Benchmark Education full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Excellent colleagues, learned a lot through hands-on experience

      Cons

      Leadership is fractured, uneven, quick to anger/outbursts. Turnover was extremely high, weekly shouting matches in office, etc...

      Advice to Management

      Hire a competent team of project managers to shepherd projects, don't through interns/assistants into the fire and then unceremoniously dismiss them when they make a mistake now and then

      Benchmark Education2019-02-27
    • Helpful (4)

      "Stay Away at all costs. Flipping burgers is better."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Finance in New Rochelle, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Benchmark Education full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Free parking. Nice view and free coffee.

      Cons

      Owners yell scream and talk down to you daily. They have a dog that barks and howls all day long. Owners are the lowest class of humans I have ever had to deal with. They are just plain crude and treat people with absolutely no respect.

      Advice to Management

      Get some professional help. If need be your employees would be happy to pay for it, Animals treat their own better.

      Benchmark Education2019-02-25
    • Helpful (3)

      "Crazy, unprofessional to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New Rochelle, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Benchmark Education full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      The company pays for your parking after you work there for 2 weeks. Free lunch one a month. It's a paycheck! The company is growing.

      Cons

      Employees are squished together at desks and you can hear everything. Constant unprofessional behavior and screaming by upper management. Crazy rule about the blinds. We have a dog in the office that constantly barks.

      Advice to Management

      Let the employees do their job. Take a step back and see all the good work that is being done at the company.

      Benchmark Education2019-02-24
    • Helpful (2)

      "culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Analyst 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Benchmark Education full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      company lunch is good, nice to have free piza

      Cons

      some senior management is not that friendly.

      Benchmark Education2019-01-08
    • "Benchmark Education Company, Not Bad"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Benchmark Education full-time

      Pros

      Decent place to start a career.

      Cons

      Hectic environment, get used to upper management yelling.

      Benchmark Education2018-11-01
    • Helpful (2)

      "Positive Experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Benchmark Education full-time

        Pros

        I have had a positive experience working at Benchmark. It's clear that its owners believe in making a difference in education, and they've surrounded themselves with some truly remarkable talent in this industry who feel the same way. Being a smaller company, you have opportunities to work hard, be recognized for that, and have your ideas taken seriously. It's a company that's seen much success and rapid growth, and one...

        Show More

        Cons

        Working at a company like this where I feel I can make a difference would make me reluctant to go back to working for a larger company where that's not possible

        Benchmark Education2018-10-08
      • "Production Assistant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Benchmark Education full-time

        Pros

        Nice work atmosphere, good people to work with. They'll help you when needed.

        Cons

        A little disorganized.

        Advice to Management

        Get more involved with your workers.

        Benchmark Education2018-09-26
      • Helpful (8)

        "Shady and deceptive management"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New Rochelle, NY
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Benchmark Education full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Free lunch once a month.

        Cons

        Lack of job security and an awful work environment.

        Benchmark Education2018-09-06
      • Helpful (1)

        "Good company to work for"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Benchmark Education full-time

        Pros

        Good team cooperation. Company lunches. Monthly birthday bash.

        Cons

        Owner belittles associates daily(YELLS). Long days some times.

        Advice to Management

        Treats all associates with the respect they deserve.

        Benchmark Education2018-06-10
      Found 88 reviews