KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

BenefitMall

Engaged Employer

BenefitMall

Add a Review

BenefitMall Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Nov 4, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 of over 309 reviews

3.9
69%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
BenefitMall CEO Scott Kirksey  (no image)
Scott Kirksey
82 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "Poor management(in 39 reviews)
  • "Most of what is said verbally is wrong but it's your word against your manager's and the manager always wins.(in 15 reviews)
  • "Benefits are horrible.(in 15 reviews)
  • "Upper Management is abusive with no knowledge of laws.(in 14 reviews)
  • "4. there's no training to update your skills, IT is fast moving so if you don't update your employee and they decide to stay in the company longer(in 8 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of BenefitMall and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Lack of Technology & lots of pettiness

    Nov 14, 2017 - Broker Service Representative in San Antonio, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Casual work environment, dress code is pretty relaxed. You get Monthly bonus and also Quarterly bonus - from the get go.

    Cons

    Lack of training Lack of technology Lack of respect for you as an individual Notified manager several times of the lack of training I had, that there were no processes or procedures and that it felt like I was recreating the wheel.... nothing was done. In one ear and out the other. People are rude to co-workers that they feel don’t work enough or fast enough and pretty much bullies! I witnessed this and notified manager - his comment was - that she is leaving and he told everyone to be nice to her for the rest of her time, so she doesn’t make a complaint to HR!!! Seriously?? I knew this place was no good for me. Made my exit shortly after that and I was treated the same way.

    Continue reading
    12 people found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Sales Director

    Feb 13, 2018 - Sales Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company has made huge strides in our service model and we work very hard to provide the best working environment possible. As a long time employees I have seen us come full circle & am very proud of what we have accomplished over the last 10+ years. Scott Kirksy is a great leader who knows this company and what is going on in every aspect. I expect we will grow & flourish under his leadership.

    Cons

    Sr. Leaders are overwhelmed and sometimes decisions are slow coming. We have been running on a very lean staff to prepare for merger and we are looking forward to GROWTH!

    2 people found this review helpful

    BenefitMall Response

    Director of Human Resources

    Thank you for your dedication to BenefitMall over the years. Our leadership team, past and present, has put in the time and the effort to become one of the leading full service benefit companies in the country and will continue to do so under Scott’s leadership. We are always looking for ways to improve our work and feedback like this makes that process much smoother.

  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    BenefitMall

    Feb 21, 2020 - Sales Assistant in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The work environment is a great professional place of business. All employees are great team players.

    Cons

    Do not have any cons as I am truly happy here.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    BenefitMall Response

    Director of Human Resources

    Thank you for your review! We are glad you are truly happy here.

  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Client Application Support Specialist

    May 1, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun and friendly environment to work in. Pretty competitive compensation and benefits compared to similar employers.

    Cons

    Can be very stressful and there are inconsistencies between branches nationwide.

    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Information Technology

    Jan 16, 2016 -  in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The infrastructure team at Benefitmall has some of the brightest and dedicated people I have worked with. The team will stick together to solve problems and make sure projects are successful. This is an environment where your voice can be heard, your work will make a difference, and you will see the results of it. This can be a very rare thing in IT these days. There is a pretty good work/life balance as well considering it's IT. The Senior Management team cares, they really do, and they will listen to what you have to say.

    Cons

    As with any company, you are going to deal with some legacy applications-it's not the end of the world and it's manageable. The main office is in North Dallas which can lead to longer commute times to/from parts of the metroplex.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    great place to work!

    Jul 23, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    awesome place to work! family environment...management really cares about their people. good comp plan with an ability to make lots of money with no caps on earnings. continuous training to keep me on top of what's going on in an ever-changing industry. I'm always learning and believe the company invests in my professional improvement and career advancement.

    Cons

    there have been a lot of management changes in the past few years, and it has been challenging at times, but my direct manager always makes things clear and has my 'back'. things are definitely back on track right now and I enjoy working here. Benefits could be better, but I know it's being worked on...this is an ever changing regulatory environment that keeps every day challenging!

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee

    New Accounts

    Aug 18, 2015 -  in Miramar, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The only pro was the friends I made at my level.

    Cons

    Complete stressful work environment. Unreliable expectations. Horribly insulting, 'designed for you to fail' performance evaluations with laughable increases that make it impossible to thrive. They are all about money money money, but it never gets passed down past sales and upper management. They have lost SO many amazing and talented people. Turn-over is embarrassing. They use material from the APA's CPP to 'Benefitmall Certify' their employees, but will not come out of pocket to actually certify their employees with the actual CPP designation. The name 'Benefitmall' is a complete joke. The benefits are horrible, just horrible. Rx's that cost me $10 now with my new insurance, cost me over $200 with BENEFITMALL insurance. Sales gets double revenue incentives- which means the lower-level employees get double work, and do you know what the lower-level employees get for that double work?....time and a half. Nothing more, nothing less. Oh, well, lunch- you get lunch sometimes. Never anything healthy. Everyone is over weight- and then, at the end of the year, in order to qualify for a higher employer contribution, you have to weigh a certain amount and have a certain waist size. It's 'designed to fail' mall. I dont know whats worst- the garbage they try to sell the employees or the managers who ram it down our throats.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good company to work for mid career level

    Jan 20, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good company to work and good work environment

    Cons

    Benefits are not great Good co workers

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    District Sales Manager

    Feb 17, 2018 - District Sales Manager in Miramar, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent work environment. Amazing organization! Tremendous earning potential!

    Cons

    You need to think outside the box to succeed here. No cons!

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    BenefitMall Response

    Director of Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. The BenefitMall Recruitment team prides themselves on hiring the very best candidate for every job they’re looking to fill. We are always looking for entrepreneurs to help grow the business while taking on new and exciting challenges.

  10. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Good place to start your career

    Nov 4, 2021 - Compliance Lead in Miami, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good place with a great structure. Awesome people in the work environment.

    Cons

    Salaries not in line with the market and for a market leader in partnering with insurance providers in a major way. The benefits are lacking.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    BenefitMall Response

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback - we truly appreciate it. If you would like to share specific ideas or feedback relating to your experience with BenefitMall and suggestions to improve, please reach out to People and Culture - we would be happy to discuss ideas with you.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 13 Reviews

Popular Careers with BenefitMall Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at BenefitMall? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

BenefitMall Photos

+ Add Photo
BenefitMall photo of: veterans career fair
BenefitMall photo of: Superheros!
BenefitMall photo of: Having fun
BenefitMall photo of: Helping out
BenefitMall photo of: Our trusted leaders
BenefitMall photo of: Personal Accountability
BenefitMall photo of: Teamwork
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

CompuPay, Inc.

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

BenefitMall Job Seekers Also Viewed

DISH Logo
DISH

3.0

6,634 Reviews
Compare