Benefitfocus Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor

Benefitfocus Consultant Reviews

Updated Sep 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.1
26%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Benefitfocus President and CEO Ray August
Ray August
4 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture, Great Environment, Great People!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Applications Consultant 

    I have been working at Benefitfocus

    Pros

    I recently took the training class for Applications Consultants to help cover the Open Enrollment period at Benefitfocus, with potential for being hired long-term. The trainers were knowledgeable and talented at explaining the ins and outs of the software platform, as well as discerning whether students were grasping the material. They made class fun and positive. Other call-center team members stopped in regularly to check in, making the entry-level people feel wanted and welcome. The culture is amazing, with lots of fun perks such as a dog-friendly workplace with golf carts and bikes to get you around, as well as refreshments and celebrations. Daniel Island is a beautiful place to be. All in all, I'd recommend this company to anyone who wants to build a great career.

    Show More

    Cons

    Possible monotony and stress as on any call center.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Benefitfocus2017-09-20
  2. Helpful (8)

    "Circling The Drain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Managers do not micromanage ( probably because they don’t have time ).

    Cons

    Teammates used to be great and work together but everyone is stretched too think and very unhappy. All that “leadership” cares about is hitting their revenue numbers so they can get their bonus. They don’t seem to care the price their employees are paying for it. No work life balance anymore.

    Advice to Management

    Pay more attention and take care of your employees and the numbers will fall into place. Employees are the greatest asset to a company but Benefitfocus does not treat us this way but they wonder why people are leaving.

    Benefitfocus2019-09-22
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Solutions Consultant in Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Benefitfocus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some of your coworkers are great. (isn't that everyone's response to pros at a workplace?)

    Cons

    Had higher hopes. Just kept going downhill. There is a stench of desperation in all of senior management's decisions.

    Advice to Management

    Learn how to run a company.

    Benefitfocus2019-09-12
  4. Helpful (16)

    "No Words"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent benefits package Bring dogs to work Free Coffee Work from home can be an option depending on role/manager

    Cons

    This company simply has no sense of direction or how to manage itself. Over the last couple years I have seen countless leadership changes and reorganizations. I honestly believe that this company thinks that it can fix all its internal issues simply by reorganizing and moving peoples desks around. This fixes nothing but only causes more confusion as people have to relearn who is in charge of what and what team works on what. There are many employees who have the "thats not my job!" attitude. New employees are often left clueless as their is no actual position training unless you are lucky enough to be on a team that provides power points from 2010. (Don't even bother reading these) The Benefitfocus University training almost seems like a propaganda class that makes you learn all the great things about the company and its leaders. This lasts an entire week! This time should be utilized on developing skills that pertain to ones actual role. How this company is still in business is honestly mind blowing. Deadlines are almost never met for clients. This is frankly due to poor leadership and management unwilling to set standards with carriers/clients and stick with it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Fix all the above. If it triggers you too much maybe do another re org to calm down?

    Benefitfocus2019-08-21
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great people, mediocre policies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People are great, overall flexible

    Cons

    Benefits could be better, inconsistency and high turn over

    Benefitfocus2019-08-09
  6. Helpful (12)

    "The Culture they brag about is mostly a joke"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I've honestly never worked alongside people this smart, helpful, and caring about their teammates and I actually have direct management that cares. Depending on where you work in the company, you can have a large degree of freedom with little to no micro-management. If you're in the right department, you'll also have managers that honestly care and earnestly try to help you grow and navigate the company.

    Cons

    That's pretty much where it ended from my experience. Since I've been there, all they try to sell you on is the Culture at the company...which is loosely defined and interpreted differently in each department. Having to accomplish something cross-department is a complete craps shoot. Occasionally you get help from someone without any issues and everyone moves on. More often though, in my experience, you get unnecessary push back from teams and actual arguments from people about why they aren't going to do their job. The concept of internal customers does not exist. Multiple times a year they will perform an eNPS survey with all associates. Each time I've seen the feedback, compensation is a large contributor. In response, the company launched a series of "Busting Compensation Myth" sessions and recently gave all employees access to what amounts to a Payday loan program... For over 2 years there's been promise of a "job lattice" to provide clarity on roles, responsibilities and compensation...we still haven't seen that. In the same time frame, I've lost count of how many C and senior level executives have been rotating in and out yet there's been no visible action to stop the hemorrhaging of experienced employees other than reminders of clauses in your contract that you can't recruit, contact former clients, etc.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Maybe don't drive your fancy Tesla's, 3 wheeled joke cars or other overpriced vehicles to work to park next to your employees with college degrees and "professional level jobs" that can barely afford to live in the town they work. Maybe spend more time solving real problems at the company rather than throwing an annual techno dance parties with T-shirt cannons and mega-screens. Maybe move away from the antiquated system of losing your PTO each year that you don't use. Maybe slow down the rotating door for highly compensated executives. And maybe pay your employees a reasonable wage for the amount of work asked of them in a janky system you have to fight against to do your job.

    Show More
    Benefitfocus2019-08-23
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Not the best place, but not the worst place."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I worked at Benefitfocus full-time (7 years)

    Cons

    It's hard to have a work/life balance.

    Benefitfocus2019-04-17
  8. Helpful (10)

    "They are famous for underpaying employees and constantly asking you to do more work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Consultant in Daniel Island, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits are the only thing that I can say are good

    Cons

    They care more about the share holders and pointless “donations”(So they can look good in taxes) . This company is a big scam and they keep contractors on for a year just to let them go and use them when they need them. Underpaid and not appreciated. If you don’t mind doing extra work for no extra pay then this place is for you.

    Advice to Management

    Hire your Temps Sooner Pay your employees more instead of sending out emails about “The huge amount of revenue your making”

    Benefitfocus2019-05-03
  9. Helpful (15)

    "Not what I thought"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Benefitfocus full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pretty fun team, team leaders care about you, fun Friday’s

    Cons

    I honestly felt very mislead about the job itself. I was not aware it was a call center job and felt extremely unprepared to take the phone calls. Guests on the phone were extremely aggressive and the rules we were required to state made no sense? Automatically having passwords reset so that people would have to call in order to login to their benefits??

    Advice to Management

    Be up front about the job description and instead of spending an entire day and a half on security training maybe focus on making sure your team knows what they’re doing.

    Benefitfocus2019-01-09
  10. Helpful (19)

    "“Director” but I have absolutely no experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Charleston, SC
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Benefitfocus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free coffee, soda and relaxed attire.

    Cons

    Do you dream of going back to high school? Benefitfocus is the place for you, drama, gossip and egos all around. You become a director or manager by being someone’s favorite. Not one of the managers or directors I’ve seen, actually worked hard. Skipped out at 3:45 and didn’t get into the office until 9:30. I’f you’re looking for feedback, constructive criticism or respect, look elsewhere and don’t waste your time here.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire quality associates. Promote QUALITY associates.

    Benefitfocus2018-07-11
Found 32 reviews