Benefitfocus Data Analyst Reviews | Glassdoor

Benefitfocus Data Analyst Reviews

Updated Jun 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

1.3
16%
Recommend to a Friend
Benefitfocus President and CEO Ray August
Ray August
0 Rating
  1. "Great people, great place, and I love my team!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Definitely the camaraderie here is amazing, and my immediate boss makes it very easy to come to them for help and advice. They're extremely knowledgeable and patient. The benefits and pay are good, and (at least on my team), there is only occasional overtime necessary. They try to keep things fun, and it definitely makes it a pleasure to be here.

    Cons

    Sometimes things get a little too noisy and cold, so I always make sure I have headphones and a blanket. Inter-team communication could be improved upon, as well as some documentation of processes. Also, some teams don't seem to be as well-staffed as it seems they should be, and I seem them getting overloaded or too busy a lot.

    Advice to Management

    Find out which teams are consistently logging overtime (it seems that's a standard complaint from others, though I've never had an issue!) and get them more people!

    Benefitfocus2015-01-29
  2. Helpful (9)

    "Run don't walk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Analyst 

    I worked at Benefitfocus full-time

    Pros

    Free soda, coffee , fruit.

    Cons

    Long hours, low pay, no work life balance. Promotions are based on personality and who you are friends with, not talent. No time off during holidays. Not friendly towards single parents. Constant reorganizing.

    Benefitfocus2019-06-15
  3. Helpful (19)

    "The Lies Never Stop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Free soda and free lunches from time to time.

    Cons

    DO NOT WORK HERE!! The company is full of lies. They tell you what you want to hear and then completely do the opposite. The managers are all passive aggressive and treat you like crap. There is absolutely no work life balance. You are salary for their benefit only, you work over 60hrs. a week and if you ask to leave an hour early one day, you are made to feel like crap and how dare you ask?! If I’m asked one more time to come on here and leave possitive feeeback I’m going to scream! The crazy thing is.. you can tell which reviews are FAKE and done by HR or senior “management “. You’re not fooling us.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Grow up.. they need to remove all the management (senior management and the other people they so call “managers”). Company is sinking.. and sinking fast.

    Benefitfocus2018-07-01
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Recommended"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Daniel Island, SC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Daniel Island is a beautiful and convenient location - I can walk or bike anywhere I need to run errands during my lunch hour. Benefitfocus has plenty of people willing to have fun, and high expectations of quality work. There is lots of flexibility to work remotely, depending on your manager and role. There are many opportunities for training and promotion. The benefits are fantastic, and not likely to decrease since one of our slogans is "Benefits are Good."

    Show More

    Cons

    As with any other company its size, Benefitfocus is sending increasing amounts of work overseas. This provides rich opportunities for cross-cultural interaction, but also creates stress inherent to this process. Employees who want to keep doing their same old job here in SC that can be done equally well overseas for a fraction of the wages will find it difficult to adapt. Those who are aware of the competitive nature of the corporate world and willing to grow in order to market themselves will be fine. A lot of us feel like we spend a big part of our time training our replacements. This is inevitable to some degree - the question is whether or not we will be asked to leave or asked to do more complex work when the transition phase is farther along. The uncertainty is stressful for all, motivating for some.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    This one is for line managers more than those at the top: Please remember that attitude affects culture more than outward activities. You can try to foster team relationships by having everyone go out for happy hours every week for five years. But as long as the culture during the work week allows for constant gossip and complaining, there will be no trust, the relationships cannot thrive, and ultimately the work will suffer. Encourage genuine conflict resolution, and find ways to squelch the negative individuals who want to bring down the culture of the team.

    Show More
    Benefitfocus2016-10-25
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Data Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Analyst in Charleston, SC
    Recommends

    I worked at Benefitfocus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Many young professionals; good place to start a career (salary aside). Good benefits and perks like food trucks on campus. Good values and purpose.

    Cons

    Expect to work long hours. Under performing employees get recognition by being friendly with management.

    Advice to Management

    Train employees to excel in their roles and recognize hard work to retain talent; cut loose the people that create problems (regardless of how close they are to management).

    Benefitfocus2016-07-08
  6. Helpful (25)

    "Data Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people. The team I have been a part of are the best I've ever known. Hard working, sacrificing, wonderful people.

    Cons

    Associates are abused. OE, the busiest time, lasts 5-6 months out of the year. You are expected to give up any personal life during that time and basically be on call. The work is not rewarded. Couple that with constantly broken/inefficient software, you have a perfect storm of never feeling that the work you do is appreciated, much less, any feeling of accomplishment after a long day. After a recent round of layoffs.......in order to appear profitable to shareholders......I am further convinced that the core values of the company have gone by the wayside, and a new corporate mentality has been born. One in which you are no longer an associate, but merely a number. A company that was applauded for bringing so many new jobs to SC and doing so many great things for the SC workforce has now effectively paralized those remaining in fear by layoffs, and are OUTSOURCING all those jobs that were brought to SC.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your people. Respect your people. Don't just speak about transparency, live it. Acknowledge people have personal lives and commitments outside of Benefitfocus. Appreciate the hard work, don't focus on the tiniest minute detail that may have been overlooked. Also, just because one organizational structure doesn't work, don't assume it is broken. Look to improve what you do have, rather than completely reorganizing a department 2 times in 2 years. The organizational structure was good for the 2014 OE. If we had been given a chance to improve upon that, 2015 would have been better. Rather, the department was re-orged and re-orged again trying to find the right solution. Had you put some faith in the team, we would have made this a formidable opponent in the SaaS world. As it is, the recent layoffs, coupled with a NEW reorg is going to set up OE 2016 for complete and utter failure.

    Show More
    Benefitfocus2016-05-25
  7. Helpful (19)

    "70% Global Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time

    Pros

    amazing co-wokers, free fruit and veggies, that is it.

    Cons

    watching layoffs happen right this very minute. No communication from management what is going on or what to expect, how many people will be affected. Total lack of respect for current employees. They are so focused on being profitable this year they will do anything, cut anyone, even though we are losing people from layoff and quitting left and right. Their new mission is to have 70% of employees be global associates, who will train these people, if you get rid of the people who actually do the jobs? Not sure how this aligns with their Customers at the Heart campaign, when last year proved to be a complete failure with global employees, and put our customers way behind our promised deadlines. For a company that values being local and supporting the community, not sure how this aligns with their "culture" sounds more like puts more money in the upper managements pocket. And having just hired a very high paid new Chief Security Office for the origination, who is not even local and laying off local employees, speaks volumes.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop pushing for global employees, this has proven to be a complete failure. Read the back of your badge. Respect your hard working, underpaid employees. Stop letting clients walk all over us and last but not least get rid of the THICK layer of upper management and keep the employees who actually DO WORK. Benefits sucks are very expensive. Stop taking away what USED to make the culture BEARABLE.

    Benefitfocus2016-05-25
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Lost sight of the company values and culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Analyst in Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Benefitfocus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The benefits were not bad for this industry. 401K match, discounted Lifelock membership, and below average cost for medical, dental, etc.

    Cons

    The company has lost sight of the values that made it successful and attracted so many talented people early on. This has resulted in a drastic increase in turn over rates, over the past few years. The work/life balance leaves a LOT to be desired, with most departments expecting employees to work 60+ hours/week without any additional compensation. There is no set compensation band for any position, so employees are often making more than their manager, and some positions have drastic gaps in salary for individuals with the same experience and title that are performing the same tasks.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Its time to get back to your roots and remember that the people are the reason for your success. If you want to keep top notch talent the people must come first.

    Benefitfocus2015-07-28
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Data Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment with a lot of growth potential.

    Cons

    Used to have a much more small company feel but is increasingly becoming more corporate.

    Benefitfocus2015-06-30
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Data Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    No punch card. Casual work attire

    Cons

    Low salary. Somewhat unclear goals for team members.

    Advice to Management

    Have a better presence

    Benefitfocus2015-05-14
Found 17 reviews