Benefitfocus Director Reviews | Glassdoor

Benefitfocus Director Reviews

Updated Aug 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
40%
Recommend to a Friend
Benefitfocus President and CEO Ray August
Ray August
0 Rating
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good company adjusting for their growth focused on clients and investing for the future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Extremely customer focused organization and leaders. Great teaming amongst associates who really work to help each other out. There is definitely a "can do" culture. Focus is on investment for future success versus just short team profits. Young employee base who are very eager to take on broader roles and make a difference.

    Cons

    Growth has outpaced some of the operational processes but good efforts and initiatives are underway to improve, but some of the challenges had meant some long hours for more experienced associates. Some strong individual contributors have taken on positions where they are now finding it challenging to drive the changes needed given limited experience and exposure, but in response we are seeing more mid level and higher level leaders be hired from the outside to help bring in additional experiences and help shape things for the future.

    Continue reading
    Benefitfocus2017-02-12

    Benefitfocus Response

    February 13, 2017Manager of Community and Culture

    We appreciate your review.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "I love Benefitfocus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Director in South Florida, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I just spent three days with my peers at Benefitfocus. I heard so many people echo the same comment, "I love Benefitfocus." We love our culture. We love our software. We love our associates. Our software is gorgeous. We are cutting edge on every front of Benefits Administration and Employee Experience.

    Cons

    We are still a secret to most large employers.

    Continue reading
    Benefitfocus2017-02-02

    Benefitfocus Response

    February 3, 2017Manager of Community and Culture

    Thanks for your review! We're so happy that you are enjoying the culture!

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time

    Pros

    Culture, great business plan with all the right investments to support the long term health and phenomenal growth. Solid leadership and a visionary founder for whom culture is not a buzz words.

    Cons

    Normal high growth stuff - systems and processes have not scaled with the business, but the company is making some smart hires and is addressing those core concerns. We may over-emphasize the 'always be positive' mantra. It is fair to expect solutions focus and for folks to be optimistic, but we should also welcome negative feedback so we can address problems.

    Continue reading
    Benefitfocus2016-01-13
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Employer Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, thorogh training. Opportunity to make life changing money. Great talented people who want to win. Most fun you'll have working hard.

    Cons

    Got to take initiative. Company is still in high growth mode and there are some growing pains.

    Continue reading
    Benefitfocus2015-11-22
  5. "By far the best working experience of my 23 year career with dynamic and innovative co workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Sales Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    We provide a true team environment where all voices are heard and all are focused creating an awesome experience for our clients

    Cons

    None at this point as all are given fair opportunities to succeed and grow their careers as fast or slow as they desire

    Continue reading
    Benefitfocus2015-01-26
  6. "Awesome company with great potential to explode in competitive market!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Area Sales Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus

    Pros

    Phenomenal culture and strong leadership. Great rewards for hard work; investment in technology is high and all departments truly want to work together to be successful. Taking care of the client is definitely the top concern, versus 'just closing a deal'. With growth comes opportunity, and promotions can happen quickly. overall feeling is that company will emerge as true market leader for benefits technology. OTE is competitive but there is more opp to 'blow it out' than most companies.

    Cons

    If you cant keep up with fast-paced environment, this is not for you. Must be aggressive, self-starter type because there is a ton to learn and processes/training is still ramping up.

    Benefitfocus2015-01-22
  7. "Benefitfocus lives and breathes its core values both internally and externally"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Area Sales Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus

    Pros

    The culture at Benefitfocus is energizing and it is very exciting to work for a high growth company with forward thinking vision that translates into awesome technology. Anticipatory Service, Respect the individual, Celebrate and Together are the core values that we live everyday with our clients and with our associates.

    Cons

    Rapid pace of change due to growth can cause some challenges but would much rather be working at a growing company rather than a struggling one!

    Continue reading
    Benefitfocus2015-01-22
  8. "Solid company, good vision, issues with execution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director, Employer Sales 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Benefitfocus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great product and leadership is visionary. Pay is middle of the road. They've been in rapid growth mode over the last 2 yrs.

    Cons

    During recent growth, they failed to scale infrastructure to adequately support new customers. CEO is visionary and very 'Steve Jobs' like, but tends to over promise what the minions can deliver.

    Continue reading
    Benefitfocus2013-07-25
  9. "There is no other place I'd rather be!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Employer Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing culture Market-leading comp plan Sr. leadership is interested in what I have to say Best boss I've ever had Incredibly smart people Simply the best product in its class and proud to be taking it to market Engineering and Marketing are world class

    Cons

    Still a growing company and not all processes are perfect Some growing pains, but sr. leadership is invested in improvements

    Continue reading
    Benefitfocus2013-02-06
  10. "Incredible Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Employer Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Teamed approach to helping clients: All functional areas work together to ensure client happiness. I've never seen such a strong relationship between account management, implementation, executive management and sales. Everyone works VERY hard but enjoys what they do: That has been my experience.

    Cons

    Not the type of company for the person who doesn't appreciate change and rapid movement. We are growing quickly, which makes it exciting to me.

    Continue reading
    Benefitfocus2013-01-31

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 20 reviews