Benefitfocus Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Benefitfocus Manager Reviews

Updated Nov 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
50%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
Benefitfocus President and CEO Ray August
Ray August
4 Ratings
  1. "Disconnected"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Manager 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Open enrollment feels organized this year because of a program management team supporting all CSMs - Clients regularly tell us how great our platform is

    Cons

    - I currently work remotely and assigned to the West. I often feel like I get more support and direction from BF people outside my current market. I have very little positive interaction with my manager or director - I believe in our platform strategy, just not convinced we have the right leaders to get us to where we need to be

    Advice to Management

    - Tenure within the company does not equal good managers/directors. Find the good leaders and let them train junior associates

    Benefitfocus2019-11-20
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Great Product & People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Benefitfocus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company has wonderful associates and a strong product to offer in their niche market.

    Cons

    Needs major work on aligning corporate visions with execution of day-to-day operations.

    Benefitfocus2019-10-17
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Loved it, some work needed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Success Manager in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Benefitfocus full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people, the management team, innovative environment

    Cons

    Sticking to a plan. Need to pick a plan of attack with customer management, and stick to it.

    Benefitfocus2019-08-02
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Poor leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Manager 

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time

    Pros

    Casual atmosphere. Very dog friendly.

    Cons

    Lack of structure. Little transparency from management.

    Benefitfocus2019-04-19
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Poor leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Success Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun culture, great people, nice facilities

    Cons

    Benefits are lacking for a company that is in the benefits industry. Leadership needs to be more transparent. No training for anything, learn on the fly

    Benefitfocus2019-04-17
  6. "I enjoyed working there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Success Manager 

    I worked at Benefitfocus full-time

    Pros

    I enjoyed working there. The staff is generally pretty great.

    Cons

    Can be a bit overwhelming at times.

    Benefitfocus2019-02-26
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Needs improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Success Manager 

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time

    Pros

    Flexible Relaxed work environment Team involvement

    Cons

    Management is missing the details that are being shared. No one what to take action for what's going on. Lack of accountability from partners No internal urgency around client needs or issues No career growth in the CSM role

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees suggestions of how to solve issues and making your clients happy.

    Benefitfocus2019-01-11
  8. Helpful (23)

    "Dysfunctional at Best!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Manager in Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Getting paid is good; but if you think free coffee and soft drinks are a Pro, you need to get out more.

    Cons

    My team is disintegrating. When a manager openly screams at teammates something is wrong. And then that same manager gets on a call with a client and screams at them about how they don't understand how things work. Teammates will go and find a quiet room to work so they don't have to physically be near the toxic manager.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in real training. The idea that you have to go seek out an expert to teach you something is a colossal waste of time. Don't promote based just on technical ability. Benefitfocus is full of managers, and woefully lacking LEADERSHIP. If you don't know the difference, you are part of the problem.

    Benefitfocus2018-12-29
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Prepare to devote your entire life to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Benefitfocus full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fun folks to work along side! Smart, hard working and driven staff!

    Cons

    Good thing I really liked my co-workers because all I did was eat, breathe and sleep work.

    Advice to Management

    Let people have balance and they will produce better results!

    Benefitfocus2018-05-31
  10. "Great Place for Program Managers!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Daniel Island, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefitfocus is going through an exciting shift, creating a fun environment for Program Managers who like to own and build. The CEO is very involved and active, and as a Program Manager, I have had an incredible visibility and leadership exposure. I would recommend Benefitfocus to other Program Managers because it’s a huge sandbox. The CEO and leadership team are open to your ideas and suggestions and will give you the opportunity to drive them. It’s an environment where you can see the impact of your efforts, and you truly feel you make a difference. Very fast paced, you’ll never get bored!

    Show More

    Cons

    You have to navigate a complex org structure, data not always available for decision making.

    Advice to Management

    Keep your eye on the prize. Ensure that teams are doing the right things well, not all things.

    Benefitfocus2018-05-21
Found 79 reviews