Benefitfocus Reviews | Glassdoor

Benefitfocus Reviews

Updated Mar 31, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
45%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
Benefitfocus President and CEO Ray August
Ray August
81 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    i love my co-workers - they are friendly, hard working and intelligent. I also love the company and leadership. They provide constant and clear communications. There are regular training opportunities and new trainings are being constantly created. We have a bi-yearly eNPS review and follow up action plans to maintain a positive employee engagement.

    Cons

    There are always areas of improvement for any company, but at Benefitfocus the leadership team is always working to identify and rectify them.

    Continue reading
    Benefitfocus2020-02-13
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Benefitfocus full-time

    Pros

    Fun work Environment, good management.

    Cons

    No cons as far as I'm concerned.

    Benefitfocus2020-02-05
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Privileged to work for a company like Benefitfocus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Department in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - The people cannot be beat. I have found my second family here and would go to battle with any of them. - There's opportunity for growth - if you're not experiencing that then you aren't being proactive in developing your career path. Promotions, Raises and new positions aren't going to be handed to you on a silver platter. You're an adult now - develop your path and see it through. - We have an amazing product - seriously. We are the BEST in the market. - Our platform shift is what this company needed. Software is software, and while ours is great, our customers need and deserve more. We can provide that and that's what the shift is all about. - There are a ton of listening posts. If you are constantly complaining, without leaning in to drive changes and find solutions, then you are a part of the problem. There are numerous ways to get involved, make a name for yourself, and make the company better! - Our CEO listens to associates and takes action.

    Cons

    - There is a lot of change almost every year. I do wish that leadership would let changes, like reorgs, have an opportunity to work out the kinks and become successful before completely changing them again. However, I challenge you to find a company that has as many associates, customers, data feeds, rapid growth and moving parts, that doesn't have change annually. The only constant in the world is change. - Open Enrollment can be challenging but that's the business that we're in. There are long hours, fire drills, and you're going to be asked to work harder. We get better every year though.

    Continue reading
    Benefitfocus2020-01-17
  4. "Great position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Benefits Coordinator in North Charleston, SC

    I worked at Benefitfocus full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Desk job, client problem solving, fantastic company culture

    Cons

    Rude people over the phone

    Benefitfocus2019-12-16
  5. "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time

    Pros

    Awesome culture, super products that change health care and great pay

    Cons

    Hours can be long at times due to peak season

    Benefitfocus2019-11-24
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Customer success support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSS 

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company, opportunity for growth

    Cons

    Training methods have to be improved

    Continue reading
    Benefitfocus2019-07-29
  7. "Highly recommended"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Daniel Island, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Upper management pays close attention to needs via surveys polls. Q and rays are a cool idea too. Ever since the hiring of the new CEO, the company has grown exponentially and there is amazing opportunity and experience within. It is hard to find a highly acclaimed tech company growing at this rate on a beautiful island like Daniel Island.

    Cons

    There can be long hours and i know of some managers that aren't great

    Continue reading
    Benefitfocus2019-05-15
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Benefitfocus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great market dominance and knowledgeable leadership.

    Cons

    Not as much structure as I would have liked.

    Benefitfocus2019-04-30
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Lots of Work. Very Rewarding."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Benefitfocus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture and associates are awesome.

    Cons

    Long work days and software had issues to make job more difficult.

    Benefitfocus2019-04-15
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Benefit Administrator I in Greenville, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management encourages growth with the company. Excellent benefits offered including $2000 restricted stock with ESSP.

    Cons

    Everyone wants to advance in this company and infrastructure sets the path for success.

    Continue reading
    Benefitfocus2019-03-16
Found 689 reviews