Benefitfocus Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Benefitfocus Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Jan 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.0
33%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
Benefitfocus President and CEO Ray August
Ray August
3 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Engineering Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineering Manager in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pros outweigh the cons. Great future opportunities for everyone. Benefits are very competitive. Great culture.

    Cons

    Company is still transitioning from a start up. Implementing new processes/frameworks are challenging at times.

    Benefitfocus2017-02-16
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Has potential but lacking a coherent strategy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company culture is pretty good with lots of friendly and talented coworkers. Good flexibility for engineers with remote and work from home opportunities. Decent benefits and compensation

    Cons

    Large disconnect between the picture the CEO and leadership are painting out in public, and what is actually being worked on. Continuously jump from one shiny object to the next with the product, while work less than a year old is abandonded and quickly adds to the technical debt. Also struggling with an outdated tech stack and software development practices, which would be fixable if leadership could settle on a plan long enough to address it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Spend less time coming up with gimmicks to impress investors and make an actual plan to get to where you say we're going, put it in place and stick with it

    Benefitfocus2020-01-14
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Zero Career Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer-II in Greenville, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Free soda I guess? OE Success week is sort of fun...

    Cons

    Expect to get 2% raises and that's it until you end up quitting

    Advice to Management

    Stop treating software engineers like disposable hourly employees.. there's enough demand for the good ones that they'll just leave and all you're going to have left is the ones who can't get hired anywhere else(aka the bad ones)

    Benefitfocus2019-08-22
  4. "Salary review Benefitfocus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team support and culture; great employee benefits.

    Cons

    Employee compensation in the form of salary could be better.

    Benefitfocus2019-03-22
  5. Helpful (17)

    "Company Does Not Value Associates"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Greenville, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Benefitfocus full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefitfocus has some of the smartest people I have worked with in 20 years in the IT field.

    Cons

    Company does not care about the Associates well being. Recently had to take FMLA for medical issues. 1. HR didn't do anything to help when there were problems with my short term disability payments. 2. My direct manager never contacted me to find out how I was doing. 3. At the end of 12 weeks HR terminated me even though they knew I was still receiving medical care and had not been cleared to return to work.

    Advice to Management

    Learn to make your Associate feel as though they have some value.

    Benefitfocus2018-07-29
  6. Helpful (14)

    "Beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Benefitfocus full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Cool game rooms & beer Friday’s.

    Cons

    No work-life balance,excessive overtime

    Advice to Management

    None. They won’t listen.

    Benefitfocus2017-12-03
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Love the job, could use a little more balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    We are implementing a lot of really cool new technologies. Great people, great place, and management is flexible for people wishing to work remote. Bring your dog to work. The campus is really beautiful and there are a lot of fun activities put on by corporate for employees to attend like free yoga classes, release parties, etc.

    Cons

    A lot of unpaid overtime and definitely some growing pains happening as the company is exploding in size. Also, a really cheesy obsession with 'culture'. . . There isn't really any company-wide culture, other than obsession with work.

    Advice to Management

    Go home and don't pressure your employees to work long hours. Stop accepting ridiculous requests from big-name clients.

    Benefitfocus2015-07-22
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Overall great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineering Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus

    Pros

    Great products, great people, tremendous opportunities.

    Cons

    Due to the fact that our software revolves around Open Enrollment and that typically falls between October and December, the workload and hours can be stressful. Benefitfocus makes the workload more bearable by providing lunches and allowing flexible schedules to help associates with their work/life balance.

    Benefitfocus2015-04-02
  9. Helpful (1)

    "It's comfortable, but maybe too comfortable."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Comfortable job with good perks. The pay is reasonable for the area. Food trucks come every day. There are free snacks and drinks on my floor.

    Cons

    You work on Daniel Island which is expensive to live on, and required a car to reach. There is no public transportation to the island and it isn't accessible on foot or by bicycle. The job can also be very demanding, but it's still possible to maintain a relatively health work-life balance.

    Advice to Management

    From a developer's standpoint, I think the company should focus more on requirements for engineers.

    Benefitfocus2015-03-27
  10. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Greenville, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people and atmosphere are great. They make time to have fun at work from craft beer Fridays to release parties.

    Cons

    Sometimes the hours are long. They have been outsourcing a lot of the work overseas. They claim this is because they are having a hard time finding good software engineers in the US.

    Advice to Management

    Be sure to stress quality code.

    Benefitfocus2014-05-27
Found 21 reviews