Benefitfocus "great people" Reviews | Glassdoor

Benefitfocus Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated Aug 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
53%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Benefitfocus President and CEO Ray August
Ray August
77 Ratings
Pros
  • "Amazing co workers, Innovative Product, Open to suggestions to make for a better work environment, takes feedback from customers to enhance our product(in 47 reviews)

  • "Great company and great people to work with(in 46 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work/Life balance isn't perfect but it is much better than in years past(in 49 reviews)

  • "You have to work hard and that sometimes means long hours(in 48 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time

    Pros

    Great company and great people to work with

    Cons

    Overall good company to work for

    Benefitfocus2018-05-14
  2. "Good Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Development Representative 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Benefitfocus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, great work, great benefits. Good work life balance

    Cons

    No Cons, great place to work

    Benefitfocus2019-08-14
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Poor leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Success Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun culture, great people, nice facilities

    Cons

    Benefits are lacking for a company that is in the benefits industry. Leadership needs to be more transparent. No training for anything, learn on the fly

    Benefitfocus2019-04-17
  4. Helpful (8)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Benefitfocus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people and passion for the best technology in ben admin

    Cons

    Poor opportunity to sell because implementations and customer service is poor

    Benefitfocus2019-01-29
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Company concerned with making management jobs easier at the sake of clients and employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You’ll work with great people with lots of energy. They do a good job of hiring good people who want to work together and band together to get the work done despite management.

    Cons

    Management is unconcerned about how their decisions affect employees. They aren’t in touch with what employees jobs are how to make them better. There is no training or help from management on how to do your job. Management believes that by just getting more data to report on it will make the company better and refuse to listen to their employees about what true pinch points are.

    Advice to Management

    If you create devices and remove obstacles from employee success your employees will be more apt to help the company succeed. Surveys aren’t listening. Change within departments rarely help the workers. Truly ask them what they need and execute on them. You have smart employees that want the company to succeed, their ideas are assets and you should ask for them.

    Benefitfocus2018-12-10
  6. "Good Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time

    Pros

    I don't get the bad reviews. When a company has provided such a great product to so many satisfied people while providing an amazing place to work among such great people, I can't help but wonder how anyone would not want to work here. The company is excellent, Charleston is amazing, the C-level staff are visionary hard workers with families and dreams. I think some just take the baggage they brought and feel... compelled to complain.

    Show More

    Cons

    The work is challenging, the people are everyday people who want to succeed but can have bad days.

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to our associates and acting on suggests that will work

    Benefitfocus2017-11-15
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Overall good company to work for but room for improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I work with some really great people. Very hard working and inspirational people here. Culture and environment is laid back, fun, and hip. Most managers try to not micromanage and they are very reliable and encouraging. I don't know the CEO all that well but I can say that he seems like a pretty cool guy! - down to earth, friendly, intelligent, and he genuinely cares about his employees. Facilities on Daniel Island... campus are so modern and beautiful. There is always a new fun event or project to look forward to (we know how to celebrate!). My favorite part about working here - They feed us! There is always good food and snacks around. Healthy foods are even provided - fruits and vegetables are delivered weekly for us to snack on. Almost forgot, we get to drink beer or wine on Fridays!

    Show More

    Cons

    While I enjoy working here, there are a few cons as with any job. First, the pay is not near what it should be in my opinion. Don't expect to come here and make decent money right from the get go. Your pay will increase steadily as you move up and change positions in the company, but only in slight increments. However, there are many opportunities to work overtime, annual raises (barely), and occasional bonuses.... Second, most employees here start out on the phones in the call center. Not even going to lie, it sucks, but you just have to stick it out if you want to progress into another role (keep this in mind when you feel like throwing your phone against the wall and running out of the building). You can expect to be on phone support for a while before you have the opportunity to move into any other role. There are some associates that have been on the phones for almost 2 years and just now getting other opportunities in the company (I hear they are working on improving this). It does make sense to start everyone in the call center because you gain so much client and health insurance knowledge during your time on the phones, but making employees stay on the phones longer than a year drives them to insanity and runs them off. These can be very long days of taking back to back nonstop calls. Not all calls are bad, but you will get calls from angry or upset employees and those are exhausting. Unfortunately, you will also get calls for clients you aren't trained on, mainly because we never seem to have enough phone support to assist all the clients we work with. There will also be some instances when you won't have adequate resources to even assist the member properly. The primary support team processes and structure need some improving. I'm still scarred from my time on the phone lines. The last con I will mention pertains to planning and preparedness. For some reason it seems that there is just never appropriate planning or clear processes in place for new clients or projects. There are times when I'm working on a project and things just get very confusing for my co-workers and I. It can seem like no one really knows whats going on, Instructions can be very vague and open ended, guidelines and processes for the project seem to change from day to day, and there usually is not enough employees to handle the workload for that project. Planning and preparation for these large projects or new clients is just not what it should be.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Increasing pay for BSC and PSC support teams, even just a bit, would help with retention. A big reason employees leave is because they find other opportunities that pay better. - As I mentioned above, the primary phone support role really needs more attention and improving. I understand you want and need intelligent and educated people on the phone lines, but you just can't expect someone with a college degree... to work in a call center for 2 years. It's incredibly frustrating and disheartening. I would suggest creating a standard model of upward movement in which associates start on the phone, after a year they can gradually transition into e-mail support, and after another year they can begin transitioning into open positions that interest them. Something like this model would give your phone support associates something to look forward to and in turn they will stick around and care more about their performance. You are running off good employees the way it is now because they feel that they have nothing to look forward to or real goals to work towards. please consider the people in the phone support role more. They are the future of this company! - Be better prepared. Invest more time, money, and resources when planning for big projects or clients. Hire enough employees or contractors BEFORE the project begins. Agree and advise on clear processes, guidelines, instructions, expectations, and timelines BEFORE the project begins.

    Show More
    Benefitfocus2017-06-28
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Challenging and Fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There is a lot of opportunity for doing work and having fun here. The rate at which the company is growing means that there are always new opportunities in just about every area. These opportunities and the growth mean that you are often working on new solutions and products as well as working on making the existing products better. And the environment is full of great people! The people at Benefitfocus make it... an even better place to work. They are willing to lend a hand at a moment's notice. They care about more than just the work - they care for each other. Then there are the celebrations! From small get togethers of a single team to celebrate someone's birthday to week long celebrations of the entire parts of the organization (like technology or customer service), Benefitfocus associates have plenty of opportunities to come together and recognize the great things going on. So I would sum up my experience at Benefitfocus as being a great place to work if you enjoy challenging and rewarding work, being around awesome people, and having fun while you do it.

    Show More

    Cons

    The pace of work and change can be high some times. It creates a dynamic environment that doesn't necessarily work for everyone. If you are the type of person who wants to be doing the exact same sort of thing each day for several years, this might not be the best fit for you. That being said, the pace isn't "running 100 mph with your hair on fire" every day. It has periods of getting things done very quickly... and periods of moving at a normal pace. As a Software as a Service company, the requirements of supporting the product and customer can be different than other technology companies. While there are teams and processes in place for this support, there are times that things need to get done very quickly. Change should be a part of every growing business ad Benefitfocus is no exception and being in the software business in the benefits industry sometimes creates more change. As an example, you may start the year working on a team doing improvements on part of an existing product and half way through the year, you may switch to a team that is starting up something new. This can be disconcerting for some people and some people thrive on getting to work with something different.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue to follow the values and culture of the company. Continue to look for opportunities to listen to associates feedback on positive and negative items. Continue to communicate the high level goals and accomplishments of the company to all associates. Look for more opportunities to help associates line up their work with these goals and direction.

    Benefitfocus2017-05-04
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Lucky to be a part of this team!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture, great people Fantastic benefits Involved and visible leadership team Recognition of those who work hard and contribute to the success of the company Fantastic location and office space. Sodas, coffee, fruit, etc. provided to associates free of charge.

    Cons

    Not many. Benefitfocus is a company in high growth mode, so more suited to those that like to work hard and play hard. Also need to be a person that doesn't need same routine every day - much more suited to those that like a challenge and appreciate constant change.

    Benefitfocus2017-05-07
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Voted Best Place to Work For a Reason!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Development Representative in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Culture, culture, culture. I have never worked for a company so involved in making their employees happy and successful. Everyone works really hard, but the company provides you with all the tools necessary to be successful. It is a large company on a big campus but feels like a small community. The hiring process through training and onboarding were easy and smooth. I feel really grateful to have been selected for... the BF family. Some of my top pros: - Flexibility: management understands we are human. We have great PTO options, have capability to log on from home, etc. - Management: they truly care about you. I have never felt more welcomed than I did starting here. They took the time to introduce me to everyone, meet regularly to make sure everything is going well, and are there to help - Benefits: top notch. Free tickets to games, discounts to restaurants, discounts to activities, discounts on apartments. - Culture: great people, food trucks, cornhole, drinks/snacks, basketball hoop, dinners, sport leagues, volunteering, etc. The company does a really great job with the hiring process - such a wonderful group of people. - Incentive: we get to be a part of something so large - the company continues to grow and succeed and we reap the rewards. Pay is good, benefits, PTO, etc. - They truly promote a work life balance. Having a bad day? Grab a bike and go for a ride, walk the trails, take a break. You aren't expect to be on your computer and email after work. You leave work at work and it definitely promotes a better work ethic. When we are here, we are giving 100% but once you sign off, you are encouraged to separate from work. - Potential to stay at the company for years to come and move up gradually. - DOG FRIENDLY: need I say more?

    Show More

    Cons

    Nothing comes to mind -

    Advice to Management

    We're lucky to have you!

    Benefitfocus2017-03-28
Found 46 reviews