Benefitfocus "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

Benefitfocus Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Sep 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
53%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Benefitfocus President and CEO Ray August
Ray August
77 Ratings
Pros
  • "Amazing co workers, Innovative Product, Open to suggestions to make for a better work environment, takes feedback from customers to enhance our product(in 47 reviews)

  • "Great company and great people to work with(in 46 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work/Life balance isn't perfect but it is much better than in years past(in 49 reviews)

  • "You have to work hard and that sometimes means long hours(in 48 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great company who truly has it's associates and customers at the heart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Engineer in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing co workers, Innovative Product, Open to suggestions to make for a better work environment, takes feedback from customers to enhance our product. Our associates truly want our customers to have an amazing experience.

    Cons

    As with all companies, change is hard. We have grown from a private to a public company in the time that I've been employed. This makes for a rough transition at times but we are truly on the other side of that transition. At the end of the day, this is a job. You have to work hard and that sometimes means long hours. Work/Life balance isn't perfect but it is much better than in years past.

    Advice to Management

    Be a learner not a knower. Acknowledge your employees when they do something well - we're all adults but everyone needs affirmation every now and then. Make it a point to connect with them to give them kudos - don't let the only time they hear from you be when you need something from them.

    Benefitfocus2019-06-26
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Don't bother"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Benefitfocus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It is a paying job

    Cons

    Too numerous...long hours, little incentive. I left and doubled my pay with less hours. AND if you're applying from the outside, really don't bother. They ignore resumes and hire their friends.

    Advice to Management

    Seek diversity. How about reading resumes. How about actually bringing people in and talking to them face-to-face. How about finding good people that may actually need some training but would be great employees instead of the buddy system? It'll never happen, they're all too arrogant.

    Benefitfocus2019-09-17
  3. Helpful (8)

    "Run don't walk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Analyst 

    I worked at Benefitfocus full-time

    Pros

    Free soda, coffee , fruit.

    Cons

    Long hours, low pay, no work life balance. Promotions are based on personality and who you are friends with, not talent. No time off during holidays. Not friendly towards single parents. Constant reorganizing.

    Benefitfocus2019-06-15
  4. "Highly recommended"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Daniel Island, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Upper management pays close attention to needs via surveys polls. Q and rays are a cool idea too. Ever since the hiring of the new CEO, the company has grown exponentially and there is amazing opportunity and experience within. It is hard to find a highly acclaimed tech company growing at this rate on a beautiful island like Daniel Island.

    Cons

    There can be long hours and i know of some managers that aren't great

    Advice to Management

    Ray is awesome, he has a lot of great experience/background and keeps the company moving forward. Keep integrating things to involve the associates and raise pay. It's way too low.

    Benefitfocus2019-05-15
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Team Lead HRSC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Benefitfocus full-time

    Pros

    Great Client interaction and awesome people to work with

    Cons

    Long hours for not enough compensation and very disorganized. Believe it is better now however.

    Advice to Management

    better monetary incentives and less on "culture activities"

    Benefitfocus2018-03-30
  6. "Benefit Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus

    Pros

    Fun place to work. Great environment

    Cons

    It can be long hours at time

    Benefitfocus2017-11-21
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Benefitfocus is a supportive engaging place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Motivated, hard working, inspiring peers that push you to be better each day, always challenged which results in professional growth

    Cons

    Demanding work results in long hours, on the job training to learn Benefitfocus knowledge, slow backfill process for internal promotions (positive upward movement)

    Benefitfocus2017-04-23
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great people, great company, great culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people are passionate about serving others and providing for families.

    Cons

    The business is complex and can require long hours.

    Benefitfocus2017-04-21
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Great company and culture, but low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Benefits Administrator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free drinks and snacks, office setup, overall culture

    Cons

    Long hours, not a lot of interaction with upper management, basic training, low pay for the amount of work put in

    Advice to Management

    Offer more in depth-training so new hires are more confident with their abilities.

    Benefitfocus2017-04-12
  10. "Benefitfocus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time

    Pros

    Great culture, everyone is super friendly and will help you

    Cons

    terrible training, can be long hours

    Advice to Management

    Get better training and the rest will work itself out. The company and culture is fantastic. Just need to train new hires a little better so they aren't drowning by the 2nd week.

    Benefitfocus2017-03-23
Found 48 reviews