Benefitfocus Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Jan 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
40%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Benefitfocus President and CEO Steve Swad
Steve Swad
33 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people, colleagues to work with(in 51 reviews)

  • "Casual collaborative work environment(in 47 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Disorganized, poor leadership, no work life balance(in 53 reviews)

  • "There are long hours, fire drills, and you're going to be asked to work harder(in 48 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Benefitfocus and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "long hours"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Privileged to work for a company like Benefitfocus

      Jan 17, 2020 - Sales Department in Charleston, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - The people cannot be beat. I have found my second family here and would go to battle with any of them. - There's opportunity for growth - if you're not experiencing that then you aren't being proactive in developing your career path. Promotions, Raises and new positions aren't going to be handed to you on a silver platter. You're an adult now - develop your path and see it through. - We have an amazing product - seriously. We are the BEST in the market. - Our platform shift is what this company needed. Software is software, and while ours is great, our customers need and deserve more. We can provide that and that's what the shift is all about. - There are a ton of listening posts. If you are constantly complaining, without leaning in to drive changes and find solutions, then you are a part of the problem. There are numerous ways to get involved, make a name for yourself, and make the company better! - Our CEO listens to associates and takes action.

      Cons

      - There is a lot of change almost every year. I do wish that leadership would let changes, like reorgs, have an opportunity to work out the kinks and become successful before completely changing them again. However, I challenge you to find a company that has as many associates, customers, data feeds, rapid growth and moving parts, that doesn't have change annually. The only constant in the world is change. - Open Enrollment can be challenging but that's the business that we're in. There are long hours, fire drills, and you're going to be asked to work harder. We get better every year though.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Highly recommended

      May 15, 2019 - Business Analyst in Daniel Island, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Upper management pays close attention to needs via surveys polls. Q and rays are a cool idea too. Ever since the hiring of the new CEO, the company has grown exponentially and there is amazing opportunity and experience within. It is hard to find a highly acclaimed tech company growing at this rate on a beautiful island like Daniel Island.

      Cons

      There can be long hours and i know of some managers that aren't great

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Don't bother

      Sep 17, 2019 - Sales 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It is a paying job

      Cons

      Too numerous...long hours, little incentive. I left and doubled my pay with less hours. AND if you're applying from the outside, really don't bother. They ignore resumes and hire their friends.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Run don't walk

      Jun 15, 2019 - Data Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free soda, coffee , fruit.

      Cons

      Long hours, low pay, no work life balance. Promotions are based on personality and who you are friends with, not talent. No time off during holidays. Not friendly towards single parents. Constant reorganizing.

      12 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Long Hours, Large Workload

      Nov 2, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Culture is a huge plus to working here. There are lots of "freebies", such as soda, Starbucks coffee, snacks, catered food, etc. Lots of lounge areas with couches and televisions and mini kitchens on every floor. Plus others, such as bringing your dog to work and setting up one's workstation to "feel like home". The people I work with also are awesome. There is a strong comradery within work groups.

      Cons

      Those same "cultural" pluses are there to make one feel better about putting in long hours. The unlimited supply of caffeine and food keeps one within feet of their desks. Letting us bring our dogs in, so that we don't feel the emotional pull of going home. There are even locker rooms and showers. We often joke that they would love to just keep us there 24 hours. The comradery is strong because we all feel the same way. It wasn't always like this, but there has been a definite shifting in added expectations. It is not that we don't want to give it all, we do want this company to be successful. However, when one only has a few hours a week away from work, the overwhelming unbalance between work and home brings morale down. We understand that the business is growing, but management only brings contract workers in for crunch times. Now with more rumors of moving chunks of our operations overseas, causing even more unrest. Almost all that I work with are searching for other jobs with better work/life balance.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful

      Benefitfocus Response

      Sr. Vice President, Human Resources

      Thank you for your honesty and authenticity. And thank you for contributing your time and talent to the culture and camaraderie at Benefitfocus. If there’s one value you exemplify, it’s “together.” We appreciate your kind reminder that there’s work to do, and we welcome the challenge and opportunity to work through it together. Thank you again. Feedback helps meaningful change occur. We hear you.

    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good company adjusting for their growth focused on clients and investing for the future

      Feb 12, 2017 - Director in Charleston, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Extremely customer focused organization and leaders. Great teaming amongst associates who really work to help each other out. There is definitely a "can do" culture. Focus is on investment for future success versus just short team profits. Young employee base who are very eager to take on broader roles and make a difference.

      Cons

      Growth has outpaced some of the operational processes but good efforts and initiatives are underway to improve, but some of the challenges had meant some long hours for more experienced associates. Some strong individual contributors have taken on positions where they are now finding it challenging to drive the changes needed given limited experience and exposure, but in response we are seeing more mid level and higher level leaders be hired from the outside to help bring in additional experiences and help shape things for the future.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Benefitfocus Response

      Manager of Community and Culture

      We appreciate your review.

    7. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Please avoid working here is you can

      Dec 23, 2015 - Implementation Consultant in Charleston, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      free soda and potential to work from home when needed

      Cons

      Where to start. Everyone that has asked about working for Benefitfocus, I always say "all the bad things you here are true." Sadly this company is terrible to work for. Mangers are completely inept or nonexistent. They are never available to help you, so you are left to your own devices. There is a complete lack of training as well. Essentially, you are set up to fail from the start. If anyone is thinking of working for this company, please make sure you are ready to spent long hours and time away from family in order to be over worked because they never staff enough. I had to spend time away from family on Thanksgiving for this reason. Also, so many people leave this company because it is so bad, which results in more pressure and over working the employees even more so. I can say that within the last 3 months, we have lost 10 people in our dept. That pretty much sums up how bad this company is. Please avoid working for this company if you can, it has only been getting worse. Don’t believe the “Best Places to Work” tag. It’s best to find a company that values and stands behind their employees.

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Not like everywhere else, and that's a great thing.

      Mar 4, 2015 - Instructional Designer in Charleston, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You will be hard-pressed to find a more friendly and welcoming work environment. They set you up for success by taking care of a lot of the little things like making food easily accessible on campus, free Starbucks coffee and a lot of local perks. Collaboration is a strong pro: your colleagues are very willing to help and share knowledge about their area of expertise. Working in Charleston, SC is also a huge plus: one of the most beautiful cities in the world. Another pro is that you will have the opportunity to be creative with the work you produce, which is hard to find.

      Cons

      You will have no shortage of work to do, but this can also be a pro. I perform some of my best work when I am busy, but be prepared for some long hours.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee

      What's the cheapest way we can keep employees from leaving en masse?

      Apr 16, 2012 -  in Charleston, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      As with anywhere, your experience will vary depending on your department and manager. You're going to be working alongside some great people, and it's not so bad if you can maintain a sense of humor about all the absurdity you'll see. Charleston, SC, isn't the worst place to live. Greenville is also a cool little high country town. Benefitfocus seems to hire a lot of software engineers recently out of college (they're cheap!), and for those young people it can be a great place to get started on a career...

      Cons

      ...But Benefitfocus seems to have a hard time holding on to the more experienced employees, and it's not hard to see why. High stress, low rewards. The churn rate is high with the long hours many employees are putting in every release cycle. Yearly employee reviews have been consolidated to one month, so every year now there's Firing Season. The company throws peanuts at the employees to keep them placated. Things like vegetable trays once per week, a free lunch once per month, and cheap sodas. The actual benefits (insurance, vacation time, 401k matching) are solidly mediocre in the software industry. Experienced employees are no longer 24-year-olds without families, so those things matter more than cheap sodas. The Charleston office is on Daniel Island, which is great if you're wealthy enough to live there. As a rank-and-file employee, you will be forced to drive on I-526, so no options for bike commuting! Rush hour traffic across the Don Holt bridge is a crap shoot. A few more points: outsourcing, cowbells, open floor plan workspaces, upper management drama, and the Finance Department rules the land.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee

      A decent place to get experience and then get out

      Apr 12, 2010 - Implementation Manager in Daniel Island, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The location is nice, the people (mostly) are hard working, and you can gain some decent experience to make yourself attractive to other employers who will treat you with respect.

      Cons

      The benefits are crap, the expectations and hours are ridiculous, the upper management tends to be incompetent, and most people are miserable and seem to dread showing up every day. You will be expected to put in long hours for no extra compensation and will rarely receive praise for a job well done, but you will be reprimanded/blamed when things go wrong (which they inevitably do). The open office environment is very distracting and not conducive to being productive.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 48 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Benefitfocus Job Seekers

    Customer Success Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Benefitfocus? Share Your Experiences

    or