KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Benefitfocus

Is this your company?

Benefitfocus

Add a Review

Benefitfocus Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated May 11, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 46 of over 888 reviews

2.9
39%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Benefitfocus President and CEO Steve Swad
Steve Swad
38 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people, colleagues to work with(in 51 reviews)

  • "Casual collaborative work environment(in 47 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Disorganized, poor leadership, no work life balance(in 53 reviews)

  • "There are long hours, fire drills, and you're going to be asked to work harder(in 48 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Benefitfocus and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "work environment"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Opportunity to Grow in Your Career

      Oct 20, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Charleston, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Starting with the hiring process to onboarding and through my first 1.5 years with the company, I've been very impressed and thankful to work for a company that shows concern for its associates. Investment is made in training when you join Benefitfocus and then ongoing training whether that's on-site or attending relevant conferences. And in terms of career progression, it's the first company I've worked for that has a detailed career map showing you exactly what progressing through different roles would look like. I also really appreciate the opportunities to hear from senior leadership through culture sessions with the CEO and Q&A sessions with leaders across the company. They go to great lengths to give all associates the ability to get their questions answered and work towards an open, transparent atmosphere. The physical work environment is great with modern work spaces and perks like weekly fruit/vegetable trays, food trucks, and more. There's a lot of flexibility for good work/life balance as well.

      Cons

      Not an environment everyone is well-suited for. If you don't like fast-paced and being pushed to think outside the box, it's not the place for you. No company is perfect, but the pros far outweigh the cons.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Benefitfocus Response

      Human Resources

      We are glad you are benefiting from various training opportunities, myMap, and the Q&A sessions. We will continue to keep our customers at the heart and look forward to having you on the journey. Please share any specific product or customer suggestions in our company forums. Thank you for your honest feedback.

    2. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Not what it used to be

      May 11, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People, beautiful campus, flexible work environment, casual dress code, dogs on campus, fruit/snacks/coffee/soda - but they may be gone forever after covid budget cuts.

      Cons

      Benefitfocus has lost its luster over the last several years. The direction has been erratic, the leadership has been wishy-washy with constant re-orgs, building moves, shifts in products, misplaced spending and more. The stock price tells a bleak story. It declined more than 60% over the last year, well before Coronavirus closed the economy. The declining stock price and recent layoffs have little to do with Covid, although the timing is convenient to help cover the business' descent. Communication is poor. Senior leadership seems to think they communicate transparently, but it's not clear, timely, or transparent. Customer Number 1 is catchy, but associates don't feel like they're number 1. Saving money seems to be number 1. The uncertainty does bring associates together, causing them to form strong relationships to figure out how to do daily work, but that uncertainty doesn't help the business or anyone's career. Can Benefitfocus turn around? Perhaps, but not with the current CEO.

      Continue reading
      19 people found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Excellent Work Environment

      Nov 10, 2019 - Business Analyst in Daniel Island, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Pay, Excellent work Environment Product based but good procedures followed. Management is always ready to listen to what employees had to say. Freedom of speech. Encourages to work from home when absolutely necessary

      Cons

      Location is only the con I feel being on an Island.

      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Needs improvement

      Jan 11, 2019 - Customer Success Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible Relaxed work environment Team involvement

      Cons

      Management is missing the details that are being shared. No one what to take action for what's going on. Lack of accountability from partners No internal urgency around client needs or issues No career growth in the CSM role

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Everyone working there seems miserable

      Aug 7, 2019 - Director in Charleston, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The compensation is ok. Flexible work environment.

      Cons

      Depressing atmosphere. No direction. The left hand has no idea what the right hand is doing.

      8 people found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good Company

      May 8, 2019 - Business Development 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Culture, benefits, work environment, community involvement

      Cons

      Frequent management changes were disruptive

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Supportive and Positive Experience

      Apr 26, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have had the opportunity to work at two great software companies during my work tenure. While the other was based in California and had a definite west coast feel and attitude, Benefitfocus is truly reflective of its home base in Charleston. The work environment is fairly casual, priorities are placed on security and anticipatory service, and the associated are shown care and respect. Through my experience, the company has grown and experienced challenges, but overall the mindsight and goals of the company have not changed from the original core values instilled early on. The compassion for our clients and associates can be seen throughout the year, and the benefits are pretty good to boot, especially for the Charleston area.

      Cons

      As can happen anywhere, when a manager is not up to par, work life can be a challenge. However, as adjustment and realignments are made, new opportunities are available.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Benefitfocus Response

      Manager of Community and Culture

      Thanks for sharing your thoughtful review.

    8. 3.0
      Current Employee

      great company, outdated technology

      May 15, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      perks and benefits, relaxing (for the most part) work environment

      Cons

      "Benefitfocus has the makings of a tech giant" was recently quoted in our local newspaper. Inside the buildings, our wifi works for 30 seconds before buffering and kicking us offline, often times leading us to restart projects therefore being counterproductive. Hard-wiring in is no better. Because we have such horrible technology within our walls, many of us absolutely cannot do our jobs during our working hours, and are resorting to running hotspots off our phones (data not paid for by Benefitfocus), or working remotely which is often not permitted. Sometimes we go home feeling like we didn't do our day's work, and work into the night with the reliable internet of our homes - work/life balance is indeed affected. Our technology and programs we use in house for day-to-day work is completely out of date compared to our competitors, and other tech giants. When bringing this to the attention of those who can fix the problem, feedback falls of deaf ears - even when a confidential email inbox was created to remedy the stigma of providing negative feedback - these emails go unanswered by leadership.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Work hard, play hard and love your job

      Jan 22, 2015 - Sales Support in Charleston, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      No place offers more room for growth and development. I've been here almost a year and i am consistently challenged to learn new things while building on my past skills and experiences. The company values are not simply for posting in a lobby - Benefitfocus lives their values every day and each associate feels it. With our new Customer Success Center, the work environment is amazing. It is the most beautiful place I have ever worked in. Little things make a difference - free Starbucks, soft drinks and snacks for 25 cents, birthday parties, bring your dog to work day, team events and community volunteer efforts.

      Cons

      The pace is fast and the growth is high. If you want a static work environment and boredom, this is not the place for you. During peak times like we had in open enrollment, the work hours increase. It was hard.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      An exciting place to work

      Nov 12, 2009 -  in Charleston, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This unique and innovative work environment provides continual opportunities for professional growth. In the many years I have been with the company I have looked forward to going to work each day. The people are like a family; not only do we work hard together, but we play hard, too.

      Cons

      We work hard and we play hard. If you're a workaholic, like many of us, you can feed your workaholic-ism and work around the clock without trying. There is always something to accomplish and you have to work to provide yourself balance.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 46 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Benefitfocus Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Benefitfocus? Share Your Experiences

    or