Benefitfocus "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Benefitfocus Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
53%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Benefitfocus President and CEO Ray August
Ray August
77 Ratings
Pros
  • "Amazing co workers, Innovative Product, Open to suggestions to make for a better work environment, takes feedback from customers to enhance our product(in 47 reviews)

  • "Great company and great people to work with(in 46 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work/Life balance isn't perfect but it is much better than in years past(in 49 reviews)

  • "You have to work hard and that sometimes means long hours(in 48 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great company who truly has it's associates and customers at the heart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Engineer in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing co workers, Innovative Product, Open to suggestions to make for a better work environment, takes feedback from customers to enhance our product. Our associates truly want our customers to have an amazing experience.

    Cons

    As with all companies, change is hard. We have grown from a private to a public company in the time that I've been employed. This makes for a rough transition at times but we are truly on the other side of that transition. At the end of the day, this is a job. You have to work hard and that sometimes means long hours. Work/Life balance isn't perfect but it is much better than in years past.

    Advice to Management

    Be a learner not a knower. Acknowledge your employees when they do something well - we're all adults but everyone needs affirmation every now and then. Make it a point to connect with them to give them kudos - don't let the only time they hear from you be when you need something from them.

    Benefitfocus2019-06-26
  2. Helpful (3)

    "My role and department, great! The rest needs work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Benefitfocus full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    In my department, everything was too good to be true! Great manager, team, work-life balance.. 100% amazing, so nothing to complain about.

    Cons

    The company is always restructuring. Whether that means downsizing employees or replacing senior management (which looks bad to investors, lowering the stock prices).

    Advice to Management

    Most employees can work remote these days. If you don’t have 3 buildings on Daniel Island, along with multiple across the US to pay for, maybe you can keep employees rather than laying them off.

    Benefitfocus2019-09-20
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Circling The Drain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Managers do not micromanage ( probably because they don’t have time ).

    Cons

    Teammates used to be great and work together but everyone is stretched too think and very unhappy. All that “leadership” cares about is hitting their revenue numbers so they can get their bonus. They don’t seem to care the price their employees are paying for it. No work life balance anymore.

    Advice to Management

    Pay more attention and take care of your employees and the numbers will fall into place. Employees are the greatest asset to a company but Benefitfocus does not treat us this way but they wonder why people are leaving.

    Benefitfocus2019-09-22
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Do not be brainwashed into thinking this is even an OK place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Benefitfocus full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay is moderate and you can gain experience. There is also free coffee although you can’t drink that at 3am when you’re still WORKING and back at 8am the next day.

    Cons

    Terrible training, very weird work environment, and not an encouraging or positive environment. Horrible work/life balance and almost a cult-like environment where you cannot succeed without failing, but not in a “fail fast” way. It’s absolutely not where you want to work.

    Advice to Management

    My advice is to senior management, try to hire people who are educated in the business and not simply managerial roles as the teams are not capable of training others, and the current managers are not capable of pulling their heads out of their arses quickly enough to realize they are all stuck in the mess together.

    Benefitfocus2019-10-15
  5. "Good Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Development Representative 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Benefitfocus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, great work, great benefits. Good work life balance

    Cons

    No Cons, great place to work

    Benefitfocus2019-08-14
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Run don't walk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Analyst 

    I worked at Benefitfocus full-time

    Pros

    Free soda, coffee , fruit.

    Cons

    Long hours, low pay, no work life balance. Promotions are based on personality and who you are friends with, not talent. No time off during holidays. Not friendly towards single parents. Constant reorganizing.

    Benefitfocus2019-06-15
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Not the best place, but not the worst place."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I worked at Benefitfocus full-time (7 years)

    Cons

    It's hard to have a work/life balance.

    Benefitfocus2019-04-17
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Great SC SaaS Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Network Engineer in Greenville, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Benefitfocus full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    * Great Work Life Balance (Datacenter Infrastructure) * Tons of PTO - Increases every 2 years * Awesome Teammates and Management * Annual Merit Increase * Growing Company - Rapid changes present learning opportunities with new tech for motivated individuals * 401k Match (3% if you contribute 6%) - Also some good growth funds if you don't go with the default selections * New CEO and Management revamping the... product line * Management appreciation, hard/smart/quality work does not go unnoticed

    Show More

    Cons

    * Project focus sometimes does a 180 - You might be working on a project for 6 months only to find that work for nullified * Q4 Project Budgeting can feel extremely rushed if if a project doesn't get approved it can sit on the docket for years * Company becoming public changed the culture almost overnight * CEO and Founder leaving brought some pretty significant changes * High turnover in C level, VP, and... Director roles

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    * Keep up the good work * API centric frameworks should be at top of mind * Apply more focus to Containerization and Microservice frameworks * More homegrown open-source solutions and Less High CapEX High OpEX turn-key solutions = Competitive Advantage * HSA integration with third party financial tools (mint/quick books) would be nice

    Benefitfocus2019-02-02
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time

    Pros

    A lot of room for career progression. Great atmosphere and friendly colleagues. Culture and values are great and well thought out to align with the majority of associates.

    Cons

    Work/life balance can be a little off at times.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Benefitfocus2018-08-14
  10. "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Ae in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They provide for work life balance.

    Cons

    Change in Management is very dramatic.

    Advice to Management

    Due to change in management consistency has yet to be established.

    Benefitfocus2018-05-10
Found 69 reviews