KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Benjamin Moore

Is this your company?

Benjamin Moore

Add a Review

Benjamin Moore Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Nov 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 26 of over 599 reviews

4.0
81%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Benjamin Moore President and COO Dan Calkins
Dan Calkins
59 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free Lunch, Team Support, Co-Curricular Activities, Lots of Events(in 106 reviews)

  • "Good work/life balance depending on what team you are on/your work, and your manager(in 32 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Not sure if upper management understands the hurdles that need to be overcome to execute business plan(in 26 reviews)

  • "Leadership and senior management is sneaky and not transparent whatsoever(in 18 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Benjamin Moore and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Getting better

      Oct 2, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great heritage, best products in market, smart owners (Berkshire). Best brand in the industry.

      Cons

      A lot of changes in upper management; an old-boy culture that's changing (but not yet fast enough)

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Bad management

      Nov 3, 2020 - Customer Service Representative in Flanders, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free lunches and Good benefits. (Vision)

      Cons

      Favoritism , cut throat , bad management . Upper management has no clue of what is going on in the department.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      A work in progress

      Jul 31, 2014 - Marketing Specialist in Montvale, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company has a great history or making the finest quality paints and its still true today. Nobody has a better product. The people working here in general are competent, want to contribute and want to see the company do better. There is still some culture of support for the employees and a bit of genuine concern for the people who work here and this is getting better under the new CEO.

      Cons

      Everything is decided by committee. Middle and much of upper management have lived in fear for the past 5 years that they would be disposed of on a moments notice and in my opinion that has lead to the culture of every decision is a group decison, therefore it is hard to hold any single person accountable. Its a safety in numbers approach. The focus on priorities has changed so many times in the past few years that no goal ever seems to be fully achieved and with every new goal old goals are forgotten. Far too many projects and deliverables are orphaned as soon as they are done and no more financial and people resources continue to be dedicated to ongoing support. Even some of the most basic tools provided to our customers come and go with budget cycles because of lack of forecasting and planning by people who have been living this business for many years and decades.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Disapointing outlook as an employee of this once great company

      Aug 1, 2014 - Field Sales Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The best reasons to work here are the relationships with my accounts and the fact that i work in the field and not an office. I can utilize my skills to the benefit of my family and my customers.

      Cons

      I don't believe the upper management, nor my immediate boss appreciates what longevity in this business brings to the dealer base we serve and the moment they feel we aren't performing at a particular time or period, they look to find reasons to fire or retire those with higher saleries to be replaced with young people who offer very little in terms of paint and paint industry knowledge at a great disservice to the retailers we sell to.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee

      It is as bad as everyone is saying

      Jul 28, 2016 - Accounting 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Honestly, BM was the worst work experience I have ever had. I did meet many good people that were/are with the company for many years. The free lunch would be another pro and that is it.

      Cons

      Where should I start. When initially interviewing I was never told that they were laying off 50% of the accounting group and I walked into a very hostile environment. No support whatsoever, was stuck in meetings all day and was expected to do the work of 5. I would come in at 7am many times and wouldn't leave until after 7pm because our "boss" would schedule meetings with me at 7pm...I went through 4 managers and many many coworkers because they were told the same things I was told in the beginning then they would realize the reality and quit. I have a count of 31 people that left due to the same issues and same individual (which is not surprisingly still there!). The only times I saw promotions was every time a manager would quit "he" would promote the kiss-assers to "cover up" another loss. The only reason upper management hasn't done anything is because they are all in bed with eachother. They receive 2 bonuses (1 being an executive). The time I was there 2 senior VP's were promoted to executive VP's and others were promoted to senior VP's...hmmmm...

      Continue reading
      28 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      A positive experience with caring and highly professional coworkers

      Aug 6, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Each member of the market I am involved in is very considerate and professional. It is almost always a good experience working with them. The benefits the company provides supersede any benefits of the companies my peers work for. I finally have direction in my job and can see how my work benefits the company as a whole.

      Cons

      Sometimes it feels unstable at the corporate level. Many recent turn-overs in the company's upper management is unsettling. It's sometimes difficult to know where you stand and employees seemingly leave the company with little to no reasoning behind it. Many programs that come out from corporate, including marketing programs, aren't fully "cooked' when they come out.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Awful

      Jul 30, 2013 - Marketing Specialist in Montvale, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Its history and the committed independent retailer are a real positive. The brand has a great awareness from its 130 years of excellence, the last 10 years notwithstanding. The retailer loyalty is still strong despite managements assault on it by jamming products into their stores which they cannot sell, raising prices oin the products that do sell until they can't sell and an alignment program that either traps them or drops them.

      Cons

      Too many to list but mid/upper management is a disaster,The middle and upper management have tried hard to push them away. They have gratitated into management position to which they have no experience. They have been promoting their friends and lackeys for a decade and compounded the problem by sending packing anyone with the nerve to dissent to the policies which have resulted in the shrinking of the business. They have lost several smart and caring men and women this way. Its a clasic example of a group that wishes to protect their jobs than find new busines. They fired the CEO last year and brought in a new man, but until they replace the old guard, who brought the company from 1 billion dollars in sales down to 600 million, they will only go sideways at best.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Unfortunately still run in the good ole boy management style

      Aug 22, 2012 - Supply Chain Manager in Pell City, AL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      For a period of time shortly after being purchased by Buffet they were trying to modernize their systems and employee base. However after the real estate bubble burst and the overall housing market fell they went through several work force reductions and the layers of the onion were peeled back.

      Cons

      Upper management are basically composed of good ole boys. Men who have been there most of their work careers, many who worked their way up from the bottom. Some are decent human beings, others are not. However they all pretty much protect each other. If one who is not a good human being finds himself threathned by your talents, the good ones will not come to your defense.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Depressing Place to Work

      Apr 5, 2014 - Sales Manager in Montvale, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free lunch and memories of a once thriving enterprise

      Cons

      It is an unmitigated disaster at Benjamin Moore. Sales and morale have been on a downward trajectory since 2007. The "New" most upper management has no idea about the paint business, but job preservation instincts are preventing them from reaching out to people who know the business, and care about the people who would carry it out. The people in senior management,also devoid of practical knowledge, come to the company halls daily with an entire lack empathy and in many cases decency. The people in mid management, whose cronyism miraculously helped them survive the countless layoffs since 2008 are actually doing damage daily to the rank and file and to the future prospects of the company. The combined result is exceedingly poor morale, poor commitment by staff and the poorest results in company history....and all heading lower.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Lost with no direction

      Mar 18, 2014 - Assistant Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very hard working STORE LEVEL employees, a product once known for being something of great quality, strangely loyal customers that are still buying a product hoping that it will preform in the way it did the week before.

      Cons

      The fact that everything this company does makes no sense and is amazing that Warren Buffett hasn't fired every over paid member of "upper management" boogles the mind. The grossly bloated salaries of the individuals running a once great product into the ground while the employees at the store level die a slow death trying to scrape by a living off of the scraps that corporate tosses down is unfathomable.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 26 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Benjamin Moore Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Benjamin Moore? Share Your Experiences

    or