Bentley Systems Reviews | Glassdoor

Bentley Systems Reviews

Updated October 16, 2017
389 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

389 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • good work life balance is possible in some situations (in 61 reviews)

  • The work environment is positive and all colleagues are friendly and helpful (in 48 reviews)

Cons
  • i) Most of the reviews say there is a good work life balance (in 8 reviews)

  • Middle management have problems with communication (in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Senior Learning Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bentley Systems full-time

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule. Everyone on my team is easy to work with. Team goals are communicated clearly.

    Cons

    The high deductible medical plan

    Bentley Systems Response

    Jun 19, 2017 – Senior Talent Acquisition Specialist

    We are pleased to hear how positive your work experience has been at Bentley. We hope your happiness continues!


  2. "Nice people. Excellent work place."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Engineer in Madison, AL
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Engineer in Madison, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bentley Systems full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good management. My boss set expectations and gave excellent feedback

    Cons

    Large Organization sometimes made getting things done difficult.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Bentley Systems Response

    Apr 24, 2017 – Senior Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thanks so much for the good feedback. We appreciate both positive and negative feedback, knowing that this helps us to improve in the future.

  3. Helpful (2)

    "Love colleagues and customers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Consultant in Tampa, FL
    Current Employee - Consultant in Tampa, FL
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bentley Systems full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Diverse Customer Base, Multi-cultural colleagues many opportunities to work across platforms with others who have different skill set. New employees will most likely be brought in with the new salary/bonus split and will not suffer the inability to see a raise in their future.

    Cons

    Low Pay, confusing bonus structure (can not depend on receiving any bonuses, etc.), new pay structure that required some colleagues to take a cut in base salary with no guarantee that bonuses would be awarded), not much opportunity for promotion, boy's club mentality, some level of micromanagement for virtual employees, difficult colleagues with more than 20 years service are allowed to do whatever they want without any repercussions (even if it is degrading to other colleagues).

    Bentley Systems Response

    Jun 23, 2017 – HR Operations Partner, US

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. Feedback lets us know what pain points exist and shows us where we can focus our attention to make improvements. Recently we’ve rolled out manager... More


  4. "Bentley Systems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Bentley Systems full-time

    Pros

    Great work environment. The culture is genuinely friendly and people here like working here. It's a family oriented company that really fosters work-life balance.

    Cons

    Salaries are little low as compared to other software companies. It's a private company, the career development plans for the current employees aren't really structured.

    Advice to Management

    The focus for Executive Leaders is to come up with a structured pay scale and development path for employees.

    Bentley Systems Response

    Oct 16, 2017 – Senior Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thanks again for your review and recommendations for improvement.


  5. "Company Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technology Specialist in Exton, PA
    Current Employee - Technology Specialist in Exton, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bentley Systems full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Bentley Systems is a very good company to work for. The work environment is positive and all colleagues are friendly and helpful. The company itself really innovative and so it is a great place where you can learn new technologies.

    Cons

    Sometime you have to help yourself to figure out how to do things.

    Advice to Management

    A more comprehensive training sessions about the global vision of the company's products and goals could be helpful.

    Bentley Systems Response

    Oct 16, 2017 – HR for Bentley

    We appreciate your review and are continuing to review our onboarding efforts to bring all (new) colleagues the information they need to be successful.


  6. "Account Manager - Loving It"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Exton, PA
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Exton, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bentley Systems full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Bentley really allows me to decide strategies and try new things in my territories. Management is open to new ideas and processes. Lot's of opportunity for professional development.

    Cons

    Planning activies can sometimes get in the way of actual engagement. But once a workplan is set to go it's great to watch it unfold.

    Advice to Management

    Keep leveraging sales systems. Reduce manual processes where possible.

    Bentley Systems Response

    Apr 24, 2017 – Senior Talent Acquisition Specialist

    We are glad that you are loving your new role and hope that your new work situation continues to evolve and provide you with the professional development you desire.


  7. "Not a good week to ask"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bentley Systems full-time

    Pros

    There are a lot of great things about working for Bentley. The people, for 1, are genuine, real and motivated. Each really wants the best for those that use the products.
    There isn't a lot of red tape and the customers you work with are great.

    Cons

    Once you have found your niche, there are very few opportunities to move up.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more skilled workers!

    Bentley Systems Response

    Mar 3, 2017 – Senior Talent Acquisition Specialist

    We hear it from many colleagues, too - the people here at Bentley are what keeps colleagues here. Thank you for your review.

  8. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Bentley Systems full-time

    Pros

    Bentley is a hidden gem. While well known in their own field, they are a quiet powerhouse to those unfamiliar with the construction/engineering software field. Internally, it has a supportive, open, collaborative feeling. Different departments value each other and are given opportunities to recognize that value. Management trusts direct reports and treats them with professional respect. All the while, people work hard, but have a healthy life-work balance. There's also a lot of international collaboration that is fairly seamless through the excellent communication system.

    Cons

    Certain departments have bureaucratic and overly complex processes in place that could benefit from updating.

    Bentley Systems Response

    Feb 22, 2017 – Senior Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thanks for the review - we are a powerhouse in the industry and will continue to be!


  9. "Visual Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Worked from home. Was able to participate in interesting meetings. Had the opportunity to travel.

    Cons

    There was an extreme problem of fake and misleading personalites. The culture at Bentley was stuffy and ignorant.

    Advice to Management

    Be honest.

    Bentley Systems Response

    Oct 16, 2017 – HR for Bentley

    We are sorry that you did not have a better experience with Bentley but hope that some of your cons that you have experienced during your time with us have since been address with senior leaders as... More


  10. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bentley Systems full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Work life balance is top notch. Many people leave for what they perceive as greener pastures and come back. The products are really strong, particularly for large projects and large customers.

    Cons

    People flock to the inferior but much larger competitor without analysis.

    Advice to Management

    Stay the course!

    Bentley Systems Response

    Feb 22, 2017 – Senior Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thanks so much for the review. We do have quite a few people who return to Bentley after leaving, and it says something for our culture that they want to return.


Showing 389 of 437 reviews
Reset Filters