Bentley's Pet Stuff Reviews | Glassdoor

Bentley's Pet Stuff Reviews

Updated Jun 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 110 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Bentley's Pet Stuff CEO Lisa Senafe
Lisa Senafe
82 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Manipulation from home office, two faced upper management employees, and lack of care towards anyone who gets in their way(in 15 reviews)

  • "The home office is extremely difficult to work with(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Still love it after 2 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Lead 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bentley's Pet Stuff full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic customers and co-workers. Employee feeding and benefits. Normal work schedule

    Cons

    Yes the cons are true. Company struggled with budgets and opening too many stores. But we're still here and I hope the owners make it threw.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the Lisa's Brand Promise alive. I was a customer first and then an employee. Keep our store stocked!! Home office listen to the stores, we know the reality of what's going on ! But overall, I will work here until you make me leave LOL

    Bentley's Pet Stuff2019-06-22
  2. "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bentley's Pet Stuff

    Pros

    Growth opportunities, company values employees and promotes creativity

    Cons

    Company is growing and learning which is not an environment that is right for everybody

    Bentley's Pet Stuff2019-06-12
  3. Helpful (2)

    "A mixed bag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Bentley's Pet Stuff full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pet nutrition education, close-knit, has a local pet store feel, nice regular customers, cute dogs

    Cons

    Inconsistent policies, ever-changing rules from upper management/Home office, unclear if the company is going bankrupt, tight budgets and micromanaging from those implementing the budgets despite them not being in the store (and when they used to not do this), being yelled at by customers because we don’t have the products they normally buy because of restrictions implemented by Home office, somehow being one of the best...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    When you implement a policy, a change, a sale, a budget, a rule—be consistent! Customers are getting annoyed as well and it makes us look bad. I like working here but job security is a real issue because they keep closing stores with short notice and ending up in lawsuits. Foundation is shaky.

    Bentley's Pet Stuff2019-06-09
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Don't love it too long"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Floater 

    I worked at Bentley's Pet Stuff full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Working with animals - Help pets live longer

    Cons

    - Home Office is always confused and going over owners head because they know he'll react negatively. - Shutdown multiple locations and only gave a 4 hour notice. The employees recieved a call telling them to pack their stuff and leave.

    Advice to Management

    Get it together so we can help more animals please.

    Bentley's Pet Stuff2019-05-14
  5. "Run. There are better places to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Bentley's Pet Stuff full-time

    Pros

    Customers, co workers, pets, rewarding to help pets

    Cons

    No job security, no transparency from upper management or home office. Store closings, budget cuts, never having product to sell so customers go elsewhere . I’ve never seen a company that claims to care about their employees care so little in actuality.

    Advice to Management

    Sell the rest of the stores while they still have a chance!

    Bentley's Pet Stuff2019-06-20
  6. Helpful (2)

    "I loved it until I hated it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pet Consultant in Savannah, GA
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bentley's Pet Stuff full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of really sweet customers, daily interaction with great pups, great education on pet nutrition, 401K

    Cons

    not enough hours or high enough wages, budget constraints keep you from having the product you need in your stores which leads to angry customers on a daily basis, weird tension between stores, gossipy upper management

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees with respect. If you're going to shut down 20 stores at least have the common decency of letting your employees know more than 3 days in advance. My store wasn't shut down, but the way the company handled the closings made me lose all respect for them, and had me really concerned about my own job security. Also get better insurance, what Bentley's offers is a joke.

    Bentley's Pet Stuff2019-05-03
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Store Team Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bentley's Pet Stuff full-time

    Pros

    Customers and their pets are the best about working here.

    Cons

    The Company is financially struggling and many have concerns of being paid. The upper field leadership has no experience managing people at this level and believe that action plans and write ups are motivational. Too much back biting and gossip to make it fun. The constant complaining of sales make you feel inadequate daily.

    Advice to Management

    Sell to someone that knows how to run a company and motivate employees.

    Bentley's Pet Stuff2019-05-28
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Sad Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Lead 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bentley's Pet Stuff full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Animals, educatuon. Customers, fellow co workers.

    Cons

    Horrible business model, no raises, no bonus. Treat employee's horribly.

    Bentley's Pet Stuff2019-04-22
  9. Helpful (11)

    "Company is crumbling, Finances in shambles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Long Grove, IL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Bentley's Pet Stuff full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      There are no pros at this time.

      Cons

      The owners are bullies especially the husband. No job security. Treats everyone at the home office like they are nobody. Can't work for a company like this.

      Advice to Management

      Be truthful about the overall financial state of the company. They cannot pay rent or their vendors. Had a consultant in to make changes and she was doing all the right things for the company. Home office had a lot of hope for a turn-around, husband pushed her out with his bully behavior. Finance team is a mess - CFO cannot keep good employees and also acts like his boss. Home office management team needs to wake-up.

      Bentley's Pet Stuff2019-04-02
    • Helpful (8)

      "Please put the stores that are still open out of their misery"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Manager 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Bentley's Pet Stuff full-time

      Pros

      None that I can think of

      Cons

      The rollercoaster that is Bentley’s has some ups but extremely low lows. Dishonesty from home office is rampant and there is literally NO job security. I spent MANY sleepless nights full of insecurity and worry due to the constant mixed messages sent out from home office. Loyal employees were let go without notice and no severance pay. Stores closed with 3 days notice, which is better than they treated previous closings...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      You have some good and loyal employees left. Please stop treating them poorly.

      Bentley's Pet Stuff2019-03-14
    Found 110 reviews