KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt

Benton Express

Is this your company?

Benton Express

Add a Review

Benton Express Reviews

Updated Aug 16, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 of over 15 reviews

2.1
20%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
Benton Express President Chip Matthews (no image)
Chip Matthews
8 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Good

    Nov 8, 2014 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The pay and benefits are fair

    Cons

    No complaints my experience with Benton was positive

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    The worst company I have ever worked for.

    Nov 1, 2014 - P&D Driver in Fort Myers, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I can't think of a single one.

    Cons

    The pay is horrible. $14.50 an hour. No employer match on 401k. They even stole our 401k money for a quarter and said it was a computer glitch. Gave money back plus 10 percent but they still stole it. If you steal my car with a empty tank of gas but return it 3 months later with a full tank, you still stole my car. The equipment is falling apart. Management at every level is in over there heads, don't have a clue. They don't pay on Fridays, no direct deposit. Pay is on Saturday, Monday, or Tuesday. You never know. This place is a joke.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Very disorganized and hopeless pay rates due to "economy"

    Jul 19, 2012 - Sales in Calhoun, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very flexible schedule. Quite lenient. Comfortable.

    Cons

    Dog eat dog in every aspect of the company. Tyrant type supervising. About 4-5 years ago when the economy plumited, they cut everyone's pay in 5% incriments, which lead to a total of a 15% decrease in pay... and to this day they have no intentions of giving that money back. They dont have any kind of incentives. It's a shame beacause the owners and "higher ups" in the owners "click" are payed a very healthy salary while the rest of the company scrambles to feed their family. Why is this so bad? Beause it happened to everyone, including but not limited to the lot of people that have been dedicated to this company for 20+ years so it's hard to leave a company after you've been there that long and try so hard to be hopeful that they will catch up with the rest of the country. We are one of the few companies left that are still using the "economy" excuse.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    This company is dead!

    Nov 5, 2014 - P&D Driver in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You get a paycheck, a small one that is not even close to any comparable freight company.

    Cons

    No raises period! Drivers been here 2-3 years start at $13.50 and finally quit at $13.50. And the company is so financially unstable they take money away in 5% increments and then that wasn't enough they stole another 5%. It is embarrassing working here at benton because the run down looking terminals and awful trucks and trailers. They are unable to pay there bills. I walk with my head down in shame!

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good!

    Dec 14, 2014 - Truck Driver in Kansas City, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I love working on this place since it is the freaking best company on earth!

    Cons

    sometimes, i kinda feel like it's not my passion to drive a truck...

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    First day at work and saw the truck that I would drive, I thought to myself "What the hell have I signed up for?"

    Dec 12, 2014 - LTL City Driver in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Probably less strict and more laid back than other freight companies. Would be a good starter job in the LTL business to get experience but dont settle in for the long haul. This ship is sinking.

    Cons

    The lowest pay in the LTL business. Terrible trucks and equipment. Many of the trucks are from the mid 90s. Maintenance and training are practically nonexistant. Trailers are already wore out when they bought them used and send you out with expired inspection stickers. Building and grounds unmaintained.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    manager of quality assurance

    Sep 3, 2015 - Corporate Freight Claims Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benton has closed permantly... They have gone out of business. This would not be suitable for anyone as there is no company to review.

    Cons

    They have gone out of business, there are no reviews to give as there is no current operations, closed on February 13,2015.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee

    1

    Nov 3, 2015 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    started out to be a good company to work for. thought I would retire from this company, enjoyed working there, until things went sour.

    Cons

    economy went bad, they started taking away benefits, our pay rates were decreased by 15%, not such a good place to work, they eventually closed up.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    On the edge of bankruptcy!!!

    Oct 22, 2014 - P&D Driver in Tampa, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are none. The place is falling apart.

    Cons

    Unsafe equipment, disregard for safety, lower pay than the competitors offer.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    driver

    Jan 30, 2014 - Driver in Miami, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    all the hours you can get

    Cons

    no overtime pay for you work

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 15 Reviews

Work at Benton Express? Share Your Experiences

or