Bergelectric Electrician Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Electrician

Bergelectric Electrician Reviews

Updated Feb 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
36%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Bill Wingerning
6 Ratings
  1. "Journeyman Electrician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Journeyman Electrician in El Paso, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bergelectric full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    Great company to grow

    Bergelectric2018-01-27
  2. Helpful (1)

    "lots of work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Journeyman Electrician in San Diego, CA

    I worked at Bergelectric full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    lots of work. no days off

    Cons

    when things slow down you are disposable

    Advice to Management

    need to develope a better culture

    Bergelectric2019-02-12
  3. Helpful (2)

    "1st year apprentice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Apprentice Electrician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Bergelectric full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are some good people that work here

    Cons

    I felt like an inmate in a prison.. My foreman did not care about us at all

    Advice to Management

    Learn how to treat people so they want to keep working for you

    Bergelectric2017-08-31
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Your just a number"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrician in Sacramento, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bergelectric full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Prevailing wage work is what they get mostly unless you do small private work. Long jobs typically and some service work

    Cons

    Very political and it's about who you know not what you know. They need to work on keep people that are good and treating them with respect. Leading by fear has not worked out well from history

    Advice to Management

    Keep people that are good

    Bergelectric2017-08-21
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Have fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Electrician Apprentice in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bergelectric full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hmmm can't really put much here. I'd say pass this company up for your own sake. Tight inner circle. If they don't like you for whatever reason you're screwed.

    Cons

    Poor benefits Fight for your paid sick days Screwed up checks constantly O.T. Is own time Don't report an injury or else Politics politics politics Promote the bad hand and lay off the good one Training is useless Enjoy skipping your breaks Disconnected with the field workers Lots of micromanaging

    Advice to Management

    Wish I could've had a better experience. Listen to your field employees. They make the money not you.

    Bergelectric2017-08-01
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Running, running, and even more running."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrician Apprentice in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bergelectric full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Wages are ok since they are mandated by the state of California. Some journeymen are very good to work with. WECA state apprenticeship program is amazing for apprentices.

    Cons

    Foreman and site crew are completely disconnected from office personnel. Foreman constantly takes advantage of close proximity to job site and doesn't always take all required breaks. Complaints go unheard and if you do complain, they send an evaluation immediately to your foreman with zero calls from the office or HR to you. On prevailing wage jobs Bergelectric takes from its journeymen and foremen to subsidize the cost...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get more involved with the little guys. We may not make as much as you do, but we would love to see a project succeed and maybe get a little credit for that happening.

    Bergelectric2017-06-28
  7. "Journeyman Wireman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Journeyman Electrician in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bergelectric full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, benefits, holiday pay, room for advancement

    Cons

    Big layoffs, travel required, just a number

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the weak employees and take better care of good emploees

    Bergelectric2017-05-22
  8. Helpful (2)

    "A Reverse Robin Hood Kind of Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Journeyman Electrician in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bergelectric for less than a year

    Pros

    ......They want us to put here that they offer health insurance, and finally implemented paid holidays and sick time to field employees after everybody took off for greener pastures, but there are still no pros. I feel bad for anyone that ends up on a non prevailing wage job.

    Cons

    No vacation time, they want you to buy all your own power tools, surprised they provide tuggers still, that's probably in the next corporate meeting. The health insurance is so so expensive for a family, highest I've ever seen or heard of. They preach safety, but in reality it's all about production, they're trying to get the job done and get their bonuses. Horrible environment for a regular blue collar worker.

    Advice to Management

    You'd think you were working in a developing country looking at the pay scale, cost of benefits, and overall lack of morale. There's a burger joint in Seattle that offers 100% paid medical benefits and 22k/yr tuition reimbursement. Crazy what's possible when you're not motivated by greed.

    Bergelectric2017-04-14
  9. Helpful (2)

    "If you want anything more than to stay working, you may have a hard time here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrician 

    I have been working at Bergelectric full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They are huge so have deep enough pockets to pay well and they get a lot of work so you will stay working

    Cons

    Too much of a who you know over what you know type of culture.

    Bergelectric2017-02-08
  10. Helpful (1)

    "journeyman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Journeyman Electrician in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bergelectric full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    it was the best company that i worked at

    Cons

    they need to do some employee refresher classes for code

    Bergelectric2017-02-07
Found 21 reviews