Bergelectric Reviews | Glassdoor

Bergelectric Reviews

Updated Jul 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 68 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Bill Wingerning
16 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Average Corporation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in El Paso, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bergelectric full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    401K, Holiday Celebrations and good work/life balance

    Cons

    Run by mens club at the top, not innovative or open to new/current ideas. Example: Switched the entire company from Outlook to Gmail, what a joke!

    Advice to Management

    Invest in a learning dept aside from safety, give your employees a reason to want to stay. Listen to your employee's, especially fresh out of college, they are a little more current on IT/software advances that could benefit the company and revamp its outdated operating systems. It's a paper company when nowadays everyone is electronic.

    Bergelectric2017-11-08
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Run away and go work elsewhere. Cheap people that break labor laws."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bergelectric full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Only a stop gap until you find another job.

    Cons

    Not even a worthwhile place to put on your Resume. Deplorable treatment and low wages. Make sure that if you work in the field they give you your 30 minute lunch, and two 10 minute breaks. They have known for 10 years that they have to, but don't. Also don't expect make more money otherwise you'll soon be laid off. Be careful as well they fabricate write ups after you leave to justify letting you go.

    Advice to Management

    No. Keep investing in inept and crooked management it will catch up to you.

    Bergelectric2017-10-31
  3. "Working at Bergelectric"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Escondido, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bergelectric full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    * Family atmosphere for such a large company...(great corporate culture) * Yearly bonuses * Community and Charity outreach * In house Continuing Education Units for our Journeymen * Very stable company (over 70 years!) * Pride in the company and the work we do

    Cons

    I truly feel that as long as you are an honest hard worker, management will always support you.

    Advice to Management

    Continued communication

    Bergelectric2017-09-26
  4. Helpful (2)

    "1st year apprentice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Apprentice Electrician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Bergelectric full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are some good people that work here

    Cons

    I felt like an inmate in a prison.. My foreman did not care about us at all

    Advice to Management

    Learn how to treat people so they want to keep working for you

    Bergelectric2017-08-31
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Your just a number"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrician in Sacramento, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bergelectric full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Prevailing wage work is what they get mostly unless you do small private work. Long jobs typically and some service work

    Cons

    Very political and it's about who you know not what you know. They need to work on keep people that are good and treating them with respect. Leading by fear has not worked out well from history

    Advice to Management

    Keep people that are good

    Bergelectric2017-08-21
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Have fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Electrician Apprentice in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bergelectric full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hmmm can't really put much here. I'd say pass this company up for your own sake. Tight inner circle. If they don't like you for whatever reason you're screwed.

    Cons

    Poor benefits Fight for your paid sick days Screwed up checks constantly O.T. Is own time Don't report an injury or else Politics politics politics Promote the bad hand and lay off the good one Training is useless Enjoy skipping your breaks Disconnected with the field workers Lots of micromanaging

    Advice to Management

    Wish I could've had a better experience. Listen to your field employees. They make the money not you.

    Bergelectric2017-08-01
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Running, running, and even more running."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrician Apprentice in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bergelectric full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Wages are ok since they are mandated by the state of California. Some journeymen are very good to work with. WECA state apprenticeship program is amazing for apprentices.

    Cons

    Foreman and site crew are completely disconnected from office personnel. Foreman constantly takes advantage of close proximity to job site and doesn't always take all required breaks. Complaints go unheard and if you do complain, they send an evaluation immediately to your foreman with zero calls from the office or HR to you. On prevailing wage jobs Bergelectric takes from its journeymen and foremen to subsidize the cost...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get more involved with the little guys. We may not make as much as you do, but we would love to see a project succeed and maybe get a little credit for that happening.

    Bergelectric2017-06-28
  8. "Journeyman Wireman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Journeyman Electrician in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bergelectric full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, benefits, holiday pay, room for advancement

    Cons

    Big layoffs, travel required, just a number

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the weak employees and take better care of good emploees

    Bergelectric2017-05-22
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Payroll Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bergelectric

    Pros

    The employees at Berg are good people. The field workers I've dealt with are honest, hard working men.

    Cons

    Too much bureaucracy. They want to do a lot of things but they are very slow in trying to achieve those goals.

    Advice to Management

    Learn to recognize good talent and make a better effort to keep them

    Bergelectric2017-05-22
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Really Happy at Berg"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bergelectric full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A ton of opportunities for advancement. I've seen a lot of promotions. If you aren't afraid to work hard, you get out what you put in. Great benefits. Not a lot of others give PTO and paid holidays to the field. One of the biggest but still has a homey feel. It's nice to feel like you're not just a number.

    Cons

    Not really a con but standards are really high. If you're looking to collect a check and phone it in, you'll get washed out.

    Bergelectric2017-04-27
Found 68 reviews