Bergelectric Reviews | Glassdoor

Bergelectric Reviews

Updated Jul 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 68 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Bill Wingerning
16 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Former Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bergelectric full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are some good people working out in the field.

    Cons

    Office politics can turn vicious, office personnel get better benefits than field personnel, lack of training for field employees.

    Continue reading
    Bergelectric2017-04-24
  2. Helpful (2)

    "A Reverse Robin Hood Kind of Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Journeyman Electrician in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bergelectric for less than a year

    Pros

    ......They want us to put here that they offer health insurance, and finally implemented paid holidays and sick time to field employees after everybody took off for greener pastures, but there are still no pros. I feel bad for anyone that ends up on a non prevailing wage job.

    Cons

    No vacation time, they want you to buy all your own power tools, surprised they provide tuggers still, that's probably in the next corporate meeting. The health insurance is so so expensive for a family, highest I've ever seen or heard of. They preach safety, but in reality it's all about production, they're trying to get the job done and get their bonuses. Horrible environment for a regular blue collar worker.

    Continue reading
    Bergelectric2017-04-14
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Wanna get yelled at? Want to buy your tools? Want to be lowballed all the time? Then apply."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bergelectric full-time

    Pros

    There is no pros, they try to employ you but will dump you as soon as you get injured. You are a high risk employee.

    Cons

    They will try to lowball you anyway they can. Cheat you any way they can. Yell at you at any chance they get. Foreman and General foreman aren't trained on communication skills so yelling is a norm.

    Continue reading
    Bergelectric2017-04-09
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Human Resources Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Manager in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bergelectric full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    As a former employee circa 2006-2008 coming back to work for Berg in 2015 was something that I'm very grateful for. We have a dedicated group of people that are passionate about the work they perform. There are plenty of opportunities for growth. We have several people that have made their way from the field into management roles. For example; Estimators, Detailing, Purchasing, Project Management, our own VP and General Superintendent were promoted from within.

    Cons

    The only con is that the level of reward is commensurate with the level of experience and knowledge. With that being said, we have very high standards that unskilled candidates cannot fulfill. Our electricians are fully vetted and prospects are often dissuaded by our process. If you cannot prove you are a qualified skilled journeyman then it's difficult to obtain a positon as such. I suppose the only con is for prospects not for people currently working here.

    Continue reading
    Bergelectric2017-02-28
  5. Helpful (1)

    "journeyman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Journeyman Electrician in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bergelectric full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    it was the best company that i worked at

    Cons

    they need to do some employee refresher classes for code

    Continue reading
    Bergelectric2017-02-07
  6. Helpful (2)

    "If you want anything more than to stay working, you may have a hard time here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrician 

    I have been working at Bergelectric full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They are huge so have deep enough pockets to pay well and they get a lot of work so you will stay working

    Cons

    Too much of a who you know over what you know type of culture.

    Continue reading
    Bergelectric2017-02-08
  7. Helpful (5)

    "electrician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Journeyman Electrician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Bergelectric

    Pros

    I have nothing good to say about this company I can only advise the good employees to go find a good employer as soon as you can.

    Cons

    These people are the worst micro managers I have ever come across. the managers will smile in your face as they stab you in the back. I was thrown off the job site when I reported a minor injury that was not stopping me from working. It was just something that had to be reported in case it got worse.

    Continue reading
    Bergelectric2016-12-08
  8. "Good place with a good heart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Bergelectric full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I like the company and the people I work with.

    Cons

    Corporate is slow moving with implementing new processes and are behind the times in meeting the needs of the field. Not a lot of chance for growth as office personnel.

    Continue reading
    Bergelectric2016-10-11
  9. "Not bad, not great."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bergelectric full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of work with large scale industrial projects.

    Cons

    Insufficient training, ability to move up is difficult when no one pays attention to your work.

    Continue reading
    Bergelectric2016-10-20
  10. "Berg Electric"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Apprentice Electrician in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Bergelectric full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Successful electrical contractor with lots of work in the Portland, OR area right now. If you are a journeyman electrician or an apprentice, you will find all the work you want with this company. And they are national so movement to different regional offices is also possible if that is something you are interested in. They focus mostly on large, new construction projects, so if that is your interest then this is the place. Again, they have abundant work right now so I think if you're a journeyman electrician this is a great place to work.

    Cons

    I worked there as an apprentice, and can say that you can very easily get stuck doing the same task for months on end because of the size of the projects that they work on. Good for the company, but bad if you are trying to get a diverse experience as an apprentice so that you are prepared to be a well-rounded journeyman electrician when you turn out. An apprentice might spend 6 months just putting in lights, receptacles, and switches and do nothing else. There was talk last year of a program to diversify the training that apprentices receive, but I don't believe anything ever came of that. Also, no paid vacation for field employees, only office staff, so there is a bit of a divide there.

    Continue reading
    Bergelectric2016-10-03
Found 68 reviews