Bergelectric Reviews | Glassdoor

Bergelectric Reviews

Updated Jul 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 68 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Bill Wingerning
16 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Foreman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Foreman in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Bergelectric full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Bergelectric is a big company. They have a lot of work. Berg was busy when the economy was down and continues to land projects.

    Cons

    Bergelectric cons would be. They do not have paid holidays. No vacation time for field employees. Also the pay seems to be less than other companies.

    Advice to Management

    My advice to management would be. To take care of the field guys. Offer them more incentives to stay.

    Bergelectric2016-08-24
  2. "Electrical Foreman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bergelectric

    Pros

    Good pay, typically a decent amount of work.

    Cons

    Lack of communication and transparency.

    Bergelectric2016-07-19
  3. Helpful (5)

    "The Wal-Mart of the electrical industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Journeyman Electrician in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bergelectric full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Honestly, don't know if there is any

    Cons

    Production trumps all, at the expense of quality and safety, that's the culture here. No employee benefits at all compared to other big companies in the industry, no paid time off for field employees, you pay a premium for health insurance. Extremely high turnover rate, that's no surprise as there are a lot better companies out there.

    Advice to Management

    This is the Wal-Mart of the electrical industry and the management is fine with that because they're making a huge profit while cutting as much as possible from field forces.

    Bergelectric2016-07-27
  4. "jouneyman electrician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Bergelectric full-time

    Pros

    lots of work for years

    Cons

    construction sites and the parking

    Bergelectric2016-03-01
  5. "journeyman electrician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Bergelectric full-time

    Pros

    great company to work for full-time great benefits that will help you in your profession as an electrician. offers schooling for upcoming journeyman electricians currently in the field as apprentices

    Cons

    there are no downsides to this company for i feel free to express myself to say this about berg electric the health benefits are really competent and after a year they get cheaper.

    Advice to Management

    no advice for the time being i think berg is a good company and would more than likely approve myself to referring new employees to this company with full force of leading people into a great atmosphere

    Bergelectric2016-02-14
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Big Companies..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Journeyman Electrician 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bergelectric full-time

    Pros

    Got to work on big projects here in Texas.

    Cons

    Needed corporate down here in San Antonio, Texas to really see how things were going. ..

    Advice to Management

    Should really check on who you hire that's running the job. When it's him and his buddies, things aren't going to be great. Profitable, not a chance.

    Bergelectric2016-02-09
  7. Helpful (10)

    "Los Angeles Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bergelectric full-time

    Pros

    Stable work. Hardly ever any overtime. Good honest hard working people.

    Cons

    It's not about the knowledge you posses. It's all about who you know. If your not related to management you'll never move up. Greed at the top of the chain.

    Bergelectric2016-02-08
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Horrible Workplace Environment-Lots of Bullying"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Billing Administrator in El Segundo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bergelectric full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, full-time schedule, nice co-workers, nice office building, plenty of work supplies to do your job, nice computers and computer programs were user friendly.

    Cons

    It's not what you know, but who you know. I experience so much workplace bullying that I had to quit. Reporting it did not help. Watch out for negative job references even if you had a glowing review, as it happened to me and costed me a new job opportunity!

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees the way you would want to be treated by others!

    Bergelectric2016-02-08
  9. "APM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Project Manager in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Bergelectric full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good Management and Benefits yes

    Cons

    End up doing field work sometimes

    Advice to Management

    better screening process for field employees

    Bergelectric2015-12-17
  10. "good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends

    I have been working at Bergelectric

    Pros

    The foreman are great to work with and the other employees.

    Cons

    No pay holidays that is the only problem.

    Bergelectric2015-12-15
Found 68 reviews