Bergelectric "foreman" Reviews | Glassdoor

Bergelectric Employee Reviews about "foreman"

Updated Jul 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 68 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Bill Wingerning
16 Ratings
Pros
  • "Successful electrical contractor with lots of work in the Portland, OR area right now(in 6 reviews)

  • "great company to work for full-time great benefits that will help you in your profession as an electrician(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "No vacation time for field employees(in 5 reviews)

  • "My foreman did not care about us at all(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "foreman"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Journeyman electrician galveston"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Galveston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bergelectric full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There is nothing good I can say about this company from the hr to the pm all the way down to the foreman

    Cons

    Dangerous conditions and lack of pay

    Advice to Management

    Pay your workers, you know who you are

    Bergelectric2018-04-26
  2. Helpful (2)

    "1st year apprentice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Apprentice Electrician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Bergelectric full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are some good people that work here

    Cons

    I felt like an inmate in a prison.. My foreman did not care about us at all

    Advice to Management

    Learn how to treat people so they want to keep working for you

    Bergelectric2017-08-31
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Running, running, and even more running."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrician Apprentice in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bergelectric full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Wages are ok since they are mandated by the state of California. Some journeymen are very good to work with. WECA state apprenticeship program is amazing for apprentices.

    Cons

    Foreman and site crew are completely disconnected from office personnel. Foreman constantly takes advantage of close proximity to job site and doesn't always take all required breaks. Complaints go unheard and if you do complain, they send an evaluation immediately to your foreman with zero...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get more involved with the little guys. We may not make as much as you do, but we would love to see a project succeed and maybe get a little credit for that happening.

    Bergelectric2017-06-28
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Wanna get yelled at? Want to buy your tools? Want to be lowballed all the time? Then apply."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bergelectric full-time

    Pros

    There is no pros, they try to employ you but will dump you as soon as you get injured. You are a high risk employee.

    Cons

    They will try to lowball you anyway they can. Cheat you any way they can. Yell at you at any chance they get. Foreman and General foreman aren't trained on communication skills so yelling is a norm.

    Advice to Management

    Change.

    Bergelectric2017-04-09
  5. "good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends

    I have been working at Bergelectric

    Pros

    The foreman are great to work with and the other employees.

    Cons

    No pay holidays that is the only problem.

    Bergelectric2015-12-15
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Sink or swim mantra"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Journeyman Electrician in San Diego, CA

    I worked at Bergelectric

    Pros

    Great company. Sink or swim mantra. Production oriented. Great foreman and helpful co workers. Bergelectric provides best equipment and tool to produce.

    Cons

    They man up when works is popping off and laid off a slew of guys when it gets slow. Must be part of inner circle to stick around or turn out with them. Fast track jobs has led to high turn over rate.

    Bergelectric2015-11-22
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Journeyman Electrician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Journeyman Electrician in Chandler, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bergelectric full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hmm... I was left alone to work because I wasn't a non licensed tweaker like most of their workforce and knew what I was doing.

    Cons

    -Turnover rate of foreman/journeyman/apprentices was incredibly high -Made us fill out blue sheets everyday detailing what work we had done and signing our rights away saying we weren't hurt. - Subpar pay

    Advice to Management

    -Stop allowing employees to work through lunch and breaks -You would be amazed at how many of your upper level employees steal from the job and use expensive tools for side work

    Bergelectric2015-07-09
  8. Helpful (10)

    "Berg is a disappointment to the working man."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Comm Tech in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bergelectric full-time

    Pros

    -They usually have pretty consistent work. - I get paid most of the time...(Sometimes my check is short.)

    Cons

    -They offer no paid time off to field employees. -No sick time, No vacation and even the National holidays they recognize and are closed, field employees don't get paid. - Also they deduct from prevailing wage rates at $10 per hour when on public works projects and put it into a berg run hedge fund that you can not touch until you retire or are fired. -Health Benefits are a joke and cost too much for my family -Be...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I think it would be beneficial to have monthly meetings with the field employees to get an idea what works and what doesn't. Not just the upper management sitting in the office discussing some ideas and making it Berg Policy. Also please give field employees PTO, MTO and holidays like the rest of the corporations in the country. This kind of business practice is unethical and drives down the moral in the field which leads...

    Show More
    Bergelectric2015-06-11
Found 68 reviews