Berkeley College Reviews | Glassdoor

Find your next job here

Berkeley College Reviews

Updated February 22, 2018
120 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Berkeley College President Michael J. Smith
Michael J. Smith
11 Ratings

120 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Good work environment in my department (in 5 reviews)

  • Nice people and wonderful students (in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • Faculty are overworked and receive low pay (in 4 reviews)

  • You don't work enough hrs because it only part time (in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Berkeley College full-time

    Pros

    Great flexibility for online and campus courses.

    Cons

    No cons as of right now.

    Advice to Management

    Your doing a great job.

    Berkeley College Response

    Dec 11, 2017 – Talent Management Coordinator

    We appreciate your comments and are glad that your experience with Berkeley College was positive. Berkeley is always looking to align our process with our mission “Berkeley College empowers students... More


  2. "Part time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Berkeley College part-time

    Pros

    Study while your working and meet new students from all around the world

    Cons

    Bad paychecks and uncomfortable hours

    Advice to Management

    Increase paycheck

  3. "International Student Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - International Student Advisor in New York, NY
    Former Employee - International Student Advisor in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Berkeley College full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Brilliant faculty and professional staff

    Cons

    Quality of work can vary substantially within departments

    Berkeley College Response

    Jan 29, 2018 – Talent Management Coordinator

    Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your Berkeley College experience. We appreciate all feedback and wish you the best in your future endeavors.

    Human Resources


  4. "Great resources!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Woodland Park, NJ
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Woodland Park, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Berkeley College part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good pay; room for development

    Cons

    Micromanagement from above; high turnover

    Berkeley College Response

    Jan 18, 2018 – Talent Management Coordinator

    Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your Berkeley College experience. We appreciate all feedback and wish you the best in your future endeavors.

    Human Resources


  5. "In transition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Berkeley College full-time

    Pros

    Multiple Locations
     Career Advancement opportunities

    Cons

    Poor management
    Low Salaries
    Accepts students with low persistence

    Advice to Management

    Focus on rewarding hard work instead of negatives
    Fair Compensation
    Not everything can be high priority and urgent

    Berkeley College Response

    Jan 18, 2018 – Talent Management Coordinator

    Thank you for your recent feedback. Feedback is taken seriously as we strive for excellent customer service at Berkeley College. We hope that your experiences going forward are positive.

    Human... More


  6. "Supportive Environment and Nice Events"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Faculty in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Faculty in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Berkeley College full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Faculty and staff are treated well, all the company events are well done. There is a family vibe to the campuses and organization overall.

    Cons

    Some faculty are underpaid for the amount of work that they do. There should be more full time opportunities.

    Berkeley College Response

    Dec 19, 2017 – Talent Management Coordinator

    As a current Berkeley College associate, we appreciate your feedback. We strive to maintain a positive and productive workplace for our students and associates.

    Human Resources


  7. "Federal Work Study"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Federal Work Study in Brooklyn, NY
    Current Employee - Federal Work Study in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Berkeley College part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Give students time to do homework on campus.

    Cons

    You can`t transfer from staff.

    Berkeley College Response

    Dec 5, 2017 – HR Assistant

    As a current Berkeley College associate, we appreciate your feedback. We strive to maintain a positive and productive workplace for our students and associates.

    Human Resources

  8. "Admission Reps"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admissions Counselor in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Admissions Counselor in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Berkeley College full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    -certain level of flexibility of managing own tasks
    -fair pay in comparison to majority of other colleges

    Cons

    -injustice of promotion of team leaders - lack of integrity
    -race discrimination? - majority of team leaders are Spanish speakers
    -focus on numbers than individual contributions

    Advice to Management

    -Owe Justice and transparency of using resources and opportunities equally to everyone who contributes hard works;

    -Stop promoting own nationality who seem to be only good at being brown nosed

    -Too many meetings which DO NOT solve anythings. Poor productive meetings.

    -Leaders are incapable to guide team; Reporting system is time consuming. Easy question takes too long to be considered through team leader approach

    Berkeley College Response

    Nov 20, 2017 – HR Assistant

    Your feedback is very important to Berkeley College. Thank you for taking the time to bring up these concerns via your review. We will take your feedback into account. We wish you the best in your... More


  9. "Berk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Berkeley College full-time

    Pros

    This place is Great second family

    Cons

    depending on department no room for growth and extremely low pay

    Advice to Management

    begin to mentor your employees to desire more

    Berkeley College Response

    Oct 13, 2017 – HR Assistant

    Thank you for your feedback regarding your Berkeley College experience. We appreciate all feedback and wish you the best in your future endeavors.

    Human Resources


  10. "Fashion Merchandising & Management Undergraduate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    They push you to be successful and achieve goals.

    Cons

    I don't have any complaints.

    Berkeley College Response

    Oct 10, 2017 – HR Assistant

    We appreciate your comments and are glad that your experience with Berkeley College was positive. Berkeley is always looking to align our process with our mission “Berkeley College empowers students... More


Showing 120 of 121 reviews
Reset Filters