Berkeley Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Berkeley Group Reviews

Updated Jun 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 88 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
34%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
Tony Pidgley
51 Ratings
Pros
  • "good pay if you work hard and liked by Management(in 5 reviews)

  • "FTSE company, good people, global projects(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Ridiculously long hours and if you leave at the and of your working hours you’ll be frowned upon(in 14 reviews)

  • "No HR department - done by legal - causes lot of resentment among staff(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Berkeley Group

    Pros

    Great benefits, fun working environment and people were great, had a lot of fun, relaxed setting, easy day out early

    Cons

    Marketing, upper management, not great quality marketing. Too much favorites with upper management. Need better left else managers

    Berkeley Group2016-05-07
  2. Helpful (3)

    "A Sexist Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Berkeley Group full-time

    Pros

    Good Pay If you live in London, then you'll have a good work/life balance, but if you work in one of the developments on the commuter belt, then expect this to become your life

    Cons

    I was told to 'dress like an air hostess'. Despite coming to work in smart flats, I was sent home and told I could only wear heels.

    Advice to Management

    Develop an HR department so that your employees aren't left at the mercy of terrible managers.

    Berkeley Group2017-11-03
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Owner Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Berkeley Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You meet lots of Time shares owners from all over the world

    Cons

    Lots of their employee have degrees but the company only look out for their friends and family to move up. You only get 1 week vacation until you reach 3 years. They benefits sucks that I have never been able to afford to place my children on benefits. They do not do back ground checks. People getting Leadership roles and don't have even a GED.

    Advice to Management

    Do background checks on your employees. Promote people who deserve the position not who you know.

    Berkeley Group2016-12-03
  4. "Ok company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Berkeley Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People I work with are great

    Cons

    No progression, not many staff benefits

    Berkeley Group2019-06-05
  5. "Observations of BG group"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Relationship Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Berkeley Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Employees are loyal to brand despite being undervalued. Stick rather than carrot mentality.

    Cons

    No processes for working practises. No employee recognition. Happy to let good employees go. No hr dept which undermines employees ability to enforce basic statutory rights.

    Advice to Management

    Value employees

    Berkeley Group2019-06-13
  6. "Good overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Berkeley Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great experience for all people wanting to work in a corporate business. Value driven and fantastic developments

    Cons

    lack of flexible working and maternity pay

    Berkeley Group2019-05-28
  7. "Bad Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Quantity Surveyor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Berkeley Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Big developer, extremely profitable, nothing else really positive to say...

    Cons

    Hard on contractors as well as employees, very judgemental and critical, very team pride dependent, they have no issue with hiring and firing if you don't fit into their specific needs and culture. A very disappointing experience.

    Advice to Management

    Old fashioned (Why do you have to wear a suit and tie? this is construction!) Tony Pidgley (founder) has known to be particular and this is reflected throughout the company to its detriment.

    Berkeley Group2019-06-06
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Hard work but worth the effort"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Site Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Berkeley Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Prestigious projects, professionalism, rewarding career options.

    Cons

    High expectations of management, intolerance of poor performance.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Berkeley Group2019-05-14
  9. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accountant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Berkeley Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good team environment, everyone is willing to help. Management are very supportive and there's room for progression.

    Cons

    The company can seem too traditional and set in it's ways.

    Berkeley Group2019-05-16
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Unorganised"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ealing, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Berkeley Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lovely people, salary acceptable, nice canteen

    Cons

    Once on site, you are there for the day, the feeling of being trapped yet caught up in a whirlwind

    Berkeley Group2019-05-09
Found 88 reviews