Berkshire Communities Reviews | Glassdoor

Berkshire Communities Reviews

Updated August 13, 2018
195 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO

195 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "When the company states work/life balance, they truly mean" (in 15 reviews)

  • "Berkshire Communities also offers a really great benefits package that is very affordable even for families" (in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "I have no cons to share about Berkshire" (in 12 reviews)

  • "Work/Life balance can sometimes be difficult with some of the responsibilities that fall after-hours" (in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (1)

    "Believe the reviews!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Property Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Property Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Berkshire Communities full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    This company invests a lot in their employees and it shows with a long tenured, passionate team.

    Cons

    I can't think of any.

    Berkshire Communities Response

    Jun 22, 2018 – Senior Vice President

    Thanks for the great review! We know our success depends on the success of our employees. Thanks for pitching in and contributing to Berkshire Communities’ achievements!


  2. "Amazing!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Berkshire Communities full-time

    Pros

    Benefits, Flexibility, Support by upper management.

    Cons

    None that I can think of!

  3. "Marketing and Sales Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing and Sales Consultant in Seattle, WA
    Former Employee - Marketing and Sales Consultant in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Berkshire Communities full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great pay, especially with a lease up property. I had a wonderful managers. They have company parties which is nice.

    Cons

    Upper management can be hard to get ahold of/get things done.

    Berkshire Communities Response

    Aug 5, 2018 – Senior Vice President

    Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. Lease ups are fun! Thanks for contributing to our success.


  4. "I cant say enough great things about Berkshire Communities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Property Manager in Denver, CO
    Current Employee - Assistant Property Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Berkshire Communities full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great training programs to advance your career
    Upper management values its employees
    Tons of support from upper management and other properties
    Benefits are top notch
    401K is amazing
    Berkshire's values and mission statement hold true to this day

    Cons

    I wish there were more Berkshire Communities in the Denver region

    Berkshire Communities Response

    Jul 16, 2018 – Senior Vice President

    Thanks so much for the great feedback! We love to hear about our employees with aligned values and appreciate the training programs available to them. It sounds like we are a perfect match for each... More


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Inspiring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Berkshire Communities full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    As an employee of Berkshire for 7.5 years, I have watched the company change in many positive ways. Not all will agree with me, but what they will agree on is that Berkshire Communities is a company that takes the time to train and develop their people. A company that makes a place for people who really want to work and take pride in what they do. The want for development that is so much a part of today’s career minded employee can be found at Berkshire if you are self-motivated. Learning to do the job you are hired for well, will get you far with the company. Additionally, the leadership has initiated new jobs and figured out creative ways to assure that they do not lose top talent.
    The leadership is genuine with a touch of humor and a dash of firm.

    Cons

    Nothing that is not normal to any job.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to listen to the employees!

    Berkshire Communities Response

    Jun 28, 2018 – Senior Vice President

    Wow! "The Leadership is genuine with a touch of humor and a dash of firm". What a great compliment! Thank you!


  6. "Best job I’ve ever had!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Berkshire Communities full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    The company is big enough and sophisticated as an investment company, but small enough for upper management to know who you are and appreciate your contributions.

    Cons

    I can’t think of any cons at this time. Berkshire is Great and they listen to feedback to continually get better.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to listen to your employees.

    Berkshire Communities Response

    Jun 22, 2018 – Senior Vice President

    Thanks for the great feedback! We will definitely continue to listen to our employees - you guys are what make us great!


  7. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Berkshire Communities full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Awesome company culture and amazing benefits.

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of.

    Berkshire Communities Response

    Jun 22, 2018 – Senior Vice President

    Thanks for the great feedback!

  8. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Berkshire Communities full-time

    Pros

    3 weeks of vacation, and 401k matching up to 5%.

    Cons

    Not a lot of growth at the moment.

    Berkshire Communities Response

    Jun 22, 2018 – Senior Vice President

    Thanks for the feedback. Great companies are made up of Great People! Thanks for making us Great!


  9. Helpful (2)

    "Simply the best!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Berkshire Communities full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    This is the best company that I have ever worked for. You are valued, listened to and supported. Senior leadership is down to earth and deserving of their positions. Everyone in this company works hard and truly cares about each other.

    Cons

    A lot of reporting. I would like to see us be able to focus more on the bottom line and providing great service to our communities and employees and not spend as much time doing reports that are already available in Yardi and other systems to get data.

    Advice to Management

    Love you! Let's try to keep the onsite people from having to do so many reports. Most of that data is available in Yardi already. We shine when we have more time to assist residents and support teammates.

    Berkshire Communities Response

    Jun 28, 2018 – Senior Vice President

    We love you more! We are going to work hard to remove some of those reports for you so we can continue to do what we do best - shine! Thanks for the feedback.


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Leasing consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leasing Consultant in Columbia, MD
    Current Employee - Leasing Consultant in Columbia, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Berkshire Communities full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Caring company with great opportunities to travel the nation. Also Berkshire heavily promotes from within and often. Berkshire also caters to there employees and makes sure they let employees know they appreciate the long hours and hard work with lots of lavish catered parties. Conferences were they will fly you across the county and great bonuses. Overall a awesome place.

    Cons

    Allot of work not for someone that can’t dedicate their time. Residents will def stress you out 😩. Also if your ok with around 38 to 60 thousand a year this is your career but as a leasing consultant you will have to grind to get to 60k a year.. you will have to work late hours and clear over 10 leases a month. With dedication n routine discipline it can be done. I make ok money ( like high 50s probably will cross 60 this year) but I realize this career path only provides the big dollars (6 figures) once you get to the corporate level... No real cons it just depends on the salary you seek and the discipline you can dedicate your time to achieve. Again awesome place!

    Advice to Management

    Awesome place to work with strong work ethics and culture. I just wish there were more post college programs. I love my job but it’s sometimes difficult to maintain the debt obtained from undergrad n grad school on 20 dollars a hour and 60 dollars a lease. I would be thrilled to see programs that employees can enroll in that would assist with student aid debt for long term employees


Showing 195 of 197 reviews
Reset Filters