KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Berkshire Hathaway

Is this your company?

Berkshire Hathaway

Add a Review

Berkshire Hathaway Employee Reviews about "people"

Updated Sep 27, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 109 of over 875 reviews

4.2
74%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Berkshire Hathaway CEO Buffett Warren (no image)
Buffett Warren
70 Ratings

The latest conversations about Real Estate

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Training is great and innovative.(in 41 reviews)
  • "great people to work with(in 41 reviews)
  • "The benefits are great and it is decent for a first customer service job.(in 18 reviews)
  • "BHHS Towne has a fantastic culture and a very good reputation especially in the area of luxury sales(in 15 reviews)
  • "Coworkers were friendly and did not hesitate to make me feel welcome/provide assistance when needed.(in 11 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Berkshire Hathaway and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Licensed Realtor

    Jan 9, 2016 - Real Estate Agent in Clear Lake, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Well managed.and structured. People are honest and hold a high level of ethics. We are all proud to be owned by Warren Buffet and work very hard to maintain his and our quality reputation.

    Cons

    As in most sales jobs, you have to generate your own leads and customers. So it is up to you how much money you want to make. It's all up to you how hard you want to work. If this is a con.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Everything good except compensation

    Feb 11, 2018 - Ibu Underwriter in Wilkes-Barre, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people, opportunities, and culture. Work is interesting and the company is constantly changing for the better.

    Cons

    The only negative is compensation is not linked to performance. The top earners are not those who provide the most value, but those who are older and have been with the company for many years. How Guard works is they hire people fresh out of college, pay them hardly anything, and the talented people get experience and move on to companies that pay more competitive salaries. Typically, people leave for similar jobs with competitors that pay sometimes twice as much - even in areas with similar cost of living. A close friend of mine was making $36,000 a year in underwriting and she recently left for a position with USLI where she started at just under 70k a year. We hear these kinds of stories all the time and they are like wild fire the way they spread. Most people I know are actively pursuing another job because of the industry low wages Guard.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great team

    Dec 7, 2021 - Agent 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun and lively group of people.

    Cons

    No cons as of yet.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Educational

    Sep 28, 2014 - Project Manager/Facilities in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Vendors and office people were great to work with; company benes are very good.

    Cons

    Work is interesting but career growth potential is limited; work load is limited; management can become controlling and leaves no space for independent thinking; favoritism towards other employees is evident.

    2 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Great place to be

    Jan 30, 2020 - Chief Operating Officer in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun people and a dynamic environment

    Cons

    Part of a very large corporation so personal touch is sometimes missing

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Nice working environment! supportive broker and co-workers!

    Aug 29, 2020 - Real Estate Agent 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    1. free company training 2. abundant resources 3. people are very nice and supportive

    Cons

    1. office might not be the best place to get work done, because people are very friendly and talkative. If you want to chit-chat, learn, or hear others' advice, then definitely go to the office.

    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great Company

    Jul 12, 2022 - Office Administration Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Wonderful people and management team

    Cons

    Really don’t have any cons

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Stay far away.

    Apr 9, 2015 - Administration in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Not trying to be unfair. Simply cannot think of a pro other than there are a few nice people who are stuck there.

    Cons

    There are more lawyers than HR personnel. In order to keep lawsuits down you are forced to sign an arbitration agreement before employment. Benefits are not only bad, they are terrible. No vacation the first year of employment, very expensive insurance and the 401k match is essentially non existent. Very high turnover. You're treated like they think you are trying to pull one over on them. Just a bad place.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Former Intern

    Intern

    Feb 25, 2019 - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Extremely clean and kind people

    Cons

    Very small office space and work areas

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Good for 7 years

    Jul 27, 2021 - Underwriter in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There's still team mates here who carry the values, work ethic and professional intelligence that were the cornerstone of BHSI Medical Stop Loss There's time to evaluate and return to the transparent team model that got us off the ground quickly and helped us become customer focused because we worked together as a caring unit. For the first 7 years we were encouraged to expand as professionals, help each other, title wasn't a brick wall we had to hide behind (or from) . We were driven to find the right solutions and we did that together and celebrated by commending all of the team. It was an adventure to do good for the company and team and customers.

    Cons

    Good people are being either driven away or fired. Hiring practices no longer about finding creative people who seek to contribute as a unit. new management wants only those who are single area specialist and dont need to understand the whole product. We are becoming a siloed business. Not learning from each other anymore and not helping each other dot every-i. Now we don't know when we did good but sure drill into each management opinion of our fails. There's lots of fails these days when before the only fails were the ones that didn't provide our customers our best. I don't feel like i'm expanding in this field anymore and i'm being slowed down because i know that i'm going to have to explain everything multiple times like i'm justifying doing what i'm very good at.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful