Berkshire Reviews

Updated May 12, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.8
97%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Berkshire CEO David Olney
David Olney
66 Ratings
Pros
  • "We have great benefits, our Senior Leadership is grounded yet forward thinking, we offer excellent training and support teams at all levels(in 30 reviews)

  • "Amazing work/life balance and lots of internal growth potential(in 29 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "With COVID, they have leasing in the office while the upper management gets stay home(in 6 reviews)

  • "Work/Life balance can sometimes be difficult with some of the responsibilities that fall after-hours(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Berkshire and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years
      Featured Review

      First Class Employer- Especially during Covid-19

      Aug 3, 2020 - Property Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Berkshire has created an environment and a culture that has me never wanting to leave. During the early stage of Covid-19, Berkshire made a point to tell all employees. 1) Take Care of Yourself 2) Take Care of Your Family 3) Work comes 3rd They truly meant that. They immediately offered all employees 80 pandemic hours to use as they seemed fit. If that included sick time due to us contracting Covid-19 or needing to isolate if a family member tested positive, we did not have to worry about using our personal PTO or wondering if we would get paid. We could use it if we needed to take off for child care. They also allowed a flexible schedule to rotate schedules and work from home to make sure our offices allowed for proper social distancing. This helped empower myself and my employees knowing that our safety came first. This alone makes me want to work harder for Berkshire and give them my all. We also are in the middle of the BLM movement. Our senior leadership opened up a town hall forum for open discussion and to discuss what we as a company can do to support BLM. It also opened up a safe platform for many employees to discuss how they felt during such a time of uncertainty and it was a beautiful moment and really moved me. I can't say how much I appreciate a CEO that opens up a forum like that for employees to truly express how they are feeling in today's climate. When we are not in the middle of a pandemic, Berkshire continues to shine. Pay is much higher than other companies in my area, outstanding bonus structures, and senior leadership that makes you feel like a team and makes you feel like you impact the success of this company directly.

      Cons

      There are no cons to working for this company.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great place to work

      May 12, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      always working on improving as a business and employee friendly environment

      Cons

      teams can be too lean

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Toxic Work Environment

      May 12, 2021 - Property Manager in Charlotte, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Benefits, 401k match with vesting, vacation time (3 weeks plus sick)

      Cons

      Bonus structure isn't always explained well, communicated on payout dates or how to achieve these goals. Budgets are written by leadership and handed down to managers without a good understanding of property operations or the ability to learn it. Regional leadership does not visit properties to assist with issues, trainings, or check ins to ensure overall employee satisfaction. Often we received OOO for hair appoints, regional uploading on social media during work hours and not returning calls. As a manager, we were also put in awkward positions when regional leadership would release employee data regarding tax withholdings or rent payments too us to manage, even though that should have been communicated directly with Human Resources. There was definitely a favoritism game played that created a toxic work environment.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Best Property Management Company - Just needs to grow

      Mar 12, 2021 - Property Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Berkshire is one of the best property management companies I've worked with thus far. They have great benefits. Great leadership. A beautiful company culture. They really are employee focused without losing sight of the business. The properties are decent - it's a nice mix of assets. Not to mention, they are heavily focused on diversity and inclusion. They are doing the work which is more than what some companies are doing. They have also handled Covid well with all of the changes and keeping employees safe. They also really promote work/life balance. It can be hard to maintain depending on your property but they push for you to achieve some sort of balance.

      Cons

      Not too may cons. I think the biggest con is their growth and advancement opportunities. They really need to expand their footprint and purchase more properties. Right now, it makes advancement opportunities seem challenging which is really the only reason that would make me want to leave the company. Also, they can be a little old fashioned with their practices but they are slowly becoming more current with the times.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Amazing culture!

      Mar 11, 2021 - Regional Manager in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Berkshire has an amazing culture - very professional and client oriented but keeps the sense of family and all team members from the site team to the highest levels of leadership. Everyone at Berkshire could be described as down to earth, caring of one another and those we serve and there is no sense of one person being "better than" another. Everyone can be transparent and heard.

      Cons

      In the past I would have commented that because Berkshire is great about hearing all voices, that could sometimes result in something being slow to be implemented or changed but I can honestly say that this has improved greatly over the past year or two.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Awesome company to work for!

      Mar 23, 2021 - Assistant Property Manager in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Berkshire is a great company to work for! They really put their employees first especially during this pandemic. You can really tell that Berkshire cares about their employees and understands that yourself and your family come first. They also have great benefits, PTO plans and many tools to help you succeed and prepare you for the next step, if you choose.

      Cons

      I cannot really think of any cons, if any it would be growth. There are positions that open up around the US however I was hoping there would be more acquisitions acquired in the last 2 years. However I do know these things take time and COIVD probably doesn't help, so I wouldn't necessarily call this a con towards Berkshire. Things will come in time!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Evolving Company with Good People

      Mar 12, 2021 - Property Manager in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Pay and Benefits, Great RM in Houston, Promotes from within

      Cons

      Growing Pains, Not Enough Diversity at RM/VP/SVP Levels

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A Caring Company that Prioritizes the Positive Efforts You Put In

      Apr 26, 2021 - Assistant Property Manager in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Education, Employee-Focused, Exceptional Benefits, Positive Leadership

      Cons

      Low Starting Salary, Denver Market feels remote from the rest of the company

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Place To Work

      Apr 14, 2021 - Property Manager in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everything is a plus would highly recommend

      Cons

      None, None, None, None, None

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      A Strong Workplace Culture

      Mar 16, 2021 - Management 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      As we emerged from the pandemic, Berkshire's main focus was the company's culture. The leadership team was consistently thoughtful regarding how to adjust and create new employee experiences, particularly in areas of connection like employee recognition. We really felt the genuine support which allowed us to successfully operate our business and take care of our employees and residents.

      Cons

      We wish the company was larger!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 329 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Berkshire Job Seekers

    Assistant Property Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Regional Construction Manager
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Berkshire? Share Your Experiences

    or