Berlitz Reviews in Japan | Glassdoor

Berlitz Japan Reviews

Updated Sep 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 74 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
30%
Recommend to a Friend
26%
Approve of CEO
Berlitz CEO Curt Uehlein (no image)
Curt Uehlein
9 Ratings
  1. "Nice company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Counselor in Tokyo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Berlitz part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people to work with. Every coworker was friendly. Though I was working as a part time they game me incentives too.

    Cons

    I don't have anything speak ills of.

    Berlitz2019-08-28
  2. "So so"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instructor in Tokyo
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Berlitz part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    With a good manager, it’s not a high paying job but not difficult to do as long as you try to do a half decent job.

    Cons

    With a bad manager, it can be a terrible job. As a per lesson instructor, the pay isn’t bad but the teaching times can be inflexible and inconvenient.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of bad managers and bad instructors.

    Berlitz2019-09-16
  3. "Fair and fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - German Instructor in Tokyo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Berlitz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    very flexibel in working times and also granting for holidays

    Cons

    very strict on times and meetings - Japan

    Berlitz2019-08-01
  4. "Decent pay, sexist bosses"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - English Teacher in Tokyo
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Berlitz for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule and satisfactory teaching materials

    Cons

    Sexist HR department and management

    Berlitz2019-07-03
  5. "As fast as a shinkansen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Advisor to Chief Executive Officer Vice President Service Design in Tokyo
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Berlitz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast spaced, always something to do.

    Cons

    Investors had too much say. And their ideas never produced results

    Advice to Management

    Consider the ideas of those who have direct consumer interface.

    Berlitz2019-06-20
  6. "My experience at Berlitz Japan"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instructor in Tokyo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Berlitz full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working towards transparency and evolving in a changing landscape.

    Cons

    Salary does not reward instructors with tenure and dedication adequately

    Berlitz2019-05-19
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Its an Eikaiwa, what can I say?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instructor in Tokyo
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Berlitz full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of free time. And its easy to take time off work.

    Cons

    Very little salary raise. No career track to speak of.

    Berlitz2019-05-17
  8. Helpful (2)

    "A lot of work, but can travel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - English Teacher in Sakai, Osaka
    Recommends

    I worked at Berlitz full-time

    Pros

    Was able to travel for the work A lot of students were really interesting Expectations are clear

    Cons

    Sometimes there would be changes to start time that would not be communicated Long days of back to back lessons if full time Some days started early (7:30am) and would end late (9pm) if part-time

    Berlitz2019-03-28
  9. Helpful (1)

    "A good short term role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructor in Tokyo
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Berlitz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule. Low working hours. No Japanese requirement. Work more lessons make more money

    Cons

    New contracts void all the pros. Management doesn't listen to employees. Students are king and you must tolerate a lot.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees. It'd be easy to make this place a really good company. And get rid of the ridiculous review that doesn't allow for raises unless you work more than you might want.

    Berlitz2019-03-01
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to start if interested in Teaching"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - English Instructor in Tokyo
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Berlitz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working environment depends on school and country, but good overall. Every instructor is an independent player so there's no hierarchy. Colleagues were generally friendly.

    Cons

    No room for career growth. Practically a dead-end job.

    Advice to Management

    Should provide more opportunities for instructors to work outside of their scope and provide more opportunities (training) to be more valuable in the job market.

    Berlitz2019-01-18
Found 74 reviews