Berlitz Reviews | Glassdoor

Berlitz Reviews

Updated Jul 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 659 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Curt Uehlein
47 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Excessive amount of work, no supervision nor support, low pay rate for the demanding tasks day to day(in 42 reviews)

  • "No benefits for part-time employees and contractors(in 27 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Language Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Berlitz

      Pros

      Love teaching languages from beginners to advanced students. Still teaching

      Cons

      Not a consistent schedule. There really aren’t any cons that I can think of.

      Berlitz2019-07-02
    • Helpful (1)

      "Meeting interesting people"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Language Instructor 

      I have been working at Berlitz part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Good to get experience. You get to meet interesting people from different cultures and backgrounds.

      Cons

      Not enough hours. Pay is pretty low.

      Advice to Management

      Language instructor needs to get paid more in order to compete with other language companies.

      Berlitz2019-07-08
    • Helpful (1)

      "Enriching and insightful. I have learned and grown a lot."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Arecibo, PR
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Berlitz full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Benefits, Health Insurance, Almost no supervision

      Cons

      Excessive amount of work, no supervision nor support, low pay rate for the demanding tasks day to day...

      Berlitz2019-06-19
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great people bad salary."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Current Employee - Foreign Language Teacher in Washington, DC
      Doesn't Recommend
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Berlitz part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Great team, people are just amazing

      Cons

      Really low salary and unstable income

      Advice to Management

      Not to spend too much money on ads but spend it on teachers salaries

      Berlitz2019-06-21
    • "Big Waste of Time"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Culture & Values
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Former Employee - ESL Teacher in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Berlitz part-time

      Pros

      Poor teaching materials. The teachers don't use the so called Berlitz Method. I spent many weeks studying the materials and spent a ridiculous amount of time trying to learn the techniques and computer resources which no one uses.

      Cons

      I finally got to do a single lesson after waiting a long time. It's not a standard teacher gig. They just wanted me to be on call once a week (ie akin to a substitute teacher) even though they pretended that I would be working daily; they give you very little notice about scheduling sessions. Really disappointed.

      Advice to Management

      Terrible communication and zero respect for my time and efforts. I learned everything by myself in weeks of unpaid self-training with no assistance at all. I also didn't get paid as promised for a previous meeting. I think you have to be nuts to get involved with teaching at rock center.

      Berlitz2019-07-01
    • "Learned a lot and had great supervisors."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Editorial in Princeton, NJ

      I worked at Berlitz full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great benefits. Good amount of vacation time, etc. Had a great supervisor in my team, but I noticed for other departments it wasn't always great. I only left, because I wanted to be in different city, otherwise I would've stayed.

      Cons

      Salary was low, but practical.

      Berlitz2019-05-10
    • "Consultant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Berlitz full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Nice people and office work

        Cons

        Not good salary hard to move higher up

        Berlitz2019-04-29
      • "Awesome Job--especially for new graduates!!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - English Instructor 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I have been working at Berlitz part-time

        Pros

        Mentorship is the best thing about Berlitz. Once you get the hang of it (takes about 2 weeks) it is the most fulfilling job you will ever have straight out of college. Good pay. You won't be a millionaire, but you will be able to pay your rent with this job. The career opportunities and growth are exponential.

        Cons

        The qualification course is SUPER intense and you will learn A LOT in a very short time!

        Advice to Management

        Give more training.

        Berlitz2019-04-18
      • Helpful (1)

        "Dont' walk... RUN!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - SAE 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Berlitz full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        A handful of valuable employees

        Cons

        Management, culture, lack of communication and a complete lack of understanding of how to create a corporate offering...which seems strange after 140 yrs of existence as a company.

        Berlitz2019-05-15
      • "Flexibility for global employees, good benefits"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Project Manager 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Berlitz full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        Ability to relocate to different countries and keep the same job Friendly for remote workers Love the corporate culture, sense of belonging, collaboration between regions Corporate mission Very good benefits for employees in the US, dental plan is outstanding

        Cons

        Onboarding of corporate new team members could be better Gaps in salaries for similar job functions

        Advice to Management

        In the US, improve instructors salaries. Continue valuing existing and loyal employees, improve onboarding and training for new corporate employees

        Berlitz2019-04-05
      Found 659 reviews