Berry Appleman & Leiden Reviews

Updated May 10, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
73%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Berry Appleman & Leiden Managing Partner Jeremy Fudge
Jeremy Fudge
188 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible work environment, overtime pay(in 17 reviews)

  • "Quite unique for a law firm to have this and really grateful for this type of leadership at the company(in 16 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "will be additional higher difficulty cases generally reserved for senior paralegals that somehow fall onto the laps of(in 31 reviews)

  • "During the AOS crunch there was no work life balance, but it is immigration law and the Visa Bulletin is unpredictable unfortunately(in 16 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Welcoming environment and meaningful work

      Feb 24, 2021 - Immigration Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - The hiring process went quickly and I was very happy with the level of communication and respect I received from the recruiter. Many of the other jobs I applied to made me feel like I was begging them to give me a chance, but BAL made me feel like my skills and time were valuable. I appreciated that change. - Company-wide emphasis on culture and excellence (almost to the point of being cheesy) but it does help new hires with no imm experience feel like we can approach our managers with questions and get the necessary training and guidance to learn the processes. - There's something so cool about knowing that your 9:00-5:00 job is directly helping hardworking people come into your country and build a life here. It's really meaningful, even on frustrating days!

      Cons

      - Most paralegal/imm assistant positions involve very little research or independent analysis, so the work can feel rote sometimes. - Work comes in waves, largely dependent on the government's immigration policies in any given month (how many visas they make available; whether it's H-1B cap season, etc.) so it takes a while to find a routine.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Berry Appleman & Leiden Response

      Sr. Manager Talent Acquisition

      Thanks for your comments. I'm so glad that you are enjoying working at BAL! And yes, our work does have a direct impact on great, hardworking people and the companies they are coming into. I'm glad you are here.

    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Attorney

      May 6, 2021 - Attorney in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay good benefits good training

      Cons

      Bad culture long hours no move up

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      It's OK if you are an hourly employee

      Apr 28, 2021 - Paralegal 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      BAL will hire people with little to no office experience so its a great place to start. If you're lucky enough to get a real desk its a nice workspace. I was fortunate enough to have a very good transparent relationship with my direct manager. I think it's very easy to transition to a new role or move up the ladder, you have ton of resources for growth. Co workers are friendly.

      Cons

      We are always being pushed to 'be exceptional' yet the firm does not reciprocate. Pay, health insurance, and other benefits for non salaried employees are just ok. Below average when it comes to vacation days. Additionally strange things are micro managed, partner approval is required if you want to skip lunch and leave 30 minutes early to get to an appointment. There is definitely a problem when it comes to workload. Overtime is not something that gets approved much anymore and there is simply to much to do and respond to given our service agreements with clients so just about everyone eats hours to avoid not meeting performance metrics .

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Fortunate to work here

      May 3, 2021 - Manager in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Open environment to make a change. If something isn't working or there could be improvements, leadership is open to hearing your thoughts and may actually implement your plan. I have never worked a company/firm where this was the case at a manager and below level.

      Cons

      On the flip side, if you aren't open to change, this may not be the place for you. BAL is regularly looking at their processes/ structure and testing them to create a constantly improving environment.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Berry Appleman & Leiden Response

      Sr. Manager Talent Acquisition

      Thanks for your comments. Yes, one of our best assets at BAL besides our great people, is our leadership willingness to hear ideas and try new things. Thanks again!

    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Workplace & Company Culture

      Mar 15, 2021 - Administrative Assistant in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The best part of BAL is the people. I worked at both the Dallas and Tysons Corner locations, and the people I met along the way made everything worthwhile. An added bonus in the Dallas office is the vast scope of coworkers and continued injections of energy from the likes of Jeremy Fudge! The company culture is something I still miss and haven't found anywhere before or since!

      Cons

      As an administrative assistant, the work can be very repetitive, and you're so busy there is little time to take advantage of the trainings offered during the day to grow further.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Berry Appleman & Leiden Response

      Sr. Manager Talent Acquisition

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts! I agree about the people being one of the best things about BAL. There is a sense of family here, which is what makes our culture so great. Everyone here is willing to help the new folks succeed! We are in the early stages of a new initiative to provide everyone with opportunity to build on their skillsets. Leadership is open to new and 'out of the box' thinking to find new ways to pursue excellence for all. That's forward thinking for sure! I hope you will consider coming back in the near future.

    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      New Employee

      May 3, 2021 - Immigration Assistant/Paralegal in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      So much growth opportunity here at BAL. There is always someone reaching out to help you which is great for a new hire.

      Cons

      You are consistently busy so there is no down time. However, I am new so just learning. I am sure once trained fully I will be able to manage my time much better. Right now I just have a million things coming at me all at once.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Berry Appleman & Leiden Response

      Sr. Manager Talent Acquisition

      Thanks for taking the time to provide a review. Yes, the pace here is fast! I'm glad you are finding support from others. One of the best things for me about BAL is the people. Everyone wants to see you succeed!

    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Decent company that strives to improve

      Apr 22, 2021 - Immigration Paralegal in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I’d rate somewhere between 3-4 stars. BAL really cares about employees and truly puts in effort to connect with employees and improve. This is a great place to start out as there is plenty of support, training and structure.

      Cons

      I found the structure to be suffocating and inefficient at times. As someone who came to the role with an immigration background, I had to completely conform to BAL’s methods and disregard my prior experience as it had no place on my team. I felt some of the trainings and internal structure were elementary in approach and too much “hand holding”. No room for personal initiative, creativity or growth which is why I ultimately left.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Berry Appleman & Leiden Response

      Sr. Manager Talent Acquisition

      Thanks for taking the time to create a review. I am glad to see that you find BAL to care for their employees, which is the most important aspect of our success. I also appreciate your thoughts on how we might be better. Thanks.

    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Place to Have Your Soul to Die

      Apr 15, 2021 - Staff Attorney 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      some of the people, until they burn out and leave. Average employee tenure here is 2 years. The pro is you can eventually escape.

      Cons

      This place is rotting to the core with incompetent, duplicitous, and inhumane management. If you work hard and outwork low performers by 2-3X casework, but forget to suck up to the right people, you will definitely make less than low performers. Pay in general is significantly below market. Attorneys are underpaid by at least 5 figures compared to their rival firms. If anything goes wrong middle management never takes accountability, always points to the attorneys. The firm's crown jewel of an account is being run into the ground as dozens of people have left in just a year. The client can tell when 4 legal teams introduce themselves for a case that should take 3 months, and say their predecessors are working on a new project. LOL! Oh and paralegals are told not to work extra without overtime, but also have to explain overtime, and know too much OT will hinder their chances of promotions (out-billing the average billing per pl by more than 250% is irrelevant).

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Opinion as a Recent Hire

      Apr 2, 2021 - Paralegal I in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Very thorough training program - everyone trains for 2 weeks and they are open to hiring entry levels with little to no actual immigration experience - In personal experience, very friendly coworkers/management and a lot of support - Fun, designed offices (not a typical law firm feel) - Ability to work 50% at home / in office due to COVID - Fairly transparent salary structure / equity across company - Focus on DE&I

      Cons

      - Low vacation benefits for hourly employees (start at 2 weeks) - So far, haven't experienced much of a fun/collaborative office environment (but I'm hoping that is mostly due to COVID and will improve!) - Was hoping for a slightly higher salary given SF Bay Area location

      1 person found this review helpful

      Berry Appleman & Leiden Response

      Sr. Manager Talent Acquisition

      Thanks for your comments. Glad you found our new hire training to be thorough. Also, the office design does make it a fun work environment. It will be great when we are all able to get back into the office. Welcome!

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      First Law Firm Where I've Felt Comfortable

      Apr 26, 2021 - Law Clerk in Richardson, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Understanding leadership, empowering and communicative manager, fun office environment, great co-workers, interesting work, ability to interact with people from all around the world, emphasis on pro-bono work, no need to talk about golf or football <3

      Cons

      None that I have come across as of yet.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Berry Appleman & Leiden Response

      Sr. Manager Talent Acquisition

      First of all, welcome to BAL! We are so glad you are with us. I particularly liked your note about empowerment. I find that BAL gives people the chance to own their own business and provides goals but doesn't micro-manage. I also like that you mention our fun office environment. It is a fun environment. I can't wait for us all to be able to get back into the office!!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 341 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Berry Appleman & Leiden Job Seekers

    Immigration Assistant
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Associate Immigration Attorney
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Berry Appleman & Leiden? Share Your Experiences

    Berry Appleman & Leiden logo
    or